Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5425 ( MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 793 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:TanitIsis
photo
About TanitIsisstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 3/17/10
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/10 2:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina W said...
Gorgeous - very much worth all your time and effort!!
10/3/10 2:25 PM
no7262 said...
Beautiful!
10/3/10 3:11 PM
delfinelise said...
It looks great, I love the full skirt on this coat, Im looking for something like this! Great review and great job!
10/3/10 3:20 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
Beautiful coat! I think your coat should get you through the winter. As a fellow Albertan who has also made a wool coat, I can say that with your flannel backed lining, interlining, and long skirt, you will be plenty toasty.
10/3/10 5:40 PM
Jill Giard said...
Very nice! I love this style.
10/3/10 5:50 PM
Tailypo said...
Love! Love and want!! I think it is really for the best, having this coat so closely-fitted in the bodice. You need to play off the incredible volume of the bottom. "100% Fibre" is killing me by the way -- as if you wondered some percentage of the fabric might in fact be, say, string cheese. Anyway, your coat is gorge. WEll worth the effort.
10/3/10 7:00 PM
dfr2010 said...
I snagged this pattern as soon as it went on sale after seeing it, and am working up the nerve to go at it. I have a month or two here ... as long as it's done for January. Yours is absolutely lovely, and an inspiration!
10/3/10 8:20 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a beautiful coat!!
10/3/10 8:25 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive. Nice work!
10/3/10 8:59 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and great style!
10/3/10 9:51 PM
TanitIsis said...
Thank you all! It was a lot of work, but I'm so excited to have it this winter. dfr2010, I look forward to seeing your version!
10/3/10 10:14 PM
Gordita1616 said...
WOW! What a stunning coat.
10/3/10 10:14 PM
Karen Easter said...
I LOVE it! I've got this pattern and am trying to work up the nerve to sew it. Is it my imagination, or is it longer in the back than in the front? I love the way the hemline flows.
10/3/10 10:40 PM
marec said...
OMG, you look fantastic in this coat. Time to change your rating from intermediate!
10/3/10 11:58 PM
Athene said...
Wonderful coat - really enjoyed your blog.
10/4/10 1:29 AM
TanitIsis said...
@ Karen Easter: you have sharp eyes! ;). It did end up shorter at the front; I had some problems sewing the front and facings together evenly, due in part to my interfacing screw-up and in part to general incompetence, and wound up thinking the front was two inches longer, trimming it, then discovering I had somehow stretched the front piece, ripping it out, re-sewing, and having to trim the facing in turn. I was not a happy camper for several days. ;). So the pattern itself is pretty even all around. @Marec---LOL I only just screwed up my courage and switched it up from "Advanced Beginner"! @ everyone else---again, thanks so much!
10/4/10 10:03 AM
CCQ said...
It's stunning! And the scarf looks great with it too.
10/4/10 1:59 PM
ladylola said...
Your hard work was worth it, it's an amazing coat!
10/5/10 7:32 AM
Mieuw said...
I love this pattern, you did a wonderful job! I have just ordered it and I'm waiting for it's delivery. Do you have any idea how long it took before the coat was completely finished? Since I would like to have mine finished before the real cold of the winter comes... Preferably before the beginning of December. Unfortunately, I don't have that many hours a week that I can spend on it...
10/31/10 11:56 AM
theroadtohobbiton said...
Wow - gorgeous! Enjoy!
11/5/10 9:42 AM
TanitIsis said...
Mieuw, I worked *very* slowly on this coat, so I wouldn't take my time-frame as standard; I did a muslin back in the spring, cut it out in August, and did most of my sewing over the course of September (interrupted by various other projects). If you are working steadily, I think you could have it done in under a month, even at just a few hours a day.
11/18/10 12:38 PM
Cormo said...
This is a fantastic coat for you! I love the wool. I think that I would try to interface the coat instead of that front facing. I'd like to make that coat for me. However, I am only 5'1" tall. I think it would be a lot of material for my height. Yes, I love the boots and the scarf with this. Very Chic! Keep challenging yourself with "new for you" patterns. Way to go!
4/9/11 11:50 AM
SplendidColors said...
This coat is sooo gorgeous! If I didn't already have an ankle-length wool peacoat, I'd make it in wool. But I need a lighter weight raincoat and just got 9 yards of taffeta-like water resistant fabric from Fashion Fabric Club. Do the more experienced seamstresses here think this would work in a lightweight fabric?
2/22/12 3:10 AM
Karen Easter said...
So... TanitIsis, how did the coat work for the Canadian winter? I went looking for your review because I think I'm finally going to sew this pattern, and yours was so beautiful!
9/6/12 11:39 PM
emilythecrafty said...
Lovely job! The coat looks great on you. I enjoyed reading about your process and struggles on your blog. Thanks!
8/6/13 12:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2662
photo
Review by SusieK1957 on 11/12/06
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LaFred 108 Helena Dress
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 11/26/03
Read Review

New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us