SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2899 (Guy Laroche Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2425 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 417 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/10 3:40 PM
Last Updated:10/12/10 5:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
75 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Monica Ann said...
You look AMAZING!!!! I love all the looks you created and ideas just from this one pattern. Of course your hubby likes it - who wouldn't?
10/29/10 10:59 AM
Mufffet said...
Absolutely awesomely fitted - this is what 40 should always look like and you look great!!! What a lovely dress!
10/28/10 4:21 PM
ctirish said...
Wow, gorgeous. You have an excellent eye for knowing the cut and shape that work for you. And then to create it with such precision - professional finish..
10/24/10 8:28 PM
JillyBe said...
Fantastic job on a beautiful dress!
10/22/10 2:22 PM
rebija said...
Superb!
10/20/10 10:53 PM
Mahler said...
More then beautiful !!!!!!!!!
10/20/10 1:37 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks a lot ladies!
10/19/10 10:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! Such glamour and class! I love all three looks. Kudos to your photographer.
10/19/10 11:22 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent dress, excellent style. This is a classic LBD: flexible yet statement making, and definitely not boring. It came out great also. I expect you just increased sales of that pattern.
10/18/10 7:49 PM
4u2cme said...
Great looking dress!!
10/16/10 5:31 PM
UmaPreve said...
This is such a gorgeous dress! Very very beautiful!
10/16/10 4:18 AM
cloudyhn said...
Gorgeous that's all I can say
10/14/10 8:20 PM
AnitaJJ said...
simply stunning!!
10/14/10 5:48 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks Ladies!
10/14/10 3:04 PM
Scheryka said...
Absolutely stunning. I saw when you posted at first and was wondering why you weren't going to enter the LBD contest. I went out to find this pattern but couldn't. I might have to order offline. Great job and happy belated Birthday.
10/14/10 10:55 AM
mz.choize said...
Wow, this is gorgeous, I love the whole ensemble! Oh, and welcome to the 20/20 club lady!!
10/13/10 11:57 PM
annie11 said...
Erica, you are my hero:) Keep on inspiring us!
10/13/10 11:23 AM
Nancy K said...
It's pretty spectacular. YOu look wonderful in it and the versatility is really unexpected.
10/13/10 9:51 AM
Paris75008 said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous. I just love the daytime look. Really well put together and really well sewn. Belated happy 40th
10/13/10 9:26 AM
Catbird said...
I thought I had commented on this incredible dress the first time around, but I see that I slipped up, so I'm glad to get a second chance. Holy mackerel, Erica, this is off the charts. Amazingly gorgeous and perfectly suited to you. Look #3 kills me. I love it!
10/13/10 9:23 AM
velosewer said...
Nice work. It looks amazing.
10/13/10 7:07 AM
Sarsez said...
Your review nearly brought me to tears! Firstly because you have done a fabulous job on what is a fabulous dress and secondly because I too attempted to make this for my 40th birthday this August but it ended in a zipper snafu. Must finish it off...
10/13/10 6:19 AM
Mazzygirl said...
glad you listened to your many supporters & entered the competition - good luck! LOOOOOOOVE that orange fringed bag too BTW... As always, very glamourous, I swear you could wear a hessian sack & make it look classy! Love all your different looks - fantastic!
10/13/10 6:02 AM
dingyadi said...
What a STUNNING dress! You look fabulous in it. You always make the most gorgeous dresses, but this one is particularly stupendous!
10/12/10 11:46 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!! Great looks!!
10/12/10 8:59 PM
Paris75008 said...
Simply superb. Love the daytime look, brilliant transformation!
10/12/10 7:08 PM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice dress and it looks good on you!
10/11/10 11:48 PM
JETrinity said...
You look so super star in this dress. Happy 40th.
10/8/10 4:51 PM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice dress, and it looks lovely on you.
9/30/10 8:20 PM
gabrielle said...
I'm late to the party, but I want to with you a belated happy birthday, and point out that clicking on that photo of you in that dress is *not* what I should've done while wearing sweats! Beautiful, glamorous dress; it suits you perfectly.
9/29/10 9:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely stunning. What a glamorous look for your 40th birthday. Well done!
9/28/10 9:53 AM
Ciclista said...
Girl - you so rock the house!! You look very elegant and stunning. Happy Birthday!
9/28/10 9:32 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL dress, an HAPPY 40TH!
9/28/10 0:47 AM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous!!
9/28/10 0:43 AM
Erica B. said...
Mazzygirl, I'll play around with it and see how it looks! LOL
9/27/10 7:23 PM
Rhoda K said...
Wow and ditto all the above is about all I can say. You got your knockout dress and glad you had a great 40th!
9/27/10 7:22 PM
missyyz said...
OMG. Love this dress on you. My 50th birthday is 10 days away, and I'm inclined to try this pattern ! Great work. Super stylish.
9/27/10 7:20 PM
Mazzygirl said...
Erica, are you kidding? a change of accessories & bam, it's a daytime dress! (I see it with brown leather strappy shoes, chunky bangles etc) Enter it, its perfect!
9/27/10 7:01 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks ReginaLit! I didn't think this dress was applicable for the LBD contest. I don't see how this dress could possibly be worn for a daytime look as well.
9/27/10 6:02 PM
ReginaLit said...
Happy B-day!!! You look fabulous! Did you consider entering this in the LBD contest? With a nice jacket or knit cardigan the same as the knit used it could work for a day look.
9/27/10 5:34 PM
valgal said...
Simply gorgeous.
9/27/10 5:06 PM
Linda S said...
Really nice dress Erica.
9/27/10 12:57 PM
GinormicaMG said...
Happy Birthday and welcome to the fabulous at 40 club. As usual you did an awesome job. Thanks for keeping me motivated.
9/27/10 12:54 PM
Kat B. said...
You look fabulous in this dress! I love it! Now I am going to have to copy it, lol.
9/27/10 11:38 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
There is just nothing left to say but . . . magnificent!!! You rock that dress like no one else could! I may have to pick up this pattern myself (but I know I wouldn't wear it as well as you do).
9/27/10 10:58 AM
marec said...
What a beautiful dress on a beautiful woman. Happy Birthday!
9/27/10 10:08 AM
Karine said...
This is an amazing dress. I can understand why your husband likes it so much - you look stunning in it! The gathering at the neck into the collar piece is really unusual and a beautiful design.
9/27/10 9:33 AM
Fran G said...
Totally outdone yourself on this one! G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S!
9/27/10 8:49 AM
Erica B. said...
Thanks... especially for the birthday wishes. I had a great time!
9/27/10 8:14 AM
becca a said...
Stunning dress! Happy birthday.
9/27/10 7:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous dress!
9/27/10 5:32 AM
Aixoise said...
Perfect dress for a milestone birthday. You keep getting better!
9/26/10 11:18 PM
thirteenstitches said...
That is a VERY SEXY dress and you wear it well!!! ; )
9/26/10 10:52 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful and perfect in every way! Happy b-day!
9/26/10 10:44 PM
pammieh said...
Erika - as usual it's really stunning!
9/26/10 10:42 PM
booran said...
You look absolutely stunning in that dress - what a fantastic dress - Happy 40th Birthday
9/26/10 10:35 PM
Sic said...
Another gorgeous creation! The fit is impeccable!
9/26/10 10:28 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress and beautiful you!! No wonder hubby loved this outfit!!
9/26/10 9:23 PM
Mermie said...
You look gorgeous. I love that dress. You do beautiful work.
9/26/10 9:18 PM
harmony758 said...
This is stunning! Well done!
9/26/10 9:11 PM
Wino said...
Gorgeous dress! You look fantastic. Don't remember this pattern at all-very unique.
9/26/10 9:08 PM
sewtime said...
This is a "wow" dress, you look amazing!!
9/26/10 8:51 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!!! WOW!!! Goooo 40's!! Smart Husband, too ;)
9/26/10 7:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Whoa!!! You are stunning in that gorgeous dress!!
9/26/10 7:35 PM
janet said...
VAVAVOOOM!!! You look fantastic in your gorgeous dress. I am in total awe of your great body and unbelievable sewing skills. Happy 40th and may there be many, many more.
9/26/10 7:29 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
May I add, Happy Birthday! enjoy your special day... easy to see why your dh loves this dress.. you look fab and 40 must truly be the new 20!
9/26/10 7:09 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Fabulous just absolutely fabulous.
9/26/10 6:52 PM
pittysmom101 said...
Beautiful!!! Wow, that is the caliber of sewing I ASPIRE to...I agree, you don't look anywhere near a 16 in this dress. Very chic, now I'm off to read the blog....Hope it was a Happy Birthday!
9/26/10 5:54 PM
Nancywin said...
very sexy - beautiful dress
9/26/10 5:52 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very beautiful! Your sewing and the fit make it look so awesome!
9/26/10 5:40 PM
drsue said...
Fabulous!
9/26/10 5:33 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, you and the dress! OH...Happy 40th!
9/26/10 4:57 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous dress! But size 16? I can't believe it, you look fantastic, way better than the model. No wonder your husband loves it.
9/26/10 4:37 PM
Mazzygirl said...
Oh Erica, that is gorgeous! & it really looks fantastic on you too - Beautiful dress, I love every bit of it!
9/26/10 4:19 PM
CBrushNew2Sewing said...
You look AMAZING in this dress! This dress is so stunning. What a success. The photos on your blog are great - I liked seeing the stages of construction.
9/26/10 4:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

New Look 6515

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Burda 7866

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now