Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2009-18 (Penelope Tweed Coat) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 351 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:21wale
photo
About 21walestarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 261
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/10 7:47 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
It must be fall in MN. I also just finished a coat. Isn't it fun to tackle and succeed in making something more challenging? The fit issue might just be the design, it's fitted. It's harder in a cold climate to wear such a garment since there will almost always be a few layers underneath. I think it will make a lovely late fall coat. I really like the length and style.
9/27/10 9:16 PM
Lori V said...
Cute coat.
9/27/10 10:55 PM
SVN said...
Good-looking coat! I have similar problems with tightness across the front of arms and find that extending/widening shoulders and lengthening sleeve cap height usually does the trick! I'm tall and slim too, so I can say from experience to beware of broadening the back - it's unlikely to be the culprit given your proportions!
9/28/10 10:07 AM
nicegirl said...
Super cute coat! I like the length and the collar. I too have that pulling problem often. I've started doing a broad back adjustment, though I haven't been doing it long enough to know if it helps with long sleeves (haven't started sewing for Fall yet). I explained how to do it here: http://theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com/2010/05/simplicity-2938-pleat-neck-princess.html
9/28/10 11:31 AM
Nessa09 said...
I really like your coat! I saw it in the Ottobre magazine, and you did a good job on it!
9/28/10 3:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Oliver + S OS001TP
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 11/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2896
photo
Review by reethi on 5/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us