Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2949 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 433 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:lesliez
photo
Friend of PR
About lesliezstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/10 12:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
looks just great on you!
10/5/10 12:52 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Just let it flop about as it looks really nice on you-very stylish.
10/5/10 7:51 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It really looks very good in pictures :-). But I understand it's a pain to have to readjust all the time.

How is your wrong side? It looks like it could be interesting looking, even if different. Can you consider removing the facing and using a binding on that edge, or even just a hem with a mitered corner?

If that wouldn't be acceptable, at least have you tried to understitch the back of the collar, so the facing lies properly under there? Did you just tack the facing to the shoulder seam at its end, or did you stitch in the ditch the whole length on the shoulder seam part that overlaps it? I find that often does more to tame a wayward facing. If the back facing flips out, you might consider stiching the collar and facing together along the back neck virtual seam, it wouldn't show under the collar (you can baste it first to see whether it helps and be sure it doesn't show)

I'm afraid most commercial patterns have inadequately wide facings, they just try to save you fabric no matter what. Ironically, it was Sandra Betzina who taught me that, and pointed out that good RTW has back facings at least 6" deep. I'm now systematically adding to get that, and haven't had a back facing flip out in decades. I also find that adding at least an inch or two to front facings does the same trick for the front.

Poor Sandra, remember the time when she had to recall thousands of patterns because she realized that someone at Vogue had re-drawn her good crotch curve on some pants, to replace it with the lousy one that makes us buy her patterns instead?? Wish they'd leave her stuff alone..
10/6/10 4:55 AM

CarolynGM said...
I see why you love this jacket. The look is wonderful. Is it too late to trim down the facing?
10/6/10 6:29 AM
Jane S said...
I think this jacket looks wonderful on you. Hope you can figure out a way to make that facing work better. It's annoying when you're fidgeting while wearing something....ask me how I know:-)
10/6/10 8:37 AM
JEF said...
Looks wonderful. Thanks for the very helpful review and the heads up about the facings!
10/6/10 9:46 AM
lesliez said...
Thanks for all the good feedback! fuzzygalore, you made some really great points. Thank you for taking the time to share them. I will try basting the neckline to see what happens. I'm thinking that the shoulder line on the facing may be what's causing it to pull and fit funny. I may just release the stitching on the facing from the shoulder point down and let it hang. As much as I've been tempted to trim and serge the facing to make it smaller, something in me held back, afraid it would only make things worse.
10/6/10 11:32 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. Actually the photo on the pattern looked way too oversize on the model but you have it sized perfectly for your frame.
10/10/10 7:38 PM
salsera7 said...
Great job and thanks for doing it in a winter fabric. I would have never thought of doing so but now I'll do it in a winter white piece of wool I have and with your tips I can now make it to perfection. Thanks!
10/27/10 6:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Lutterloh 1940-#8
photo
Review by tucci4me on 3/11/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-4
photo
Review by JuliaS on 7/25/08
Read Review

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6602 Pattern
New Look 6602 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us