SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5103 (kimono jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2098 times 
Reviewed by:Jennifer Hill
photo

 
 
About Jennifer Hillstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 4/11/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/04 0:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
This is an elegant rendition of the pattern. I have found out of the general public, most don't know how to sew, much less make something RTW. It is a compliment if you can do both! The chances of being able to pop in the mall and find something to fit that you can afford are slim to none. Congrats to your DD to have a mom that thinks she is important enough to dress UP for!
6/10/04 1:21 AM
Jennifer Hill said...
Thanks for the kind comments, all. This silk faille is from Fabric Mart, and I think it's still available, CHEAP! I have enough for another piece, perhaps a pair of pants. Like I don't wear enough black as it is!
6/9/04 8:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like your jacket and dress. Black and white seems popular right now. Looks classic and polished.
6/9/04 7:27 PM
PVA said...
I love that look -- light loose jacket to wear over dress or matching pants or skirt & top. At least 9 months of the year that works beautifully here. Even in the heat of summer, once the sun is down for a few hours it really cools down. Being of the less-endowed on top, it sounds like this pattern certainly would suit me, and easy to put together, ditto! I certainly do enjoy your reviews, and I thank you for them. Very helpful!
6/9/04 10:29 AM
edube said...
Nice job! And I enjoyed your comment about being dressed up for the occasion. Is it my imagination, or is it true that those of us who sew tend to look "dressed up" more of the time? I know that at my church, I'm certainly the only one who dresses up!
6/9/04 9:36 AM
AnneM said...
Good review. Being in the flat-chested camp, I should probably look at this line of patterns more closely. Nice jacket & outfit.
6/9/04 5:28 AM
kathi s said...
Very classy outfit! Your jacket is perfect and beutifully sewn. Don't feel uncomfortable about dressing appropriately for an important occasion- the other parents are missing the point of the ceremony!
6/8/04 10:54 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket, Jennifer. Was the silk faille easy to sew? Where did you find the fabric? Thanks for the review.
6/8/04 7:28 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your black fabric - it looks very elegant and fits very well.
6/8/04 12:16 PM
Mary Reed said...
May be I have the attention span of a gnat, but having a quickly-put-together, fabulous jacket that looks RTW sounds like a good idea. It looks wonderful on you.
6/8/04 11:04 AM
Mini said...
This a helpful review, and I agree with your observations about the sewing techniques.
6/8/04 9:05 AM
Lisette said...
Your jacket looks very nice. I know how you feel about being the only one dressed up. I went to my 4th grader strings concert and the parents were wearing shorts and looked like they had been working in the yard!
6/8/04 7:53 AM
sewfan said...
Very pretty jacket! It fits you very nicely and looks great with your dress. Appears that it would be a very versatile jacket which could be worn with a number of outfits. Nice job!!
6/8/04 7:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now