SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6383 (1978 Western Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 390 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/10 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjoriekh said...
The shirt looks great! Can't quite believe you sewed it on a treadle machine. Buttonholes, too? This shirt brings back memories -- I sewed it, or one almost identical, for my older brother in 1978; he was a junior and I a sophomore in high school. I made it with a contrast yoke, and those mother-of-pearl-look snaps. And he wore it. A lot. Even to school. Because he loved me. (And he looked good in it.) The pattern still looks good, and doesn't scream "Hi-ho, Silver!" to me.
9/22/10 9:43 PM
Sweetsong said...
Your shirt looks really good! Great details and looks good on you. LOL @ marjorie--I made a shirt similar to that for my then boyfriend in 1975. (I was 15 or 16) Embroidered (hand of course) the yokes and even used the mother-of-pearl snaps.
9/22/10 9:56 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Marjorie, I should have mentioned: I used the Dritz snaps, no buttonholes. My machine uses those old-fashioned feet that screw in from the back instead of the side; the old Singer buttonholers I'm familiar with wouldn't work. No matter: I have other old Singers I use for buttonholes.
9/22/10 10:06 PM
Elke said...
Good looking shirt...great fit too!
9/22/10 10:47 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I LOVE this shirt! I'm a SUCKER for western shirts anyway, and yours has turned out SO nicely, every little detail. :o) My grandmother had a treadle machine, and I believe my aunt now has it. I can remember Grandmother taking in my jeans on that machine when I was in college. :o)
9/22/10 10:48 PM
dilucentelj said...
Peter, your workmanship and tailoring scream "I'm not an advanced beginner anymore". I've read most (if not all) of your reviews; I envy your talent. Great work!
9/22/10 11:13 PM
Mirakel said...
Agreed, time to move up from "advanced beginner" (you give us a bad name! :-) Anyone who is working the treadle machine is beyond... The shirt looks great, and great on you!
9/23/10 0:03 AM
marec said...
Very nice western style shirt. You are welcome to come out west and go for a trail ride with me.
9/23/10 0:17 AM
ted golden said...
perfect job
9/23/10 2:59 AM
Mazzygirl said...
oh Peter, you've done it again! excellent workmanship, great style & fit, and on a treadle too! I totally agree with with everyone else - time for a promotion!
9/23/10 4:22 AM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, a very nice shirt. Well done. I love the fabric. A friendly suggestion, if I may: when a fabric contains both white and another colour, I find that using a coloured thread for topstitching looks more distinctive and dashing than white, which can look ordinary.
9/23/10 4:55 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, brilliant! Great shirt and what even, straight seams. I've sewn on a treadle machine in the past and I can appreciate the skill it takes to have produced that lovely shirt. Well done!
9/23/10 6:52 AM
voet said...
Great job as usual, Peter. I love making western shirts. It is one of the few opportunities to do something a bit more creative with men's wear that still looks masculine.
9/23/10 8:36 AM
Jill Giard said...
Beautiful job! I love the fabric choice - makes for a very sophisticated take on the 'cowboy' shirt.
9/23/10 9:41 AM
lynne1nor said...
Lovely shirt Peter! Can't believe you used a treadle machine - nice going!
9/23/10 12:28 PM
RLL said...
A treadle? Really? What next? I always seem to be asking you that question. Great looking shirt....as usual!
9/23/10 3:25 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Love the shirt- I really like it all one color. What a guilt trip for those of us whose husbands like wearing these and gee sewed on a treadle no less. I have to post quick and click off this review in case he comes through the room. He would start bugging me for a shirt LOl!
9/23/10 4:30 PM
ggf2005 said...
great job Peter! You have great sewing skills!
9/23/10 7:23 PM
AuntieShel said...
Faulous shirt, Peter--professionally executed!!! Btw, how do you like that treadle machine? :)
9/23/10 7:37 PM
pammieh said...
Peter - as usual you are incredible! I can't wait to see how the suit turns out!
9/24/10 8:42 PM
SisterBelle said...
I believe that treadle machine has found a good home! Don't you just love the fit of a good cowboy shirt.
9/25/10 10:59 AM
JETrinity said...
I just can not believe you sewed this wonderful Western Shirt on a treadle machine. What great fit and topstitching. Drop the word "beginner" out of "Advanced beginner".
10/6/10 2:37 PM
Hilary said...
Nice shirt! I like the this in the solid-even though I live in the self-named "Cowboy Capital of the World" (lol!) I still like the subtle version, too :o) My Mom sews on a treadle machine too (though she has a Bernina 817 that I learned on still) and she loves it. Its WAY harder than it looks!
10/14/10 9:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 4698

photo
by: princessju...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now