Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2010-11 (Nanette Pea Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 659 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/10 10:41 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
corinne kelly said...
This is a truly beautiful coat ! You should be very proud of your great job.
10/11/10 10:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Your coat has turned out PERFECT-A-MUNDO! I love every little thing about it, including all that TOPSTITCHING on such a heavy fabric! The color is MADE for you, and the fit of your coat is JUST RIGHT. I love it with the scarf, too. :o) What's next? Are you going to whip up a coat for Miss Jenna? :o)) CONGRATULATIONS on your FIRST COAT EVER (for yourself, I mean)!
10/11/10 11:08 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Absolutely beautiful! You did it, you made yourself a coat! Now I need to suck it up and finally make myself a coat too. ;-)
10/11/10 11:10 PM
Gordita1616 said...
This is a seriously fantastic coat.
10/11/10 11:30 PM
JoanneM said...
STUNNING!!!!! The color is lovely and the style is a contemporary classic. Well done!
10/11/10 11:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what a great classic!! It's truly lovely and timeless.
10/12/10 0:49 AM
marec said...
So lovely on you...how lucky to have such a dear friend.
10/12/10 1:05 AM
Lynnelle said...
I have to get this issue of Ottobre. I adore the pea coat and your review has added yet another project to the list! Well done.
10/12/10 1:15 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! Coats can be such a intimidating project. You did it very well. Wear it with pleasure.
10/12/10 2:30 AM
babsi1111 said...
This is a wonderful coat. It looks absolutely high end. Great done!
10/12/10 2:44 AM
Mazzygirl said...
what a gorgeous coat! I fell in love with that coat when my issue of Ottobre Woman arrived & you have made an excellent version for yourself! no doubt you'll be wearing this for many years, getting many lovely compliments along the way!
10/12/10 4:01 AM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous coat, and no doubt very warm. Well done.
10/12/10 4:17 AM
dingyadi said...
Beautiful work! Your peacoat is just gorgeous and the colour and the fabric look sumptuous. Thanks for the info about the Sew Stylish article on bagging a lining too, I'm going to track that down.
10/12/10 4:50 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is such a beautiful coat! The fit is very flattering on you. Gorgeous!
10/12/10 5:40 AM
Rebecca D said...
Looks pretty fantastic to me. Congrats.
10/12/10 6:48 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! You outdid yourself:)
10/12/10 6:50 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, very classic and you did a fantastic job.
10/12/10 6:52 AM
HeyJane said...
That is a seriously beautiful coat...the fabric, the workmanship...everything. Enjoy !
10/12/10 7:45 AM
Kat B. said...
Nice! Very pretty!
10/12/10 8:10 AM
anetJay said...
it is beautiful :) you must be very proud !!!
10/12/10 8:12 AM
susiestitcher said...
You did a fantastic job for your first coat! It looks amazing on you. Great color and style. You've done the hard part -- now go out there and get your hugs!
10/12/10 8:46 AM
Catbird said...
My goodness! I turn my back for one second and the next thing I know you've made an entire winter coat, posted a review and gotten zillions of compliments! All so well deserved. Congratulations on your first adult coat. I know how challenging a project that is, but your meticulous sewing skills have carried you through with flying colors. The fabric is gorgeous and the result is so lovely.
10/12/10 8:51 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, you have sewn such a beautiful coat out of the most wonderful fabric. I can imagine how scrumptious and lovely it must feel to wear. Fantastic job...and what a very special friend that Annette is!
10/12/10 9:22 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
10/12/10 9:23 AM
Diane333 said...
Just beautiful! Love the color and the classic style.
10/12/10 9:44 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Nice work on the coat! I haven't made a coat in many years, but yours is inspiring. I have this issue and have been admiring that pattern, so thanks for reviewing, and especially the reminder about how not to cut the facings. (A hand-sewn lining is super nice anyway ;-)) It's nice to see it made up and it looks great on you. I might just have the motivation to tackle it now!
10/12/10 9:55 AM
Diane E said...
Christa, your new coat is stunning. That lovely color is perfect for you, and the fit is impeccable. Ooooohhhh ---- cashmere ---- must feel scrumptious, warm, and light. What an inspiration you are!
10/12/10 10:11 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That coat is just lovely and looks beautiful on you. Enjoy wearing it!
10/12/10 10:22 AM
Jacqui315 said...
So beautiful!
10/12/10 10:37 AM
soupdragon said...
Wow - that is a fantastic coat - so warm and cosy too. I have that issue of Ottobre, must have a proper look at it.
10/12/10 11:06 AM
Karendee said...
Miss Christa, you have certainly made an outstanding looking coat. That lt. peach color is TDF and so flattering on your beautiful face. Every single stitch on that garment is just perfect and so well suited to you. Your friend Annette knows how to treat you to some special fabric!!!! She's a keeper. Pat yourself on the back for you seemed to whiz through this lovely project.
10/12/10 11:29 AM
eugenia123 said...
What a fabulous coat! I liked this style very much when I saw it in the magazine and yours is a perfect realisation. Annette has picked a real peach of a fabric for you (sorry for the pun!), the colour suits you so well and is so lovely and cheering for winter. This coat is going to be so cosy and hardwearing but will always look feminine and elegant. I love it.
10/12/10 12:53 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very very pretty coat! What great fit and fabric!
10/12/10 3:48 PM
MNBarb said...
This is really perfect. The color, the cut, the fit. It's obvious that you took your time and do beautiful work. I'm working my way up to a coat. Now, how do I get Annette to be MY friend?
10/12/10 4:08 PM
annie11 said...
I am amazed that this is your first coat for yourself! It looks so professionally made. And that fabric is to die for. It really suits your coloring. Welcome to the wonderful world of sewing coats- they are my absolute favorite thing to make!
10/12/10 4:11 PM
nellc said...
Your coat is beautiful!
10/12/10 4:17 PM
Lisette said...
Beautifully put together, enjoy wearing it!
10/12/10 5:34 PM
Erica B. said...
That is such a great and classic jacket! You'll wear that forever!
10/12/10 5:51 PM
barbcl said...
So lovely! Your coat must be a pleasure to wear!
10/12/10 9:21 PM
Jane S said...
What an amazingly beautiful jacket. You did a fantastic job and it looks wonderful on you.
10/12/10 9:35 PM
GodsgirlT said...
How nice is that!!!! Cashmere.....could you ever go wrong? Uhm.....don't think so! Lol! Nice choice of fabric, great fit, good color, very nice work.
10/13/10 1:35 PM
callmeRuth said...
Your coat is absolutely lovely, and it fits you beautifully. Now that you've made one adult coat, there will be no stopping you!
10/15/10 0:05 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a gorgeous coat! You did an awesome job.
10/16/10 7:26 PM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful coat! You are so smart to use that wonderful fabric for a classic style.
10/30/10 8:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Amy Butler AB024MB
photo
Review by EeLo on 3/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8659
photo
Review by rivergum on 10/28/12
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us