Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 17 (Princess Sheath Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 769 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/10 10:45 PM
Last Updated:4/17/11 5:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katib said...
This is a beautiful sheath dress. And your mitered corners are gorgeous!
10/17/10 10:54 PM
Renren said...
Everything you sew is quite classy looking and you always write such helpful and detailed reviews! Thanks.
10/17/10 11:03 PM
pterion said...
This sheath is fitted and constructed to perfection! And what a versatile wardrobe basic it will be.
10/17/10 11:28 PM
Terri A said...
WOW! It fits you so well. Fantastic!
10/17/10 11:42 PM
marjoriekh said...
So classic looking, and thank you for adding the details on how you finished it. I love it with jacket #2.
10/18/10 0:10 AM
mendospot said...
very attractive
10/18/10 0:12 AM
moushka said...
Beautiful finishing on a beautiful dress. The fit is superb. The whole dress is really couture level, Kay. Thanks for the review. Your sewing is always an inspiration.
10/18/10 0:27 AM
Annette1 said...
PERFECT! I love the handstitching at the neckline. :o)
10/18/10 0:50 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a beautiful dress. Your sewing is impeccable.
10/18/10 2:36 AM
tess said...
Impeccably tailored and a beautiful result!
10/18/10 5:25 AM
Scheryka said...
Classy. I had Wild Ginger (free type) and could not get it to print correct so I left it alone. Your dress came out wonderful!
10/18/10 6:36 AM
Fran G said...
So "Kay"! Was there a particular reason you handstitched the understitching at the neckline? Would machine stitching be too "heavy"? And what is your source for labels..yours is very tailored and classy..of course!!!
10/18/10 7:18 AM
marjenann said...
Breathtaking!!! I am not sure if I like the inside or outside best! Your attention to detail is inspiring and amazing! Thanks so much for sharing!! Annette
10/18/10 7:36 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely fit Kay - looks elegant and classy with jewellery and also a great wardrobe basic that you can dress up or down as you wish!!
10/18/10 8:34 AM
Catbird said...
I love looking at your meticulous work and love that handstitching. It's a shame it can't be seen, but it's nice to know it's there! This looks especially great with the safari jacket.
10/18/10 8:49 AM
ak21 said...
lovely. yes, a great wardrobe builder indeed! you look like a lawyer in this...wa hahahaaha. stunning handstitch at neckline. clap clap :-)
10/18/10 9:21 AM
Mahler said...
What a great and simple dress !!! I love that look with that jacket. Very professional.
10/18/10 9:30 AM
Christas said...
I could look at your sewing all day! This sheath is as beautiful on the outside as it is on the inside. Thanks for all the pictures you put in your review. Your sheath is another winner, of course!
10/18/10 9:35 AM
Sewnla said...
The dress is so nice. Very classic will never go out of style. The detail you put into it is amazing. You are so talented.
10/18/10 9:38 AM
SusiM said...
Everyone else has already said it: beautiful work and fit!
10/18/10 10:21 AM
ClareinStitches said...
What a fabulous piece of work. Congratulations!
10/18/10 11:27 AM
lmg said...
Another great project by the incomparable Kay Y. The length is just perfect too.
10/18/10 2:29 PM
Mary Ann said...
Fantastic fit. Great job. Thanks for sharing.
10/18/10 6:37 PM
DorothyK said...
This is an incredibly perfect fit. Quite stunning, beautiful job.
10/20/10 4:55 PM
MNBarb said...
Why not make it again. It's perfect. Your workmanship is perfect. Thanks for all of the details.
4/17/11 5:33 PM
RadarRadiance said...
You look like a million bucks in this well fitted dress! Your workmanship is outstanding!
4/17/11 5:56 PM
FreyaStark said...
Your workmanship and the impeccable fit are most impressive. Well done.
4/17/11 6:49 PM
Rhoda K said...
I don't think I can add any more than what has already been said - a beautiful dress and perfect fit. Now I know where I saw the lined vent! Great job.
4/17/11 6:57 PM
Ericaeli said...
It really does look great on you. Your sewing is always beautiful too.
4/17/11 10:58 PM
sarah121haras said...
I love the fabric choice. It is perfect for that dress. The fit is perfect as well! Great job!
4/17/11 11:31 PM
lmg said...
I love your new version. Together with that leather jacket, you'll slay them all in the courtroom. Hope to get back sewing soon.....
4/18/11 0:32 AM
SusiM said...
I'm with everybody else..just beautiful! What a fabulous fit!
4/18/11 2:05 AM
mamaluv2sew said...
Inspirational!
5/18/11 11:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7942
photo
Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5144
photo
Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us