Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: SDG-105 (Torii tunic) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 225 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:soupdragon
photo
About soupdragonstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/9/09
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/10 6:11 AM
Last Updated:9/29/10 6:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
happytobehere said...
I think it looks great on you! I would hate to see you cut it up. Thanks for the review.
9/29/10 7:36 AM
moss said...
I think it looks really good. Maybe put it aside for a while and come back to it?
9/29/10 9:35 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a candid review - it's helpful to know when things don't work in real life. I think the problem is mostly the sleeve style. Dolman sleeves are easy to sew but just not the most flattering look for most of us. If you feel like recycling it and moving on, at least it was a learning experience:).
9/29/10 9:55 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Sorry to hear that it didn't work out! I have to say I have never liked any garment I have made with quilting cotton.
9/29/10 5:51 PM
AnitaJJ said...
I hope you don't cut it up. The fabric is gorgeous. And you did a very nice job. I really like the v-neckline on you. I love tunics too, but for myself, haven't figured out how to make them work. But that one looks very cute on you. Nice job.
9/29/10 8:03 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely fabric and beautifully made. I think the shoulders sleeve and midriff are fine on you but the gathered "skirt" is un-flattering.
9/30/10 6:41 PM
soupdragon said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. I think the problem is in the gathered skirt. I thought I could solve it by changing to a tunic, but, well, it just didn't work. Also, the quilting cotton - oh why are so many the nice looking fabrics in this weight! I guess for the quilters. I had one success with the Amy Butler Liverpool, not posted yet. I never get around to taking photos but I am trying to catch up on reviews of my first year of dressmaking.
10/3/10 5:55 AM
SewRuth said...
Thanks for tip off - I hate gathers around the waist and the photo on the website just didn't show this clearly - I'd like to see line drawings. I too am 14/16 I think it's wishful thinking on my part that I'd look good in this. Your fabric is lovely though
2/9/12 11:19 AM
GotCurves said...
Maybe it's just the picture, but this looks lovely on you!
4/5/12 11:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 5983
photo
Review by Trephas200... on 1/16/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2012-134 Dolman Dress
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/18/14
Read Review

Simplicity 1468 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1468 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3911 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3911 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us