SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2949 (MISSES' JACKET)

13 more reviews
Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:lesliez
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lesliezstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/10 12:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
looks just great on you!
10/5/10 12:52 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Just let it flop about as it looks really nice on you-very stylish.
10/5/10 7:51 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It really looks very good in pictures :-). But I understand it's a pain to have to readjust all the time.

How is your wrong side? It looks like it could be interesting looking, even if different. Can you consider removing the facing and using a binding on that edge, or even just a hem with a mitered corner?

If that wouldn't be acceptable, at least have you tried to understitch the back of the collar, so the facing lies properly under there? Did you just tack the facing to the shoulder seam at its end, or did you stitch in the ditch the whole length on the shoulder seam part that overlaps it? I find that often does more to tame a wayward facing. If the back facing flips out, you might consider stiching the collar and facing together along the back neck virtual seam, it wouldn't show under the collar (you can baste it first to see whether it helps and be sure it doesn't show)

I'm afraid most commercial patterns have inadequately wide facings, they just try to save you fabric no matter what. Ironically, it was Sandra Betzina who taught me that, and pointed out that good RTW has back facings at least 6" deep. I'm now systematically adding to get that, and haven't had a back facing flip out in decades. I also find that adding at least an inch or two to front facings does the same trick for the front.

Poor Sandra, remember the time when she had to recall thousands of patterns because she realized that someone at Vogue had re-drawn her good crotch curve on some pants, to replace it with the lousy one that makes us buy her patterns instead?? Wish they'd leave her stuff alone..
10/6/10 4:55 AM

CarolynGM said...
I see why you love this jacket. The look is wonderful. Is it too late to trim down the facing?
10/6/10 6:29 AM
Jane S said...
I think this jacket looks wonderful on you. Hope you can figure out a way to make that facing work better. It's annoying when you're fidgeting while wearing something....ask me how I know:-)
10/6/10 8:37 AM
JEF said...
Looks wonderful. Thanks for the very helpful review and the heads up about the facings!
10/6/10 9:46 AM
lesliez said...
Thanks for all the good feedback! fuzzygalore, you made some really great points. Thank you for taking the time to share them. I will try basting the neckline to see what happens. I'm thinking that the shoulder line on the facing may be what's causing it to pull and fit funny. I may just release the stitching on the facing from the shoulder point down and let it hang. As much as I've been tempted to trim and serge the facing to make it smaller, something in me held back, afraid it would only make things worse.
10/6/10 11:32 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. Actually the photo on the pattern looked way too oversize on the model but you have it sized perfectly for your frame.
10/10/10 7:38 PM
salsera7 said...
Great job and thanks for doing it in a winter fabric. I would have never thought of doing so but now I'll do it in a winter white piece of wool I have and with your tips I can now make it to perfection. Thanks!
10/27/10 6:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3426

photo
by: Immelu

Review
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now