Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1437 (Tamotsu Career Wardrobe) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1342 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/04 1:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Lisa, your ensemble looks so lovely on you!
6/5/04 1:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Good job Lisa, great looking suit! I've had this pattern for years and made most of the pieces. I do recall that the vest was quite large in the upper chest and above -- so large that my DD wouldn't wear the one that I made for her. I do love this pattern -- it so classic.
6/5/04 2:08 PM
Levone said...
Your suit looks very good on you.
6/5/04 3:51 PM
Lgreen said...
You did a lovely job on the jacket, especially with the band around the front. It's a very classic look and is a nice change of pace from the standard notch lapels jackets I usually make for work.
6/5/04 4:26 PM
Mini said...
That skirt length really suits you-sassy but nice for business wear too. Re the jacket: Vogue tops always seem oversized to me. Vogue recommends using your upper chest measurement for figures larger than B cup, but I think most women get a better fit in Vogue by doing this.
6/5/04 6:44 PM
Elemenopeo said...
This looks really nice on you. I like the skirt length on you too.
6/5/04 7:26 PM
Teri said...
Your skirt lenght rocks! A very sharp looking suit.
6/5/04 7:48 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ordinarily, it works if I cut a size 8 through the shoulders, even though my full bust measures between a 14 and 16 according to the back of the envelope. I think, in this case, the jacket is just designed to be big (it does say 'extended shoulders'). I checked the copyright date, thinking this might be one of those patterns still in the book from the 'linebacker shoulders' days of the early 90's, but the date on my pattern envelope is 2001. It really is reminiscent of the really wide shoulders of 15 or so years ago. I *would* say I wouldn't wear them again, but not so awfully long ago I said I'd never wear a skirt above my knees again, too! ;)
6/5/04 9:12 PM
layla said...
Thanks for the Review. Your Outfit is Very Flattering on You !! I Love this Classic Pattern. ...Thanks for Reminding me of This One !!
6/5/04 10:08 PM
layla said...
Thannnns for the Review Your Outfit is Very Flattering on You !! I Love this Classic Pattern. ...Thanks for Reminding me of This One !!
6/5/04 10:12 PM
Tini said...
Really great looking suit!
6/6/04 8:11 AM
PixieCat said...
What an elegant suit! I'm marking this one as a keeper!!
6/6/04 8:34 AM
MaryBeth said...
I'd bet the jacket is oversized through the shoulders so it would fit over the top. Those shoulders aren't as wide as I remember the "line backer" era's were, in fact this balances out your figger very nicely. I like the cardigan look and with the skirt this is very business casual. You look great!
6/6/04 8:39 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
This is a great look for business or any event where you need to look polished. Your outfit turned out really well. I have a Tamotsu pattern I hope to make a work wardrobe with and your reviews are very helpful to me! Thanks! Oh, and I think the skirt length looks great. Just below the knee wouldn't be as good IMO.
6/6/04 9:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Could not access your photo. Not sure why. But would love to see this. I love Tamatsu style. I am surely it is lovely on you. Good review.
6/6/04 4:29 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for the heads up, Linda. I just tried to access Photoworks and they are apparently having some technical difficulties; I couldn't even log on to the site. Hope they get it cleared up soon... If it takes them too long I'll put one of the three photos in my PR album
6/6/04 5:22 PM
Georgene said...
Lisa, I find the skirt length very flattering. I wish I could find a shorter length that looked so well on me. What is your height and the finished skirt length? Just to get an idea of the proportion....
6/7/04 1:26 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Georgene, I'm 5'4", and the finished skirt is 22 1/2" from the top of the waistband to the bottom of the hem. I think I've got proportionately slightly short legs, just based on the way clothes fit in general...I haven't done one of P&P's 'Body Map' things to prove it, though.
6/7/04 8:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7940
photo
Review by loohoo44 on 9/30/07
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3475
photo
Review by daleygirl on 7/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3171 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3171 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9490 Pattern
Burda 9490 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us