SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2942 (dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1195 times 
Reviewed by:Melissa S.
photo

 
 
About Melissa S.star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/04 11:49 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
It's so hard to tell from a pattern drawing what you're going to get, isn't it? In this case, since the dress is such a simple style, it's probably worth it to try it on, and pin in the seams a bit, then add some vertical darts in back and front till it has a shape you like. If you were to buy a pattern that gave you the look you wanted, it would likely have these features, so why not just do it yourself? You might be able to turn this dress into something you really want to wear, and if not, you've lost a little time and learned something new. You could also consider another method of shaping besides darts--how about some decorative tucks, or elastic shirring? You could even do some unconventional darts--ones that go off at interesting angles, for example. This is a good opportunity to do some impromptu designing!
6/10/04 9:59 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I too like one piece dressing (I think I've commented on that before) and just trashed the last bad one. Thanks for the heads up on this one!
6/9/04 10:43 AM
AnneM said...
I tend to agree w/ Mini; I would probably try to salvage this dress, but would try a new pattern for a 2nd dress.
6/9/04 5:31 AM
Mini said...
Probably rayon would have looked better, but if you don't want another sack you will be happier with a pattern that has waist darts or princess seams to build in more shape. I wouldn't bother trying to re-do this pattern. There are lots more fish in the sea:)!
6/8/04 9:59 PM
Neefer said...
If you are going to put in darts, you could take advantage of the center back seam and put in a zipper. That way, you'll be able to get in and out of it.
6/8/04 9:51 PM
Melissa S. said...
Thanks for the suggestions, everyone. Neefer--the side seams do come in a bit, but I think the cotton has too much body to really see the shaping. There is a back seam, so I could shape it there also. I'm so bummed about this. I rarely sew for myself because I'm always making things for the kids. Just makes this project that much more disappointing for me. I think I will try adjusting the already made dress and using the alterations to make another dress out of a different fabric.
6/8/04 3:27 PM
AnneM said...
Ah yes, pull-over dresses and deceptive pattern drawings. A drapey rayon fabric would probably help. Perhaps either the side ties or ties in to the back would help get a little definition. Try pinning in the side seams or darts, as the others suggested, and then make certain that you can still slip the dress on & off with those done. Good for you for trying, and good for us that you reviewed the dress!
6/8/04 3:01 PM
Hilary said...
I think Neefer's idea for waist darts would help a lot ; it'd be pretty easy to try it on your completed dress-you could shape the side seams a bit too as Stefanie suggested, I think both of these tips would make a world of difference. (i'm a very big help, aren't I? lol) Looking at the pattern drawing does seem to indicate a drapey fabric would work much better. Have you considered a linen and rayon blend? I think Joanne's has their linen and blends on 40% off right now(might be over, I'm not sure) and the blends are very drapey. Might be worth a second try. I know its so disappointing when what you see in your mind doesn't end coming close to what you produce after all that work. Thanks for taking the time to review!
6/8/04 1:07 PM
Neefer said...
How disappointing. My guess is that the pattern really needs something with more drape than a medium weight cotton. The tell-tale clue for me that the pattern lacks shaping detail is the side ties on view A that are needed to pull the dress in at the waist. If you want to, you could try the dress in a rayon challis, readily available and inexpensive. Unfortunately, there isn't a line drawing at the Kwik Sew site. Do the sides come in at all? I'm guessing the back is one piece? I think you would be happier with a pattern that had shaping from waist darts, front and back, and/or a center back seam for shaping.
6/8/04 12:18 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I've saved sacklike dresses by redoing the side seams to have more shaping. It's worth a try. Or try putting in the waist detail from view A?
6/8/04 12:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

New Look 6963

photo
by: charid daw...

Review

Pattern

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3

photo
by: style insp...

Review
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info