SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 00006 (Modernized Vietnamese AODAI)

Viewed 446 times 
Reviewed by:cloudyhn
photo

 
 
About cloudyhnstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/8/10
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/10 5:43 PM
Last Updated:10/20/10 5:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NVK said...
I love your AODAI. I took your advice and googled AODAI to educate myself. I found the history very interesting. Your garment is spectacular, wow! I love the fabric you used. It is fine and elegant. It fits you perfectly. You hand work is well done. Thank you for sharing your beautiful AODAI.
10/18/10 6:50 PM
no7262 said...
Like I said before...You are so talented! You and your dress are amazing! Thank you for sharing about Vietnam! Nora :)
10/18/10 7:06 PM
rozzybabe said...
The fabric is beautiful & the sewing & design is fabulous. You're very talented & I look forward to more unusual designs & styles. Thank you!
10/18/10 7:50 PM
Miranda said...
Beautiful!
10/18/10 9:11 PM
Kay Y said...
Exquisite!
10/18/10 9:32 PM
marec said...
Thank you so much for this review-the AODAI is beautiful and the history of the garments was fascinating.
10/18/10 9:48 PM
cloudyhn said...
Wow, thank you all so much for finding this review intersting and beautiful dress with AODAI's history. I actually made some more pants with different colors: dark purple, light green. They all look good with the dress.
10/18/10 10:19 PM
FreyaStark said...
A beautiful garment, and a clever marriage of East and West, tradition and modernity.
10/19/10 2:06 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Just gorgeous. Thanks for the cultural lesson. Surely there is somewhere to wear this beautiful garment.
10/19/10 2:29 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
This is absolutely beautiful. You really are very talented.
10/19/10 4:06 AM
JEF said...
Stunning dress and wonderful review. Thanks.
10/19/10 9:32 AM
valerie sews said...
You should be proud! This is a lovely dress. I would have liked to see a photo of the back too.
10/20/10 4:17 AM
cloudyhn said...
Thank you. There 's link to the photo album in my review. You will see more photos for details...
10/20/10 8:54 AM
candicer said...
The fabric here is so gorgeous! Beautiful pattern - love the AODAI! Will have have to google it to find out more.
10/20/10 10:17 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - such great work
10/20/10 8:51 PM
Mrs. Brown said...
I am in awe of your ability and creativity.
10/21/10 10:18 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, this is so stunning!!!! Thank you so much for reviewing this Aodai. I noticed this was your profile pic, but could not see it very clearly, so was so happy you reviewed. Truly inspiring, I can't even say. Please say more about ironing interfacing to the edges of the cut Aodai for machine stitching and then removing it for hand stitching. I am guessing that the interfacing was not caught in the machine stitching. The other amazing thing about your Aodai is the fabric and how you brilliantly cut it out to take utmost advantage of the print. So amazing, thank you so much for sharing.
10/21/10 11:32 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Holy WOW!!
10/21/10 5:04 PM
sewbehind said...
Stunning on you. Thanks for the story about ADOI. I hope you are thinking about fashion design! You are talented!
10/22/10 11:10 AM
AnitaJJ said...
What a beautiful garment. I looked it up on wikipedia and now, like the other reviewers have more knowledge about the aodai. You are very creative and have created a beautiful aodai.
10/22/10 12:33 PM
cloudyhn said...
Thanks to all of you. I hope my review brought to you something about Vietnam, about what I'm proud of, and that you are getting to know through my review or self- educated something more about a small part of the world - Vietnam, my country....
10/22/10 7:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6648

photo
by: facesunder...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now