SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8616 (Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 751 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 75 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/10 1:14 PM
Last Updated:10/4/10 1:35 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CeceliaNYC said...
I agree with the other comments that say the top looks great on you! You must have done a fabulous job modifying it to make it look so perfect! Great review--very informative and also entertaining :)
10/7/10 5:29 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Well, must be your changes, because I think it looks great on you. Love the double-stitching down the front of the blouse and the neckline looks very comfy and warmy for the encroaching winter.
10/6/10 3:57 PM
MNBarb said...
I can't believe you don't like this. My first reaction was, WOW, Mare is really stylin'. Are your photos just really great? I like the neck and the fitted-ness. I vote you wear it.
10/6/10 12:14 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. That is an odd neckline, isn't it? I wonder if the other style, with the crossover front, would be more successful.
10/5/10 6:52 AM
Annette1 said...
Uh-oh, I with the mature neck am a little worried now, as I just ordered this pattern at the last Vogue sale. :o) Actually, your review has confirmed my wonderings as to the collar on this particular version, BUT ... I'm talknig about your WORDS. In seeing it on YOU, I really think it looks great, AND I love this close-up picture of you. :o) If I make it, though, I think I'll heed your advice and add some shaping to the collar, too. Great review!
10/4/10 8:10 PM
AnitaJJ said...
It looks so pretty. I'm sorry you're disappointed in the pattern. Thanks for the helpful review.
10/4/10 6:48 PM
Elona said...
I dunno; the top actually looks good on you, and it is quite distinctive. On the whole, I am inclined to give Vogue plus marks on their efforts with this kind of tee; it's nice to have a choice of something other than the old reliable (and predictable) crew or turtle/mock turtleneck. But I think this neckline, like all cut-on collars, asks for a long neck and a straight spine (think ballerina carriage). It's just a pity that Vogue doesn't update their knit designs so that there's the proper amount of ease in the sleeve head and the construction resembles the practices so normal now with companies like Jalie and Kwik Sew.
10/4/10 6:29 PM
maryfrana said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I think you look good in this. I also find many very easy vogue patterns are anything but easy!
10/4/10 6:07 PM
marthamyers said...
Oh, how disappointing! I doubly disappointed 'cause I just order this pattern from ClubBMV. Dang. Actually it looks good on you now that you've morphed it. Hmmm... I was all set to make it. Thanks for the helpful review.
10/4/10 4:25 PM
Christina W said...
Well, on the plus side - you did a really nice job sewing it and the fit is flattering! Your saves clearly worked - Thanks for the insights on this pattern!
10/4/10 3:22 PM
pterion said...
Sorry this pattern was a disappointment! I think the shortened sleeves and neck were a good save for it. Nice fabric! I can't wear that taupe color or I disappear, but it looks terrific on you, especially with the red pants.
10/4/10 3:11 PM
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for posting this, it's very helpful. If ever you get round to doing your planned modifications to the neckline, I'm sure it will be very flattering.
10/4/10 1:40 PM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry this was such an underwheling pattern :( The finished top looks pretty nice in the pic, but I'll certainly steer clear of this pattern based on your review.
10/4/10 1:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

ModKid Patterns Julia

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review
Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

More Info