SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5305 (tank dress group)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1857 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/04 7:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette H said...
Good review. Yahoo won't let me see the picture, sadly! I liked this pattern, but now I think I'll forget about it.
7/10/04 8:45 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
I thought the purpose of reviews was to tell others about the pitfalls of patterns? I appreciate your honesty. Actually, the photo looked pretty good but if it isn't flattering, then why waste your time. I looked through your photo album and you obviously know what looks good on you. Great clothes. I wasn't tempted by this pattern because I thought the dress photo looked very matronly and the sexy tank is too bare for me.
6/15/04 9:29 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I appreciate your willingness to share the good, the bad and maybe the ole so ugly. Actually your photo of top looks good. I can feel your unhappiness. It happens to all of us. Sometimes I am amazed at how well a pattern works for one person and then not for me. Both good, bad and in between reviews should be submitted to help people make informed choices. Being honest about how it worked or did not work for you is a great help to all of us.
6/11/04 6:17 PM
Karen Bowers said...
the comments about the darts or lack thereof interest me. i haven't purchased the pattern (waiting to see real photos of others' work), but i was intrigued to see how the elastic in the dress would work. basically the elastic should work the same as a side dart, just pulled to below the bust. depending on how low the elastic is placed on the dress, it might work on the tops as well.
6/10/04 7:44 PM
CarolynGM said...
I wasn't tempted by this pattern, but thanks for the warning all the same. I appreciate your taking the time to write an honest review of a pattern that didn't work out.
6/10/04 6:12 PM
MaryBeth said...
Just rec'd this pattern (wouldn't you know that this was going to be LH's complementary last chance??? after her classic coat) and I sure couldn't tell from the photos of the pattern just how sack-y it really is. I'm thinking I'll give it a try just to see if there are any redeeming factors like neckline or armhole but so far it looks to be a bust. BTW that sexy top with the lowcut neckline is the camisole and the only style that advises knits only.
6/10/04 3:26 PM
tammyc said...
Thanks, I just got my pattern in the mail and started trying make fitting changes to it. After your review, I think I'll add a bust dart. I'm a c-cup, and I think the top will look aweful without a dart (based on your photo, the wrinkles would be worse.).
6/10/04 1:37 PM
Susan R said...
Thanks for the review. I didn't know that there was a feeling that people shouldn't post negative reviews. I think it's very helpful to know that a pattern has problems and may not be a good buy.
6/10/04 1:23 PM
jlg said...
Sewyrabbit, there are no darts in the dress. One view has elastic below the bust in front and back; one has nothing. As far as the camisole is concerned (the sexy looking view), I am sure it would pull over your head easily. The round neck version which is the one that wouldn't isn't shown on the front of the pattern.
6/10/04 11:15 AM
Jan B. said...
Thanks for pointing out all the pitfalls for this pattern. Glad to have read your review.
6/10/04 10:46 AM
sewywabbit said...
Thanks for this review, I almost bought this a few days ago, but decided to wait for the reviews. I think that view E is a hot looking tank which I almost bought the pattern for, but if it wont fit over the head even in a knit... Also, where are the bust darts on this dress thing? Maybe unimportant in the knit, but in a woven? I agree with Mini on the sack dress comment.
6/10/04 10:43 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Too bad this didn't work out. It came out cute nevertheless. Thanks for the heads up!
6/10/04 9:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I'd considered it, but had a strong intuition that it wouldn't work and I will now pass it up and look for another workhorse tank pattern (which I don't have, believe it or not).
6/10/04 7:08 AM
PVA said...
Ditto to all the above, especially the thank you for the honest review! I'm reminded of the story of the little boy & the emperor's new clothes 8^O !
6/10/04 0:33 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for being honest and giving a detail description that supports it. It will help everyone make informed decision about their money and their time.
6/9/04 11:22 PM
Mini said...
Hey, tell it like it is! That's what I do:). This dress looked kind of unattractive to me in the pattern photos, so I decided not to buy it. I wore sack dresses back in 60's and don't need to do it again. Thanks for a helpful review.
6/9/04 9:33 PM
mudcat said...
I know somebody on Sewing World questioned the 1/2" ease on the bust for this pattern with wovens. I ordered it from The Sewing Place this weekend and it's on the way here. I'll have to measure carefully also. Thanks for taking the time to do the review.
6/9/04 8:26 PM
Jennifer Hill said...
Thanks for an honest review. I agree that LH's finishing instructions are too minimalist for my tastes. OK, I'll stick my neck out and say she's overrated! I'm not going to pay designer pattern prices for an unfitted shell, with no neckline finish, which might not even fit over my head. (I don't think the dress would flatter me anyway!) Thanks again.
6/9/04 8:23 PM
MaryBeth said...
This pattern is coming to me via mail and after reading your very helpful review I'll give extra careful consideration to matching the fabric to the pattern. Thanks so much, jlg!
6/9/04 7:46 PM
drsue said...
Thank you for reviewing this!!!! I had my doubts when I saw that pattern so I passed it up. Your review helps confirm my initial impression. We all need to alert others when patterns don't work, even sacred cows like LH.
6/9/04 7:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns OOP 8261

photo
by: N_Vogue

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Gertie\'s Bow tie blouse

photo
by: Seamstress...

Review