Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 9040 (Very Easy Very Vogue) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1340 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/04 10:08 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
It's beautiful, Nikki, very graceful. I love all the tops/tunics you've been making.
6/5/04 10:14 AM
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful frog, dragonflies and mandarian collar, Nikki! Now that I see it made up the pattern comes alive and I really like it. Thanks for the review.
6/5/04 10:55 AM
AnneM said...
What a perfect fabric for that top. It seems like a nice fit (as you said, loose but not like a tent).
6/5/04 10:57 AM
shard said...
Gorgeous. Very flattering, and you did a great job on the construction. Thanks for the review. I'll probably pick this one up.
6/5/04 12:20 PM
cindyann said...
That is a very lovely top. It's a great pattern so I see why it's been in the catalog for so long. Your fabric selection is right on! The frog closure is the perfect touch and it highlights your precise workmanship on the collar.
6/5/04 12:28 PM
Elona said...
Very pretty, Nikki! I've had this one in my stash for ages. It looks like a winner that needs to be made up. Did you wind up using the shoulder pads they recommend?
6/5/04 12:36 PM
Nikki said...
Elona, I left out the shoulder pads - it just didn't seem necessary. I bet the top would work great for an asian pattern silk jacquard or similar.
6/5/04 12:59 PM
kathi s said...
Really pretty top! Really admire your perfect stitching on the collar, too. Looks like it would be a flattering pattern for all sorts of figure types, even mine- lol!
6/5/04 9:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cindyann's right--you did a fabulous job on the collar! Flawless matching of fabric and pattern. More gorgeous than what anyone can expect of pret-a-porter. Wow.
6/6/04 0:30 AM
mag said...
Pretty top. I have been considering that pattern myself. I'd like to try it in an asian print. Your fabric was a pretty choice too.
6/6/04 8:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric, looks great made up in this style. As always good review.
6/6/04 4:21 PM
Tessa said...
Didn't realise this pattern was still around. I made view B several years ago from a very lightweight, drapey Indian silk. It worked really well. I like your version with the dragonflies, and I agree that "silk-like" is not very descriptive for recommended fabrics.
6/6/04 8:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5472
photo
Review by jannw on 4/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9499
photo
Review by AnneM on 6/21/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us