SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kayla Kennington> 425 (Cross Over Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 304 times 
Reviewed by:janlynn
photo

 
 
About janlynn
ON CANADA
Member since: 1/1/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/10 11:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A really distinctive garment. I think you'll like wearing it now it's finished! Thanks for a useful review.
10/15/10 0:02 AM
Elona said...
I think you've made a stunner! And you've certainly given us all excellent information if we should decide to make this top (or probably any other of Kayla's striking designs). Congratulations on a beautiful top.
10/15/10 0:24 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
I love the extra beading detail that you added. Accurate cutting and sewing is a must for Kayla's garments. I hadn't though of using my walking foot but that is a good idea. What I like to do is start my seaming (multi-stitch zigzag) at the shoulder for example, and then I take the two end pieces in hand to ensure they meet and try to keep them taught to ensure that both seam edges stitch evenly. It's tricky as you say because of the bias edges and you don't want to stretch the seams too much. I save hemming the bottom of the garment to the last and serge (roll hem) it to deal with any unevenness. I'm glad you persevered as it looks great.
10/15/10 7:45 AM
susiestitcher said...
I am in love with your fabric, too! Gorgeous. The top looks wonderful.
10/15/10 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
It may have been difficult but the end result is really beautiful - I have been eyeing that fabric too at my fave fabric store in Whitby
10/15/10 2:55 PM
Batik said...
Oh my, this is so smart and stylish on you. Wonderful fabric choice: makes the garment.
10/15/10 10:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 5753

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-114

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review