SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5425 ( MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE COAT)

4 more reviews
Viewed 805 times 
Reviewed by:TanitIsis
photo

 
 
About TanitIsisstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 3/17/10
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/10 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina W said...
Gorgeous - very much worth all your time and effort!!
10/3/10 2:25 PM
no7262 said...
Beautiful!
10/3/10 3:11 PM
delfinelise said...
It looks great, I love the full skirt on this coat, Im looking for something like this! Great review and great job!
10/3/10 3:20 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
Beautiful coat! I think your coat should get you through the winter. As a fellow Albertan who has also made a wool coat, I can say that with your flannel backed lining, interlining, and long skirt, you will be plenty toasty.
10/3/10 5:40 PM
Jill Giard said...
Very nice! I love this style.
10/3/10 5:50 PM
Tailypo said...
Love! Love and want!! I think it is really for the best, having this coat so closely-fitted in the bodice. You need to play off the incredible volume of the bottom. "100% Fibre" is killing me by the way -- as if you wondered some percentage of the fabric might in fact be, say, string cheese. Anyway, your coat is gorge. WEll worth the effort.
10/3/10 7:00 PM
dfr2010 said...
I snagged this pattern as soon as it went on sale after seeing it, and am working up the nerve to go at it. I have a month or two here ... as long as it's done for January. Yours is absolutely lovely, and an inspiration!
10/3/10 8:20 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a beautiful coat!!
10/3/10 8:25 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive. Nice work!
10/3/10 8:59 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and great style!
10/3/10 9:51 PM
TanitIsis said...
Thank you all! It was a lot of work, but I'm so excited to have it this winter. dfr2010, I look forward to seeing your version!
10/3/10 10:14 PM
Gordita1616 said...
WOW! What a stunning coat.
10/3/10 10:14 PM
Karen Easter said...
I LOVE it! I've got this pattern and am trying to work up the nerve to sew it. Is it my imagination, or is it longer in the back than in the front? I love the way the hemline flows.
10/3/10 10:40 PM
marec said...
OMG, you look fantastic in this coat. Time to change your rating from intermediate!
10/3/10 11:58 PM
Athene said...
Wonderful coat - really enjoyed your blog.
10/4/10 1:29 AM
TanitIsis said...
@ Karen Easter: you have sharp eyes! ;). It did end up shorter at the front; I had some problems sewing the front and facings together evenly, due in part to my interfacing screw-up and in part to general incompetence, and wound up thinking the front was two inches longer, trimming it, then discovering I had somehow stretched the front piece, ripping it out, re-sewing, and having to trim the facing in turn. I was not a happy camper for several days. ;). So the pattern itself is pretty even all around. @Marec---LOL I only just screwed up my courage and switched it up from "Advanced Beginner"! @ everyone else---again, thanks so much!
10/4/10 10:03 AM
CCQ said...
It's stunning! And the scarf looks great with it too.
10/4/10 1:59 PM
ladylola said...
Your hard work was worth it, it's an amazing coat!
10/5/10 7:32 AM
Mieuw said...
I love this pattern, you did a wonderful job! I have just ordered it and I'm waiting for it's delivery. Do you have any idea how long it took before the coat was completely finished? Since I would like to have mine finished before the real cold of the winter comes... Preferably before the beginning of December. Unfortunately, I don't have that many hours a week that I can spend on it...
10/31/10 11:56 AM
theroadtohobbiton said...
Wow - gorgeous! Enjoy!
11/5/10 9:42 AM
TanitIsis said...
Mieuw, I worked *very* slowly on this coat, so I wouldn't take my time-frame as standard; I did a muslin back in the spring, cut it out in August, and did most of my sewing over the course of September (interrupted by various other projects). If you are working steadily, I think you could have it done in under a month, even at just a few hours a day.
11/18/10 12:38 PM
Cormo said...
This is a fantastic coat for you! I love the wool. I think that I would try to interface the coat instead of that front facing. I'd like to make that coat for me. However, I am only 5'1" tall. I think it would be a lot of material for my height. Yes, I love the boots and the scarf with this. Very Chic! Keep challenging yourself with "new for you" patterns. Way to go!
4/9/11 11:50 AM
SplendidColors said...
This coat is sooo gorgeous! If I didn't already have an ankle-length wool peacoat, I'd make it in wool. But I need a lighter weight raincoat and just got 9 yards of taffeta-like water resistant fabric from Fashion Fabric Club. Do the more experienced seamstresses here think this would work in a lightweight fabric?
2/22/12 3:10 AM
Karen Easter said...
So... TanitIsis, how did the coat work for the Canadian winter? I went looking for your review because I think I'm finally going to sew this pattern, and yours was so beautiful!
9/6/12 11:39 PM
emilythecrafty said...
Lovely job! The coat looks great on you. I enjoyed reading about your process and struggles on your blog. Thanks!
8/6/13 12:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 3752

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1273

photo
by: ak165

Review