SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Misses Sizes (Bust 30" - 44.5")] [Women's sizes (Bust 43" - 55")]">Fit the Tee to a T Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2009-18 (Penelope Tweed Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 364 times 
Reviewed by:21wale
photo

 
 
About 21walestarstarstar
MN United States
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/10 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nessa09 said... (9/28/10 3:02 PM) Reply
I really like your coat! I saw it in the Ottobre magazine, and you did a good job on it!
nicegirl said... (9/28/10 11:31 AM) Reply
Super cute coat! I like the length and the collar. I too have that pulling problem often. I've started doing a broad back adjustment, though I haven't been doing it long enough to know if it helps with long sleeves (haven't started sewing for Fall yet). I explained how to do it here: http://theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com/2010/05/simplicity-2938-pleat-neck-princess.html
SVN said... (9/28/10 10:07 AM) Reply
Good-looking coat! I have similar problems with tightness across the front of arms and find that extending/widening shoulders and lengthening sleeve cap height usually does the trick! I'm tall and slim too, so I can say from experience to beware of broadening the back - it's unlikely to be the culprit given your proportions!
Lori V said... (9/27/10 10:55 PM) Reply
Cute coat.
MNBarb said... (9/27/10 9:16 PM) Reply
It must be fall in MN. I also just finished a coat. Isn't it fun to tackle and succeed in making something more challenging? The fit issue might just be the design, it's fitted. It's harder in a cold climate to wear such a garment since there will almost always be a few layers underneath. I think it will make a lovely late fall coat. I really like the length and style.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Pattern Details
Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review