SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 474 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/10 5:15 PM
Last Updated:9/23/10 5:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Your dress looks great on you and thanks for the tip about making the V. Sounds like the result would be much better than pivoting. Great review!!
9/23/10 5:36 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the tip about the V neck. I'll have to try it that way next time I work with a V neck.
9/23/10 7:12 PM
lamstu said...
Great tip on sewing the point of the v. The black bands on the sleeve are an improvement so take credit for that. The dress is so lovely it's hard to agree that it's casual. (I do agree that the style wheel is turning.) The style looks great on you and I look forward to your next projects...
9/23/10 8:57 PM
Mushywear said...
I have pulled this pattern out so many times to make it. I am so glad to see your version. It looks great and thank you for sharing your tip on getting a nice point! I'll have to get at it!
9/24/10 3:59 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Thank you for the explanation of how to do a neat, sharp V-neck.
9/24/10 7:13 AM
Robin Denning said...
Very flattering! And your v-neck does look perfect!
9/24/10 9:22 AM
michalklimer said...
it is a stunning dress! Love it!
9/24/10 10:12 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Beautiful dress and the black accents are perfect. Thanks for the very helpful v-point hint. Question: if you cross the two lines of stitching at the point, then trim closely to the point, does cutting the threads of the extended stitching line cause the threads then to unravel, or do they stay put because of the crossing?
10/9/10 12:03 PM
bemodi said...
Sorry just saw this comment. No I have never had any unraveling, back stitch back a bit. I have even seen this technique in manufactured garments where the lines of serging are just crossed.
10/15/10 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6408

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
New Look 6130

photo
by: Victoria B

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now