SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Laughing Moon Mercantile> 103 (1890's Waist (Blouse))

Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/10 10:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
What a beautiful blouse! The pink stripes are really zesty =)
10/9/10 5:10 PM
newmama said...
I LOVE the fabric, and the costume is so charming!
10/9/10 2:00 PM
marec said...
What an interesting review! I love the cotton candy color and the stripes of this costume-it's sure to be seen from the audience. I enjoyed clicking through your set of photos also.
10/9/10 9:58 AM
susiestitcher said...
What a great period outfit! The actress looks wonderful. I do tend to agree with arianamaniac about constructing costumes that can be more easily altered -- but that is really only if you know the costume is a keeper and will be added to the permanent costume wardrobe for future use. In those cases, flat lining can be a helpful process. Obviously, though, each case is different. You sure have a fun job! I love costuming, too!
10/9/10 8:57 AM
Nikki S. said...
arianamaniacs, for a costume that might be used by more than one person over time, flatlining would definitely serve better. My costumes tend to be meant for one person and if they get used again it's fairly incidental - given that, and given that I'd prefer it not be messy looking inside, I'd build the lining and fit that, and then build the outer garment off that.
10/9/10 8:48 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I love historical costumes. For the theater aspect, isn't it better to flat-line it so it can be more easily adjusted? Nice job!
10/9/10 4:28 AM
Renren said...
Great video! Thanks for taking the time to cover the hook and eye tape and explaining about flat lining.
10/9/10 1:07 AM
RockNRoll said...
its adorable!!
10/8/10 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8496

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
New Look 6599

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern