SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 473 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/10 5:15 PM
Last Updated:9/23/10 5:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Your dress looks great on you and thanks for the tip about making the V. Sounds like the result would be much better than pivoting. Great review!!
9/23/10 5:36 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the tip about the V neck. I'll have to try it that way next time I work with a V neck.
9/23/10 7:12 PM
lamstu said...
Great tip on sewing the point of the v. The black bands on the sleeve are an improvement so take credit for that. The dress is so lovely it's hard to agree that it's casual. (I do agree that the style wheel is turning.) The style looks great on you and I look forward to your next projects...
9/23/10 8:57 PM
Mushywear said...
I have pulled this pattern out so many times to make it. I am so glad to see your version. It looks great and thank you for sharing your tip on getting a nice point! I'll have to get at it!
9/24/10 3:59 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Thank you for the explanation of how to do a neat, sharp V-neck.
9/24/10 7:13 AM
Robin Denning said...
Very flattering! And your v-neck does look perfect!
9/24/10 9:22 AM
michalklimer said...
it is a stunning dress! Love it!
9/24/10 10:12 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Beautiful dress and the black accents are perfect. Thanks for the very helpful v-point hint. Question: if you cross the two lines of stitching at the point, then trim closely to the point, does cutting the threads of the extended stitching line cause the threads then to unravel, or do they stay put because of the crossing?
10/9/10 12:03 PM
bemodi said...
Sorry just saw this comment. No I have never had any unraveling, back stitch back a bit. I have even seen this technique in manufactured garments where the lines of serging are just crossed.
10/15/10 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2330

photo
by: MCBurbage

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now