SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/10 5:15 PM
Last Updated:9/23/10 5:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bemodi said... (10/15/10 12:49 PM) Reply
Sorry just saw this comment. No I have never had any unraveling, back stitch back a bit. I have even seen this technique in manufactured garments where the lines of serging are just crossed.
AnitaJJ said... (10/9/10 12:03 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress and the black accents are perfect. Thanks for the very helpful v-point hint. Question: if you cross the two lines of stitching at the point, then trim closely to the point, does cutting the threads of the extended stitching line cause the threads then to unravel, or do they stay put because of the crossing?
michalklimer said... (9/24/10 10:12 AM) Reply
it is a stunning dress! Love it!
Robin Denning said... (9/24/10 9:22 AM) Reply
Very flattering! And your v-neck does look perfect!
becca a said... (9/24/10 7:13 AM) Reply
Lovely dress! Thank you for the explanation of how to do a neat, sharp V-neck.
Mushywear said... (9/24/10 3:59 AM) Reply
I have pulled this pattern out so many times to make it. I am so glad to see your version. It looks great and thank you for sharing your tip on getting a nice point! I'll have to get at it!
lamstu said... (9/23/10 8:57 PM) Reply
Great tip on sewing the point of the v. The black bands on the sleeve are an improvement so take credit for that. The dress is so lovely it's hard to agree that it's casual. (I do agree that the style wheel is turning.) The style looks great on you and I look forward to your next projects...
Gelbean said... (9/23/10 7:12 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the tip about the V neck. I'll have to try it that way next time I work with a V neck.
AuntieShel said... (9/23/10 5:36 PM) Reply
Your dress looks great on you and thanks for the tip about making the V. Sounds like the result would be much better than pivoting. Great review!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 4607

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Pattern Details
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1013

photo
by: velosewer

Review