SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5285 (Misses' Skirt)

16 more reviews
Viewed 618 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/10 9:49 PM
Last Updated:10/30/10 4:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Oh my, this is a perfect example of a garment that looks SO much better than the pattern envelope! I like your change to a faced waistband. Looks great with your boots too -- and swishy fun to wear.
10/27/10 10:51 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous skirt.
10/27/10 11:19 PM
persevering said...
Lovely skirt! Thanks for sharing especially what you did to eliminate the waistband and add the facing.
10/27/10 11:40 PM
marec said...
Thank you!!!! I needed a nudge to get me away from waistbands on skirts and *some* pants. Your skirt is just lovely and I really like the facings. I'm going to try this on a skirt. Really nice Terri!
10/28/10 0:13 AM
Annette1 said...
You've got the perfect figure to show off this skirt. :o) I love the stitched pleats, and your faced waist is a real winner. (I like your boots, too. You might say I have a REAL PROBLEM with boots ... as in WAY TOO MANY, yet I keep buying more!) :o)
10/28/10 1:54 AM
sewmytime said...
I love it!
10/28/10 3:22 AM
Jane S said...
Love the fit then flow of this skirt. And your faced skirt is so much sleeker. Beautiful!
10/28/10 10:31 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking skirt. The facing is a perfect alternative to the shapeless waistband.
10/28/10 10:52 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Your skirt looks lovely. I love the length and the faced waist gives a lovely smooth line.
10/28/10 5:51 PM
Renren said...
Just perfectly lovely with those delicious pleats and the change at the waist. But I'm looking at the hemline, too, and I don't know what you did but it looks perfect. Machine stitched? Faced? Well, I guess I'll never know but it looks very nice. Great project and the boots make the perfect pairing (but so would ballerina flats, too, I'll bet).
10/30/10 7:57 AM
maryfrana said...
Beautifully made skirt. I too like to face waists instead of using a band. This looks fabulous with the boots.
10/30/10 11:47 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty skirt! It looks great with your boots!
10/30/10 4:07 PM
MNBarb said...
You took a so-so pattern and made it into something really nice. I love the way the fabric just looks like it's gliding around you. The waistband elimination results in such a nice, smooth fit and finish.
10/30/10 5:45 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
You made an absolutely great looking skirt.
10/30/10 9:28 PM
DKG said...
I love the swishness of your skirt. Nice touch doing away with the waist band. I like the seriousness of the fabric contrasting with the loosness of the pattern, and you've done a great job with the hem too.
10/31/10 2:05 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Very pretty skirt. Your changes to the pattern enhanced it tremendously. Looks much nicer than the pattern. Nice job.
11/1/10 4:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-120

photo
by: Catherine ...

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now