SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> SDG-105 (Torii tunic)

Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:soupdragon
photo

 
 
About soupdragonstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/9/09
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/10 6:11 AM
Last Updated:9/29/10 6:15 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
happytobehere said...
I think it looks great on you! I would hate to see you cut it up. Thanks for the review.
9/29/10 7:36 AM
moss said...
I think it looks really good. Maybe put it aside for a while and come back to it?
9/29/10 9:35 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a candid review - it's helpful to know when things don't work in real life. I think the problem is mostly the sleeve style. Dolman sleeves are easy to sew but just not the most flattering look for most of us. If you feel like recycling it and moving on, at least it was a learning experience:).
9/29/10 9:55 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Sorry to hear that it didn't work out! I have to say I have never liked any garment I have made with quilting cotton.
9/29/10 5:51 PM
AnitaJJ said...
I hope you don't cut it up. The fabric is gorgeous. And you did a very nice job. I really like the v-neckline on you. I love tunics too, but for myself, haven't figured out how to make them work. But that one looks very cute on you. Nice job.
9/29/10 8:03 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely fabric and beautifully made. I think the shoulders sleeve and midriff are fine on you but the gathered "skirt" is un-flattering.
9/30/10 6:41 PM
soupdragon said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. I think the problem is in the gathered skirt. I thought I could solve it by changing to a tunic, but, well, it just didn't work. Also, the quilting cotton - oh why are so many the nice looking fabrics in this weight! I guess for the quilters. I had one success with the Amy Butler Liverpool, not posted yet. I never get around to taking photos but I am trying to catch up on reviews of my first year of dressmaking.
10/3/10 5:55 AM
SewRuth said...
Thanks for tip off - I hate gathers around the waist and the photo on the website just didn't show this clearly - I'd like to see line drawings. I too am 14/16 I think it's wishful thinking on my part that I'd look good in this. Your fabric is lovely though
2/9/12 11:19 AM
GotCurves said...
Maybe it's just the picture, but this looks lovely on you!
4/5/12 11:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now