SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2010-11 (Nanette Pea Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 664 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/10 10:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
corinne kelly said...
This is a truly beautiful coat ! You should be very proud of your great job.
10/11/10 10:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Your coat has turned out PERFECT-A-MUNDO! I love every little thing about it, including all that TOPSTITCHING on such a heavy fabric! The color is MADE for you, and the fit of your coat is JUST RIGHT. I love it with the scarf, too. :o) What's next? Are you going to whip up a coat for Miss Jenna? :o)) CONGRATULATIONS on your FIRST COAT EVER (for yourself, I mean)!
10/11/10 11:08 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Absolutely beautiful! You did it, you made yourself a coat! Now I need to suck it up and finally make myself a coat too. ;-)
10/11/10 11:10 PM
Gordita1616 said...
This is a seriously fantastic coat.
10/11/10 11:30 PM
JoanneM said...
STUNNING!!!!! The color is lovely and the style is a contemporary classic. Well done!
10/11/10 11:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what a great classic!! It's truly lovely and timeless.
10/12/10 0:49 AM
marec said...
So lovely on you...how lucky to have such a dear friend.
10/12/10 1:05 AM
Lynnelle said...
I have to get this issue of Ottobre. I adore the pea coat and your review has added yet another project to the list! Well done.
10/12/10 1:15 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! Coats can be such a intimidating project. You did it very well. Wear it with pleasure.
10/12/10 2:30 AM
babsi1111 said...
This is a wonderful coat. It looks absolutely high end. Great done!
10/12/10 2:44 AM
Mazzygirl said...
what a gorgeous coat! I fell in love with that coat when my issue of Ottobre Woman arrived & you have made an excellent version for yourself! no doubt you'll be wearing this for many years, getting many lovely compliments along the way!
10/12/10 4:01 AM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous coat, and no doubt very warm. Well done.
10/12/10 4:17 AM
dingyadi said...
Beautiful work! Your peacoat is just gorgeous and the colour and the fabric look sumptuous. Thanks for the info about the Sew Stylish article on bagging a lining too, I'm going to track that down.
10/12/10 4:50 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is such a beautiful coat! The fit is very flattering on you. Gorgeous!
10/12/10 5:40 AM
Rebecca D said...
Looks pretty fantastic to me. Congrats.
10/12/10 6:48 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! You outdid yourself:)
10/12/10 6:50 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, very classic and you did a fantastic job.
10/12/10 6:52 AM
HeyJane said...
That is a seriously beautiful coat...the fabric, the workmanship...everything. Enjoy !
10/12/10 7:45 AM
Kat B. said...
Nice! Very pretty!
10/12/10 8:10 AM
anetJay said...
it is beautiful :) you must be very proud !!!
10/12/10 8:12 AM
susiestitcher said...
You did a fantastic job for your first coat! It looks amazing on you. Great color and style. You've done the hard part -- now go out there and get your hugs!
10/12/10 8:46 AM
Catbird said...
My goodness! I turn my back for one second and the next thing I know you've made an entire winter coat, posted a review and gotten zillions of compliments! All so well deserved. Congratulations on your first adult coat. I know how challenging a project that is, but your meticulous sewing skills have carried you through with flying colors. The fabric is gorgeous and the result is so lovely.
10/12/10 8:51 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, you have sewn such a beautiful coat out of the most wonderful fabric. I can imagine how scrumptious and lovely it must feel to wear. Fantastic job...and what a very special friend that Annette is!
10/12/10 9:22 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
10/12/10 9:23 AM
Diane333 said...
Just beautiful! Love the color and the classic style.
10/12/10 9:44 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Nice work on the coat! I haven't made a coat in many years, but yours is inspiring. I have this issue and have been admiring that pattern, so thanks for reviewing, and especially the reminder about how not to cut the facings. (A hand-sewn lining is super nice anyway ;-)) It's nice to see it made up and it looks great on you. I might just have the motivation to tackle it now!
10/12/10 9:55 AM
Diane E said...
Christa, your new coat is stunning. That lovely color is perfect for you, and the fit is impeccable. Ooooohhhh ---- cashmere ---- must feel scrumptious, warm, and light. What an inspiration you are!
10/12/10 10:11 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That coat is just lovely and looks beautiful on you. Enjoy wearing it!
10/12/10 10:22 AM
Jacqui315 said...
So beautiful!
10/12/10 10:37 AM
soupdragon said...
Wow - that is a fantastic coat - so warm and cosy too. I have that issue of Ottobre, must have a proper look at it.
10/12/10 11:06 AM
Karendee said...
Miss Christa, you have certainly made an outstanding looking coat. That lt. peach color is TDF and so flattering on your beautiful face. Every single stitch on that garment is just perfect and so well suited to you. Your friend Annette knows how to treat you to some special fabric!!!! She's a keeper. Pat yourself on the back for you seemed to whiz through this lovely project.
10/12/10 11:29 AM
eugenia123 said...
What a fabulous coat! I liked this style very much when I saw it in the magazine and yours is a perfect realisation. Annette has picked a real peach of a fabric for you (sorry for the pun!), the colour suits you so well and is so lovely and cheering for winter. This coat is going to be so cosy and hardwearing but will always look feminine and elegant. I love it.
10/12/10 12:53 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very very pretty coat! What great fit and fabric!
10/12/10 3:48 PM
MNBarb said...
This is really perfect. The color, the cut, the fit. It's obvious that you took your time and do beautiful work. I'm working my way up to a coat. Now, how do I get Annette to be MY friend?
10/12/10 4:08 PM
annie11 said...
I am amazed that this is your first coat for yourself! It looks so professionally made. And that fabric is to die for. It really suits your coloring. Welcome to the wonderful world of sewing coats- they are my absolute favorite thing to make!
10/12/10 4:11 PM
nellc said...
Your coat is beautiful!
10/12/10 4:17 PM
Lisette said...
Beautifully put together, enjoy wearing it!
10/12/10 5:34 PM
Erica B. said...
That is such a great and classic jacket! You'll wear that forever!
10/12/10 5:51 PM
barbcl said...
So lovely! Your coat must be a pleasure to wear!
10/12/10 9:21 PM
Jane S said...
What an amazingly beautiful jacket. You did a fantastic job and it looks wonderful on you.
10/12/10 9:35 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
How nice is that!!!! Cashmere.....could you ever go wrong? Uhm.....don't think so! Lol! Nice choice of fabric, great fit, good color, very nice work.
10/13/10 1:35 PM
callmeRuth said...
Your coat is absolutely lovely, and it fits you beautifully. Now that you've made one adult coat, there will be no stopping you!
10/15/10 0:05 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a gorgeous coat! You did an awesome job.
10/16/10 7:26 PM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful coat! You are so smart to use that wonderful fabric for a classic style.
10/30/10 8:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2012-112

photo
by: MelaD

Review
McCall's 0000000

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now