SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6383 (1978 Western Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 391 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 118 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/10 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Nice shirt! I like the this in the solid-even though I live in the self-named "Cowboy Capital of the World" (lol!) I still like the subtle version, too :o) My Mom sews on a treadle machine too (though she has a Bernina 817 that I learned on still) and she loves it. Its WAY harder than it looks!
10/14/10 9:27 AM
JETrinity said...
I just can not believe you sewed this wonderful Western Shirt on a treadle machine. What great fit and topstitching. Drop the word "beginner" out of "Advanced beginner".
10/6/10 2:37 PM
SisterBelle said...
I believe that treadle machine has found a good home! Don't you just love the fit of a good cowboy shirt.
9/25/10 10:59 AM
pammieh said...
Peter - as usual you are incredible! I can't wait to see how the suit turns out!
9/24/10 8:42 PM
AuntieShel said...
Faulous shirt, Peter--professionally executed!!! Btw, how do you like that treadle machine? :)
9/23/10 7:37 PM
ggf2005 said...
great job Peter! You have great sewing skills!
9/23/10 7:23 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Love the shirt- I really like it all one color. What a guilt trip for those of us whose husbands like wearing these and gee sewed on a treadle no less. I have to post quick and click off this review in case he comes through the room. He would start bugging me for a shirt LOl!
9/23/10 4:30 PM
RLL said...
A treadle? Really? What next? I always seem to be asking you that question. Great looking shirt....as usual!
9/23/10 3:25 PM
lynne1nor said...
Lovely shirt Peter! Can't believe you used a treadle machine - nice going!
9/23/10 12:28 PM
Jill Giard said...
Beautiful job! I love the fabric choice - makes for a very sophisticated take on the 'cowboy' shirt.
9/23/10 9:41 AM
voet said...
Great job as usual, Peter. I love making western shirts. It is one of the few opportunities to do something a bit more creative with men's wear that still looks masculine.
9/23/10 8:36 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, brilliant! Great shirt and what even, straight seams. I've sewn on a treadle machine in the past and I can appreciate the skill it takes to have produced that lovely shirt. Well done!
9/23/10 6:52 AM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, a very nice shirt. Well done. I love the fabric. A friendly suggestion, if I may: when a fabric contains both white and another colour, I find that using a coloured thread for topstitching looks more distinctive and dashing than white, which can look ordinary.
9/23/10 4:55 AM
Mazzygirl said...
oh Peter, you've done it again! excellent workmanship, great style & fit, and on a treadle too! I totally agree with with everyone else - time for a promotion!
9/23/10 4:22 AM
ted golden said...
perfect job
9/23/10 2:59 AM
marec said...
Very nice western style shirt. You are welcome to come out west and go for a trail ride with me.
9/23/10 0:17 AM
Mirakel said...
Agreed, time to move up from "advanced beginner" (you give us a bad name! :-) Anyone who is working the treadle machine is beyond... The shirt looks great, and great on you!
9/23/10 0:03 AM
dilucentelj said...
Peter, your workmanship and tailoring scream "I'm not an advanced beginner anymore". I've read most (if not all) of your reviews; I envy your talent. Great work!
9/22/10 11:13 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I LOVE this shirt! I'm a SUCKER for western shirts anyway, and yours has turned out SO nicely, every little detail. :o) My grandmother had a treadle machine, and I believe my aunt now has it. I can remember Grandmother taking in my jeans on that machine when I was in college. :o)
9/22/10 10:48 PM
Elke said...
Good looking shirt...great fit too!
9/22/10 10:47 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Marjorie, I should have mentioned: I used the Dritz snaps, no buttonholes. My machine uses those old-fashioned feet that screw in from the back instead of the side; the old Singer buttonholers I'm familiar with wouldn't work. No matter: I have other old Singers I use for buttonholes.
9/22/10 10:06 PM
Sweetsong said...
Your shirt looks really good! Great details and looks good on you. LOL @ marjorie--I made a shirt similar to that for my then boyfriend in 1975. (I was 15 or 16) Embroidered (hand of course) the yokes and even used the mother-of-pearl snaps.
9/22/10 9:56 PM
marjoriekh said...
The shirt looks great! Can't quite believe you sewed it on a treadle machine. Buttonholes, too? This shirt brings back memories -- I sewed it, or one almost identical, for my older brother in 1978; he was a junior and I a sophomore in high school. I made it with a contrast yoke, and those mother-of-pearl-look snaps. And he wore it. A lot. Even to school. Because he loved me. (And he looked good in it.) The pattern still looks good, and doesn't scream "Hi-ho, Silver!" to me.
9/22/10 9:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2308

photo
by: HermionesE...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now