SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2998 (Close Fitting Pants)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2509 times 
Reviewed by:cynthia w
photo

 
 
About cynthia wstar
UT USA
Member since: 9/16/03
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/04 9:54 AM
Last Updated:11/17/04 8:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
I could see why you would have some fitting problems if you go by size, and American size at that... Burdas fit perfectly if you measure yourself, and pick your size according to that measurement without paying any attention to what you think your size should be, what it is in for other companies etc.. A real pain, but on the other hand they fit so well if you ignore their stupid 2-sizes off US numbers :-)..
2/7/06 11:05 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Hi Cynthia! I love this pattern too--I'm wearing the pants right now. I've made 7 pairs...! I gotta try the CE waistband trick. I've noticed my pants loosen after a day of wear. Do you install that when sewing the facing/waist hem together?
11/18/04 9:59 AM
KathleenS said...
They look great.
6/9/04 0:17 AM
cynthia w said...
Deepika--for the lapped zipper I followed the directions from the book "Easy Guide to Sewing Skirts" by Marcy Tilton. I use this book everytime I do a lapped zipper--so much so that I have broken the binding in the book on this page. I could NEVER do a lapped zipper following the zipper package directions. Now they turn out perfectly. Thanks ladies for the tip on the clear elastic. I'll do that next time for sure.
6/6/04 1:44 PM
Deepika said...
Cynthia, great pants! I love this pattern. Gosh I miss sewing!!! Which directions did you follow for doing the lapped zipper?
6/6/04 9:21 AM
mag said...
Your pants look great. Thanks for all the tips for sewing with the stretch wovens. It was worth the time you spent fitting them.
6/6/04 8:07 AM
SandraB said...
Great looking pants Cynthia. THey are very cute on you. Now you have made me want to dig out my pattern and make another one of these.
6/5/04 9:10 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
What a nice flattering length, too! Good idea about the clear elastic, also. I'll have to try that next time.
6/5/04 3:23 PM
Elona said...
"Are all Burda patterns drafted for such tiny women?" Depends on your height, Cynthia. Are you one of the regally tall personages? Burdas are drafted for a woman 5' 6" tall. If you're over that, you have to add where you need it. I'm easily an inch shorter, and have to take out an inch or so in length.
6/5/04 12:24 PM
Hilary said...
Your pants look great, Cynthia! Gabrielle stole my tip, lol! I just bought a pair of Liz Claiborne stretch pants that used clear elastic where the waist facing attaches to the pants-they are super comfortable, and they don't stretch out! I have made these same pants( and they stretched badly. Your review inspires me to try again and use the clear elastic. It looks like they didn't stretch it as they sewed it in, just serged it in while seaming the facing to the pants. Thanks for the review(and the tips on fitting).
6/5/04 11:39 AM
gabrielle said...
Thanks for the thorough review, Cynthia. Those are nice looking pants. About the waistband: I think I remember reading a post from Georgene some time ago suggesting stabilizing stretchy pants fabric at the waistband with clear elastic. The fabric will keep it's shape yet have enough "give" to be comfortable. I haven't tried that yet myself, but it sounds promising HTH :)
6/5/04 10:11 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great review - and pants too Cynthia. they look great! I agree about the not tucking thing- what looks fine in pictures does not necessarily translate into real life!
6/5/04 10:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now