Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kayla Kennington: 425 (Cross Over Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 298 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:janlynn
photo
About janlynn
ON CANADA
Member since: 1/1/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/10 11:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A really distinctive garment. I think you'll like wearing it now it's finished! Thanks for a useful review.
10/15/10 0:02 AM
Elona said...
I think you've made a stunner! And you've certainly given us all excellent information if we should decide to make this top (or probably any other of Kayla's striking designs). Congratulations on a beautiful top.
10/15/10 0:24 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
I love the extra beading detail that you added. Accurate cutting and sewing is a must for Kayla's garments. I hadn't though of using my walking foot but that is a good idea. What I like to do is start my seaming (multi-stitch zigzag) at the shoulder for example, and then I take the two end pieces in hand to ensure they meet and try to keep them taught to ensure that both seam edges stitch evenly. It's tricky as you say because of the bias edges and you don't want to stretch the seams too much. I save hemming the bottom of the garment to the last and serge (roll hem) it to deal with any unevenness. I'm glad you persevered as it looks great.
10/15/10 7:45 AM
susiestitcher said...
I am in love with your fabric, too! Gorgeous. The top looks wonderful.
10/15/10 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
It may have been difficult but the end result is really beautiful - I have been eyeing that fabric too at my fave fabric store in Whitby
10/15/10 2:55 PM
Batik said...
Oh my, this is so smart and stylish on you. Wonderful fabric choice: makes the garment.
10/15/10 10:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Self Drafted Pattern 131944-1000
photo
Review by SI mom of ... on 8/22/08
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio A-line dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio A-line dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5458 Girls dress
photo
Review by mad4sewing on 12/7/07
Read Review

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0150 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0150 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2208 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-36-38-40 )
McCalls 2208 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us