Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5103 (kimono jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2095 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Jennifer Hill
photo
About Jennifer Hillstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 4/11/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/04 0:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewfan said...
Very pretty jacket! It fits you very nicely and looks great with your dress. Appears that it would be a very versatile jacket which could be worn with a number of outfits. Nice job!!
6/8/04 7:39 AM
Lisette said...
Your jacket looks very nice. I know how you feel about being the only one dressed up. I went to my 4th grader strings concert and the parents were wearing shorts and looked like they had been working in the yard!
6/8/04 7:53 AM
Mini said...
This a helpful review, and I agree with your observations about the sewing techniques.
6/8/04 9:05 AM
Mary Reed said...
May be I have the attention span of a gnat, but having a quickly-put-together, fabulous jacket that looks RTW sounds like a good idea. It looks wonderful on you.
6/8/04 11:04 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your black fabric - it looks very elegant and fits very well.
6/8/04 12:16 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket, Jennifer. Was the silk faille easy to sew? Where did you find the fabric? Thanks for the review.
6/8/04 7:28 PM
kathi s said...
Very classy outfit! Your jacket is perfect and beutifully sewn. Don't feel uncomfortable about dressing appropriately for an important occasion- the other parents are missing the point of the ceremony!
6/8/04 10:54 PM
AnneM said...
Good review. Being in the flat-chested camp, I should probably look at this line of patterns more closely. Nice jacket & outfit.
6/9/04 5:28 AM
edube said...
Nice job! And I enjoyed your comment about being dressed up for the occasion. Is it my imagination, or is it true that those of us who sew tend to look "dressed up" more of the time? I know that at my church, I'm certainly the only one who dresses up!
6/9/04 9:36 AM
PVA said...
I love that look -- light loose jacket to wear over dress or matching pants or skirt & top. At least 9 months of the year that works beautifully here. Even in the heat of summer, once the sun is down for a few hours it really cools down. Being of the less-endowed on top, it sounds like this pattern certainly would suit me, and easy to put together, ditto! I certainly do enjoy your reviews, and I thank you for them. Very helpful!
6/9/04 10:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like your jacket and dress. Black and white seems popular right now. Looks classic and polished.
6/9/04 7:27 PM
Jennifer Hill said...
Thanks for the kind comments, all. This silk faille is from Fabric Mart, and I think it's still available, CHEAP! I have enough for another piece, perhaps a pair of pants. Like I don't wear enough black as it is!
6/9/04 8:08 PM
SewTwin said...
This is an elegant rendition of the pattern. I have found out of the general public, most don't know how to sew, much less make something RTW. It is a compliment if you can do both! The chances of being able to pop in the mall and find something to fit that you can afford are slim to none. Congrats to your DD to have a mom that thinks she is important enough to dress UP for!
6/10/04 1:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 3725
photo
Review by LauraM1942 on 3/21/08
Read Review

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2935 Men's Shirt
photo
Review by Irene Q on 6/2/07
Read Review

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7251 Pattern
Burda 7251 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us