SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2010-11 (Nanette Pea Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 668 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/10 10:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Beautiful coat! You are so smart to use that wonderful fabric for a classic style.
10/30/10 8:36 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a gorgeous coat! You did an awesome job.
10/16/10 7:26 PM
callmeRuth said...
Your coat is absolutely lovely, and it fits you beautifully. Now that you've made one adult coat, there will be no stopping you!
10/15/10 0:05 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
How nice is that!!!! Cashmere.....could you ever go wrong? Uhm.....don't think so! Lol! Nice choice of fabric, great fit, good color, very nice work.
10/13/10 1:35 PM
Jane S said...
What an amazingly beautiful jacket. You did a fantastic job and it looks wonderful on you.
10/12/10 9:35 PM
barbcl said...
So lovely! Your coat must be a pleasure to wear!
10/12/10 9:21 PM
Erica B. said...
That is such a great and classic jacket! You'll wear that forever!
10/12/10 5:51 PM
Lisette said...
Beautifully put together, enjoy wearing it!
10/12/10 5:34 PM
nellc said...
Your coat is beautiful!
10/12/10 4:17 PM
annie11 said...
I am amazed that this is your first coat for yourself! It looks so professionally made. And that fabric is to die for. It really suits your coloring. Welcome to the wonderful world of sewing coats- they are my absolute favorite thing to make!
10/12/10 4:11 PM
MNBarb said...
This is really perfect. The color, the cut, the fit. It's obvious that you took your time and do beautiful work. I'm working my way up to a coat. Now, how do I get Annette to be MY friend?
10/12/10 4:08 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very very pretty coat! What great fit and fabric!
10/12/10 3:48 PM
eugenia123 said...
What a fabulous coat! I liked this style very much when I saw it in the magazine and yours is a perfect realisation. Annette has picked a real peach of a fabric for you (sorry for the pun!), the colour suits you so well and is so lovely and cheering for winter. This coat is going to be so cosy and hardwearing but will always look feminine and elegant. I love it.
10/12/10 12:53 PM
Karendee said...
Miss Christa, you have certainly made an outstanding looking coat. That lt. peach color is TDF and so flattering on your beautiful face. Every single stitch on that garment is just perfect and so well suited to you. Your friend Annette knows how to treat you to some special fabric!!!! She's a keeper. Pat yourself on the back for you seemed to whiz through this lovely project.
10/12/10 11:29 AM
soupdragon said...
Wow - that is a fantastic coat - so warm and cosy too. I have that issue of Ottobre, must have a proper look at it.
10/12/10 11:06 AM
Jacqui315 said...
So beautiful!
10/12/10 10:37 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That coat is just lovely and looks beautiful on you. Enjoy wearing it!
10/12/10 10:22 AM
Diane E said...
Christa, your new coat is stunning. That lovely color is perfect for you, and the fit is impeccable. Ooooohhhh ---- cashmere ---- must feel scrumptious, warm, and light. What an inspiration you are!
10/12/10 10:11 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Nice work on the coat! I haven't made a coat in many years, but yours is inspiring. I have this issue and have been admiring that pattern, so thanks for reviewing, and especially the reminder about how not to cut the facings. (A hand-sewn lining is super nice anyway ;-)) It's nice to see it made up and it looks great on you. I might just have the motivation to tackle it now!
10/12/10 9:55 AM
Diane333 said...
Just beautiful! Love the color and the classic style.
10/12/10 9:44 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
10/12/10 9:23 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, you have sewn such a beautiful coat out of the most wonderful fabric. I can imagine how scrumptious and lovely it must feel to wear. Fantastic job...and what a very special friend that Annette is!
10/12/10 9:22 AM
Catbird said...
My goodness! I turn my back for one second and the next thing I know you've made an entire winter coat, posted a review and gotten zillions of compliments! All so well deserved. Congratulations on your first adult coat. I know how challenging a project that is, but your meticulous sewing skills have carried you through with flying colors. The fabric is gorgeous and the result is so lovely.
10/12/10 8:51 AM
susiestitcher said...
You did a fantastic job for your first coat! It looks amazing on you. Great color and style. You've done the hard part -- now go out there and get your hugs!
10/12/10 8:46 AM
anetJay said...
it is beautiful :) you must be very proud !!!
10/12/10 8:12 AM
Kat B. said...
Nice! Very pretty!
10/12/10 8:10 AM
HeyJane said...
That is a seriously beautiful coat...the fabric, the workmanship...everything. Enjoy !
10/12/10 7:45 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, very classic and you did a fantastic job.
10/12/10 6:52 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! You outdid yourself:)
10/12/10 6:50 AM
Rebecca D said...
Looks pretty fantastic to me. Congrats.
10/12/10 6:48 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is such a beautiful coat! The fit is very flattering on you. Gorgeous!
10/12/10 5:40 AM
dingyadi said...
Beautiful work! Your peacoat is just gorgeous and the colour and the fabric look sumptuous. Thanks for the info about the Sew Stylish article on bagging a lining too, I'm going to track that down.
10/12/10 4:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous coat, and no doubt very warm. Well done.
10/12/10 4:17 AM
Mazzygirl said...
what a gorgeous coat! I fell in love with that coat when my issue of Ottobre Woman arrived & you have made an excellent version for yourself! no doubt you'll be wearing this for many years, getting many lovely compliments along the way!
10/12/10 4:01 AM
babsi1111 said...
This is a wonderful coat. It looks absolutely high end. Great done!
10/12/10 2:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! Coats can be such a intimidating project. You did it very well. Wear it with pleasure.
10/12/10 2:30 AM
Lynnelle said...
I have to get this issue of Ottobre. I adore the pea coat and your review has added yet another project to the list! Well done.
10/12/10 1:15 AM
marec said...
So lovely on you...how lucky to have such a dear friend.
10/12/10 1:05 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what a great classic!! It's truly lovely and timeless.
10/12/10 0:49 AM
JoanneM said...
STUNNING!!!!! The color is lovely and the style is a contemporary classic. Well done!
10/11/10 11:35 PM
Gordita1616 said...
This is a seriously fantastic coat.
10/11/10 11:30 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Absolutely beautiful! You did it, you made yourself a coat! Now I need to suck it up and finally make myself a coat too. ;-)
10/11/10 11:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Your coat has turned out PERFECT-A-MUNDO! I love every little thing about it, including all that TOPSTITCHING on such a heavy fabric! The color is MADE for you, and the fit of your coat is JUST RIGHT. I love it with the scarf, too. :o) What's next? Are you going to whip up a coat for Miss Jenna? :o)) CONGRATULATIONS on your FIRST COAT EVER (for yourself, I mean)!
10/11/10 11:08 PM
corinne kelly said...
This is a truly beautiful coat ! You should be very proud of your great job.
10/11/10 10:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Silhouette Patterns 3600

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-114

photo
by: Timmithea

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now