Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2942 (dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1195 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Melissa S.
photo
About Melissa S.star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/04 11:49 AM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
I've saved sacklike dresses by redoing the side seams to have more shaping. It's worth a try. Or try putting in the waist detail from view A?
6/8/04 12:13 PM
Neefer said...
How disappointing. My guess is that the pattern really needs something with more drape than a medium weight cotton. The tell-tale clue for me that the pattern lacks shaping detail is the side ties on view A that are needed to pull the dress in at the waist. If you want to, you could try the dress in a rayon challis, readily available and inexpensive. Unfortunately, there isn't a line drawing at the Kwik Sew site. Do the sides come in at all? I'm guessing the back is one piece? I think you would be happier with a pattern that had shaping from waist darts, front and back, and/or a center back seam for shaping.
6/8/04 12:18 PM
Hilary said...
I think Neefer's idea for waist darts would help a lot ; it'd be pretty easy to try it on your completed dress-you could shape the side seams a bit too as Stefanie suggested, I think both of these tips would make a world of difference. (i'm a very big help, aren't I? lol) Looking at the pattern drawing does seem to indicate a drapey fabric would work much better. Have you considered a linen and rayon blend? I think Joanne's has their linen and blends on 40% off right now(might be over, I'm not sure) and the blends are very drapey. Might be worth a second try. I know its so disappointing when what you see in your mind doesn't end coming close to what you produce after all that work. Thanks for taking the time to review!
6/8/04 1:07 PM
AnneM said...
Ah yes, pull-over dresses and deceptive pattern drawings. A drapey rayon fabric would probably help. Perhaps either the side ties or ties in to the back would help get a little definition. Try pinning in the side seams or darts, as the others suggested, and then make certain that you can still slip the dress on & off with those done. Good for you for trying, and good for us that you reviewed the dress!
6/8/04 3:01 PM
Melissa S. said...
Thanks for the suggestions, everyone. Neefer--the side seams do come in a bit, but I think the cotton has too much body to really see the shaping. There is a back seam, so I could shape it there also. I'm so bummed about this. I rarely sew for myself because I'm always making things for the kids. Just makes this project that much more disappointing for me. I think I will try adjusting the already made dress and using the alterations to make another dress out of a different fabric.
6/8/04 3:27 PM
Neefer said...
If you are going to put in darts, you could take advantage of the center back seam and put in a zipper. That way, you'll be able to get in and out of it.
6/8/04 9:51 PM
Mini said...
Probably rayon would have looked better, but if you don't want another sack you will be happier with a pattern that has waist darts or princess seams to build in more shape. I wouldn't bother trying to re-do this pattern. There are lots more fish in the sea:)!
6/8/04 9:59 PM
AnneM said...
I tend to agree w/ Mini; I would probably try to salvage this dress, but would try a new pattern for a 2nd dress.
6/9/04 5:31 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I too like one piece dressing (I think I've commented on that before) and just trashed the last bad one. Thanks for the heads up on this one!
6/9/04 10:43 AM
Skymom said...
It's so hard to tell from a pattern drawing what you're going to get, isn't it? In this case, since the dress is such a simple style, it's probably worth it to try it on, and pin in the seams a bit, then add some vertical darts in back and front till it has a shape you like. If you were to buy a pattern that gave you the look you wanted, it would likely have these features, so why not just do it yourself? You might be able to turn this dress into something you really want to wear, and if not, you've lost a little time and learned something new. You could also consider another method of shaping besides darts--how about some decorative tucks, or elastic shirring? You could even do some unconventional darts--ones that go off at interesting angles, for example. This is a good opportunity to do some impromptu designing!
6/10/04 9:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us