SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5305 (tank dress group)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1855 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/04 7:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Thank you for reviewing this!!!! I had my doubts when I saw that pattern so I passed it up. Your review helps confirm my initial impression. We all need to alert others when patterns don't work, even sacred cows like LH.
6/9/04 7:09 PM
MaryBeth said...
This pattern is coming to me via mail and after reading your very helpful review I'll give extra careful consideration to matching the fabric to the pattern. Thanks so much, jlg!
6/9/04 7:46 PM
Jennifer Hill said...
Thanks for an honest review. I agree that LH's finishing instructions are too minimalist for my tastes. OK, I'll stick my neck out and say she's overrated! I'm not going to pay designer pattern prices for an unfitted shell, with no neckline finish, which might not even fit over my head. (I don't think the dress would flatter me anyway!) Thanks again.
6/9/04 8:23 PM
mudcat said...
I know somebody on Sewing World questioned the 1/2" ease on the bust for this pattern with wovens. I ordered it from The Sewing Place this weekend and it's on the way here. I'll have to measure carefully also. Thanks for taking the time to do the review.
6/9/04 8:26 PM
Mini said...
Hey, tell it like it is! That's what I do:). This dress looked kind of unattractive to me in the pattern photos, so I decided not to buy it. I wore sack dresses back in 60's and don't need to do it again. Thanks for a helpful review.
6/9/04 9:33 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for being honest and giving a detail description that supports it. It will help everyone make informed decision about their money and their time.
6/9/04 11:22 PM
PVA said...
Ditto to all the above, especially the thank you for the honest review! I'm reminded of the story of the little boy & the emperor's new clothes 8^O !
6/10/04 0:33 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I'd considered it, but had a strong intuition that it wouldn't work and I will now pass it up and look for another workhorse tank pattern (which I don't have, believe it or not).
6/10/04 7:08 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Too bad this didn't work out. It came out cute nevertheless. Thanks for the heads up!
6/10/04 9:07 AM
sewywabbit said...
Thanks for this review, I almost bought this a few days ago, but decided to wait for the reviews. I think that view E is a hot looking tank which I almost bought the pattern for, but if it wont fit over the head even in a knit... Also, where are the bust darts on this dress thing? Maybe unimportant in the knit, but in a woven? I agree with Mini on the sack dress comment.
6/10/04 10:43 AM
Jan B. said...
Thanks for pointing out all the pitfalls for this pattern. Glad to have read your review.
6/10/04 10:46 AM
jlg said...
Sewyrabbit, there are no darts in the dress. One view has elastic below the bust in front and back; one has nothing. As far as the camisole is concerned (the sexy looking view), I am sure it would pull over your head easily. The round neck version which is the one that wouldn't isn't shown on the front of the pattern.
6/10/04 11:15 AM
Susan R said...
Thanks for the review. I didn't know that there was a feeling that people shouldn't post negative reviews. I think it's very helpful to know that a pattern has problems and may not be a good buy.
6/10/04 1:23 PM
tammyc said...
Thanks, I just got my pattern in the mail and started trying make fitting changes to it. After your review, I think I'll add a bust dart. I'm a c-cup, and I think the top will look aweful without a dart (based on your photo, the wrinkles would be worse.).
6/10/04 1:37 PM
MaryBeth said...
Just rec'd this pattern (wouldn't you know that this was going to be LH's complementary last chance??? after her classic coat) and I sure couldn't tell from the photos of the pattern just how sack-y it really is. I'm thinking I'll give it a try just to see if there are any redeeming factors like neckline or armhole but so far it looks to be a bust. BTW that sexy top with the lowcut neckline is the camisole and the only style that advises knits only.
6/10/04 3:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
I wasn't tempted by this pattern, but thanks for the warning all the same. I appreciate your taking the time to write an honest review of a pattern that didn't work out.
6/10/04 6:12 PM
Karen Bowers said...
the comments about the darts or lack thereof interest me. i haven't purchased the pattern (waiting to see real photos of others' work), but i was intrigued to see how the elastic in the dress would work. basically the elastic should work the same as a side dart, just pulled to below the bust. depending on how low the elastic is placed on the dress, it might work on the tops as well.
6/10/04 7:44 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I appreciate your willingness to share the good, the bad and maybe the ole so ugly. Actually your photo of top looks good. I can feel your unhappiness. It happens to all of us. Sometimes I am amazed at how well a pattern works for one person and then not for me. Both good, bad and in between reviews should be submitted to help people make informed choices. Being honest about how it worked or did not work for you is a great help to all of us.
6/11/04 6:17 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I thought the purpose of reviews was to tell others about the pitfalls of patterns? I appreciate your honesty. Actually, the photo looked pretty good but if it isn't flattering, then why waste your time. I looked through your photo album and you obviously know what looks good on you. Great clothes. I wasn't tempted by this pattern because I thought the dress photo looked very matronly and the sexy tank is too bare for me.
6/15/04 9:29 PM
Annette H said...
Good review. Yahoo won't let me see the picture, sadly! I liked this pattern, but now I think I'll forget about it.
7/10/04 8:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2758

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now