SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 9040 (Very Easy Very Vogue)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1343 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 93 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/04 10:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
It's beautiful, Nikki, very graceful. I love all the tops/tunics you've been making.
6/5/04 10:14 AM
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful frog, dragonflies and mandarian collar, Nikki! Now that I see it made up the pattern comes alive and I really like it. Thanks for the review.
6/5/04 10:55 AM
AnneM said...
What a perfect fabric for that top. It seems like a nice fit (as you said, loose but not like a tent).
6/5/04 10:57 AM
shard said...
Gorgeous. Very flattering, and you did a great job on the construction. Thanks for the review. I'll probably pick this one up.
6/5/04 12:20 PM
cindyann said...
That is a very lovely top. It's a great pattern so I see why it's been in the catalog for so long. Your fabric selection is right on! The frog closure is the perfect touch and it highlights your precise workmanship on the collar.
6/5/04 12:28 PM
Elona said...
Very pretty, Nikki! I've had this one in my stash for ages. It looks like a winner that needs to be made up. Did you wind up using the shoulder pads they recommend?
6/5/04 12:36 PM
Nikki said...
Elona, I left out the shoulder pads - it just didn't seem necessary. I bet the top would work great for an asian pattern silk jacquard or similar.
6/5/04 12:59 PM
kathi s said...
Really pretty top! Really admire your perfect stitching on the collar, too. Looks like it would be a flattering pattern for all sorts of figure types, even mine- lol!
6/5/04 9:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cindyann's right--you did a fabulous job on the collar! Flawless matching of fabric and pattern. More gorgeous than what anyone can expect of pret-a-porter. Wow.
6/6/04 0:30 AM
mag said...
Pretty top. I have been considering that pattern myself. I'd like to try it in an asian print. Your fabric was a pretty choice too.
6/6/04 8:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric, looks great made up in this style. As always good review.
6/6/04 4:21 PM
Tessa said...
Didn't realise this pattern was still around. I made view B several years ago from a very lightweight, drapey Indian silk. It worked really well. I like your version with the dragonflies, and I agree that "silk-like" is not very descriptive for recommended fabrics.
6/6/04 8:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

No Pattern Used 0111

photo
by: AnitaJJ

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now