Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 2998 (Close Fitting Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2506 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:cynthia w
photo
About cynthia wstar
UT USA
Member since: 9/16/03
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/04 9:54 AM
Last Updated:11/17/04 8:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Great review - and pants too Cynthia. they look great! I agree about the not tucking thing- what looks fine in pictures does not necessarily translate into real life!
6/5/04 10:09 AM
gabrielle said...
Thanks for the thorough review, Cynthia. Those are nice looking pants. About the waistband: I think I remember reading a post from Georgene some time ago suggesting stabilizing stretchy pants fabric at the waistband with clear elastic. The fabric will keep it's shape yet have enough "give" to be comfortable. I haven't tried that yet myself, but it sounds promising HTH :)
6/5/04 10:11 AM
Hilary said...
Your pants look great, Cynthia! Gabrielle stole my tip, lol! I just bought a pair of Liz Claiborne stretch pants that used clear elastic where the waist facing attaches to the pants-they are super comfortable, and they don't stretch out! I have made these same pants( and they stretched badly. Your review inspires me to try again and use the clear elastic. It looks like they didn't stretch it as they sewed it in, just serged it in while seaming the facing to the pants. Thanks for the review(and the tips on fitting).
6/5/04 11:39 AM
Elona said...
"Are all Burda patterns drafted for such tiny women?" Depends on your height, Cynthia. Are you one of the regally tall personages? Burdas are drafted for a woman 5' 6" tall. If you're over that, you have to add where you need it. I'm easily an inch shorter, and have to take out an inch or so in length.
6/5/04 12:24 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
What a nice flattering length, too! Good idea about the clear elastic, also. I'll have to try that next time.
6/5/04 3:23 PM
SandraB said...
Great looking pants Cynthia. THey are very cute on you. Now you have made me want to dig out my pattern and make another one of these.
6/5/04 9:10 PM
mag said...
Your pants look great. Thanks for all the tips for sewing with the stretch wovens. It was worth the time you spent fitting them.
6/6/04 8:07 AM
Deepika said...
Cynthia, great pants! I love this pattern. Gosh I miss sewing!!! Which directions did you follow for doing the lapped zipper?
6/6/04 9:21 AM
cynthia w said...
Deepika--for the lapped zipper I followed the directions from the book "Easy Guide to Sewing Skirts" by Marcy Tilton. I use this book everytime I do a lapped zipper--so much so that I have broken the binding in the book on this page. I could NEVER do a lapped zipper following the zipper package directions. Now they turn out perfectly. Thanks ladies for the tip on the clear elastic. I'll do that next time for sure.
6/6/04 1:44 PM
KathleenS said...
They look great.
6/9/04 0:17 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Hi Cynthia! I love this pattern too--I'm wearing the pants right now. I've made 7 pairs...! I gotta try the CE waistband trick. I've noticed my pants loosen after a day of wear. Do you install that when sewing the facing/waist hem together?
11/18/04 9:59 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I could see why you would have some fitting problems if you go by size, and American size at that... Burdas fit perfectly if you measure yourself, and pick your size according to that measurement without paying any attention to what you think your size should be, what it is in for other companies etc.. A real pain, but on the other hand they fit so well if you ignore their stupid 2-sizes off US numbers :-)..
2/7/06 11:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us