SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5285 (Misses' Skirt)

16 more reviews
Viewed 618 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/10 9:49 PM
Last Updated:10/30/10 4:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Oh my, this is a perfect example of a garment that looks SO much better than the pattern envelope! I like your change to a faced waistband. Looks great with your boots too -- and swishy fun to wear.
10/27/10 10:51 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous skirt.
10/27/10 11:19 PM
persevering said...
Lovely skirt! Thanks for sharing especially what you did to eliminate the waistband and add the facing.
10/27/10 11:40 PM
marec said...
Thank you!!!! I needed a nudge to get me away from waistbands on skirts and *some* pants. Your skirt is just lovely and I really like the facings. I'm going to try this on a skirt. Really nice Terri!
10/28/10 0:13 AM
Annette1 said...
You've got the perfect figure to show off this skirt. :o) I love the stitched pleats, and your faced waist is a real winner. (I like your boots, too. You might say I have a REAL PROBLEM with boots ... as in WAY TOO MANY, yet I keep buying more!) :o)
10/28/10 1:54 AM
sewmytime said...
I love it!
10/28/10 3:22 AM
Jane S said...
Love the fit then flow of this skirt. And your faced skirt is so much sleeker. Beautiful!
10/28/10 10:31 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking skirt. The facing is a perfect alternative to the shapeless waistband.
10/28/10 10:52 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Your skirt looks lovely. I love the length and the faced waist gives a lovely smooth line.
10/28/10 5:51 PM
Renren said...
Just perfectly lovely with those delicious pleats and the change at the waist. But I'm looking at the hemline, too, and I don't know what you did but it looks perfect. Machine stitched? Faced? Well, I guess I'll never know but it looks very nice. Great project and the boots make the perfect pairing (but so would ballerina flats, too, I'll bet).
10/30/10 7:57 AM
maryfrana said...
Beautifully made skirt. I too like to face waists instead of using a band. This looks fabulous with the boots.
10/30/10 11:47 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty skirt! It looks great with your boots!
10/30/10 4:07 PM
MNBarb said...
You took a so-so pattern and made it into something really nice. I love the way the fabric just looks like it's gliding around you. The waistband elimination results in such a nice, smooth fit and finish.
10/30/10 5:45 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
You made an absolutely great looking skirt.
10/30/10 9:28 PM
DKG said...
I love the swishness of your skirt. Nice touch doing away with the waist band. I like the seriousness of the fabric contrasting with the loosness of the pattern, and you've done a great job with the hem too.
10/31/10 2:05 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Very pretty skirt. Your changes to the pattern enhanced it tremendously. Looks much nicer than the pattern. Nice job.
11/1/10 4:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6164

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
PR Member's Pattern Pattern Magic Stretch

photo
by: pegsewer

Review