Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5285 (Misses' Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 616 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/10 9:49 PM
Last Updated:10/30/10 4:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Oh my, this is a perfect example of a garment that looks SO much better than the pattern envelope! I like your change to a faced waistband. Looks great with your boots too -- and swishy fun to wear.
10/27/10 10:51 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous skirt.
10/27/10 11:19 PM
persevering said...
Lovely skirt! Thanks for sharing especially what you did to eliminate the waistband and add the facing.
10/27/10 11:40 PM
marec said...
Thank you!!!! I needed a nudge to get me away from waistbands on skirts and *some* pants. Your skirt is just lovely and I really like the facings. I'm going to try this on a skirt. Really nice Terri!
10/28/10 0:13 AM
Annette1 said...
You've got the perfect figure to show off this skirt. :o) I love the stitched pleats, and your faced waist is a real winner. (I like your boots, too. You might say I have a REAL PROBLEM with boots ... as in WAY TOO MANY, yet I keep buying more!) :o)
10/28/10 1:54 AM
sewmytime said...
I love it!
10/28/10 3:22 AM
Jane S said...
Love the fit then flow of this skirt. And your faced skirt is so much sleeker. Beautiful!
10/28/10 10:31 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking skirt. The facing is a perfect alternative to the shapeless waistband.
10/28/10 10:52 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Your skirt looks lovely. I love the length and the faced waist gives a lovely smooth line.
10/28/10 5:51 PM
Renren said...
Just perfectly lovely with those delicious pleats and the change at the waist. But I'm looking at the hemline, too, and I don't know what you did but it looks perfect. Machine stitched? Faced? Well, I guess I'll never know but it looks very nice. Great project and the boots make the perfect pairing (but so would ballerina flats, too, I'll bet).
10/30/10 7:57 AM
maryfrana said...
Beautifully made skirt. I too like to face waists instead of using a band. This looks fabulous with the boots.
10/30/10 11:47 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty skirt! It looks great with your boots!
10/30/10 4:07 PM
MNBarb said...
You took a so-so pattern and made it into something really nice. I love the way the fabric just looks like it's gliding around you. The waistband elimination results in such a nice, smooth fit and finish.
10/30/10 5:45 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
You made an absolutely great looking skirt.
10/30/10 9:28 PM
DKG said...
I love the swishness of your skirt. Nice touch doing away with the waist band. I like the seriousness of the fabric contrasting with the loosness of the pattern, and you've done a great job with the hem too.
10/31/10 2:05 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Very pretty skirt. Your changes to the pattern enhanced it tremendously. Looks much nicer than the pattern. Nice job.
11/1/10 4:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 0000
photo
Review by PittyPat on 5/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2014-138
photo
Review by Elaray on 1/29/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us