Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1052 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 889 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR
About marjenannstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/10 9:39 AM
Last Updated:9/25/10 9:58 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mylittleelephant said...
Front looks as good as back to me, beautiful fabric & jacket!
9/25/10 10:25 AM
Nancywin said...
too bad you're not happy with the result. I have to say that in the pictures it looks great! What beautiful fabric, too. I love it. It may grow on you after a while. I hope it does because you've put so much work into this and it is very nicely made. I also love the jewelry in your photo set. Did you make that? Its gorgeous!
9/25/10 11:38 AM
OlindaM said...
I too think the jacket looks really good, and I love the colour - perhaps you just need to look at it as if you hadnt made it yourself & then you would see how fab it is!
9/25/10 12:28 PM
Tailypo said...
I hope with time you will come to see this jacket with fresh eyes, for I think it is just lovely.
9/25/10 12:43 PM
hmacski said...
I have this pattern and am anxious to make it but the collar edging has me hesitating. I think your solution is quite lovely and innovativer. Put it away for a bit and then take it out and look at it with fresh eyes. I think it's stunning and i love the edging. Lovely, lovely job.
9/25/10 2:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me so I hope you become fond of it when you've worn it some more.
9/25/10 6:43 PM
sew2little said...
I LOVE THIS JACKET. And orange is one of my favorite colors; would you like my address? Really, this is really a beautiful art piece.
9/25/10 7:33 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You can just send that gorgeous jacket to me! Perhaps you envisioned how this jacket would look beforehand, and the slightly varied outcome makes you feel displeased. Just wait until you wear your lovely jacket and hear all the wonderful compliments you'll receive. Great job!
9/25/10 8:03 PM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket is gorgeous, not at all too stiff looking....are you sure? Perhaps with just some wear and tear it will soften to your liking. I just checked and discovered that I have this exact fabric from FabricMart with the subtle stripe running through. It looks really nice made up....thanks for inspiring me to sew something with my piece.
9/25/10 8:06 PM
AMarie said...
I just love your jacket; I think its beautiful. I never really noticed this pattern till I saw your version. I agree with what Tailypo said, that you can put it away for a little while, then look at it with fresh eyes!
9/25/10 10:12 PM
lesliez said...
I'll add my voice to those who insist that your jacket is beautiful and perfect. The fabric and color are really stunning. Sometimes you just need to step away from it for a little while and view it with new eyes.
9/26/10 0:20 AM
marjenann said...
Thanks so much for you compliments! I cut off the fringe and zigzagged the edges. I am going to be a big girl and wear it today. Maybe it will soften the jacket as Barbara V suggested!
9/26/10 7:34 AM
Diane333 said...
Totally in agreement with the rest of the reviewers...your top is stunning and the best looking of all the previously made same tops in PR.
9/26/10 9:58 AM
DorothyK said...
This jacket is much nicer than you think it is. I think it looks fantastic. In fact, I'm inspired to make it myself. Your review will be a very useful reference.
9/26/10 10:09 AM
Beek said...
What a fun jacket! I have this pattern as well and now I am hoping to find time to sew one up!
9/26/10 10:31 AM
Jane S said...
It was a treat to see this pattern made up. It will be a wonderful transition piece and great fall color.
9/26/10 1:16 PM
marec said...
It's gorgeous-I caught my breath when first seeing it. Wear it with your beautiful jewelry and a smile!
9/26/10 2:29 PM
Sue Biskner said...
I think your jacket looks great. I made the jacket out of leather and am pleased with the result. The fit is great, the collar could be tricky, just mark accurately.
9/27/10 6:33 PM
sew4zo said...
I think I is ab. Fab. Has a deconstructed look! Would love to see it on!
10/12/10 8:30 AM
hikeswiss said...
This is just beautiful!
10/23/10 2:15 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Beautiful!
11/18/11 1:52 PM
Gendun said...
It being linen, washing a few times will soften it, no doubt. I actually like the ruffled edges you made, and the colour is lovely! I hope you learn to see it afresh, as I'm sure it's quite stunning on.
3/13/13 9:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us