Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 00006 (Modernized Vietnamese AODAI) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 442 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:cloudyhn
photo
About cloudyhnstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/8/10
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/10 5:43 PM
Last Updated:10/20/10 5:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NVK said...
I love your AODAI. I took your advice and googled AODAI to educate myself. I found the history very interesting. Your garment is spectacular, wow! I love the fabric you used. It is fine and elegant. It fits you perfectly. You hand work is well done. Thank you for sharing your beautiful AODAI.
10/18/10 6:50 PM
no7262 said...
Like I said before...You are so talented! You and your dress are amazing! Thank you for sharing about Vietnam! Nora :)
10/18/10 7:06 PM
rozzybabe said...
The fabric is beautiful & the sewing & design is fabulous. You're very talented & I look forward to more unusual designs & styles. Thank you!
10/18/10 7:50 PM
Miranda said...
Beautiful!
10/18/10 9:11 PM
Kay Y said...
Exquisite!
10/18/10 9:32 PM
marec said...
Thank you so much for this review-the AODAI is beautiful and the history of the garments was fascinating.
10/18/10 9:48 PM
cloudyhn said...
Wow, thank you all so much for finding this review intersting and beautiful dress with AODAI's history. I actually made some more pants with different colors: dark purple, light green. They all look good with the dress.
10/18/10 10:19 PM
FreyaStark said...
A beautiful garment, and a clever marriage of East and West, tradition and modernity.
10/19/10 2:06 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Just gorgeous. Thanks for the cultural lesson. Surely there is somewhere to wear this beautiful garment.
10/19/10 2:29 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
This is absolutely beautiful. You really are very talented.
10/19/10 4:06 AM
JEF said...
Stunning dress and wonderful review. Thanks.
10/19/10 9:32 AM
valerie sews said...
You should be proud! This is a lovely dress. I would have liked to see a photo of the back too.
10/20/10 4:17 AM
cloudyhn said...
Thank you. There 's link to the photo album in my review. You will see more photos for details...
10/20/10 8:54 AM
candicer said...
The fabric here is so gorgeous! Beautiful pattern - love the AODAI! Will have have to google it to find out more.
10/20/10 10:17 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - such great work
10/20/10 8:51 PM
Mrs. Brown said...
I am in awe of your ability and creativity.
10/21/10 10:18 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, this is so stunning!!!! Thank you so much for reviewing this Aodai. I noticed this was your profile pic, but could not see it very clearly, so was so happy you reviewed. Truly inspiring, I can't even say. Please say more about ironing interfacing to the edges of the cut Aodai for machine stitching and then removing it for hand stitching. I am guessing that the interfacing was not caught in the machine stitching. The other amazing thing about your Aodai is the fabric and how you brilliantly cut it out to take utmost advantage of the print. So amazing, thank you so much for sharing.
10/21/10 11:32 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Holy WOW!!
10/21/10 5:04 PM
sewbehind said...
Stunning on you. Thanks for the story about ADOI. I hope you are thinking about fashion design! You are talented!
10/22/10 11:10 AM
AnitaJJ said...
What a beautiful garment. I looked it up on wikipedia and now, like the other reviewers have more knowledge about the aodai. You are very creative and have created a beautiful aodai.
10/22/10 12:33 PM
cloudyhn said...
Thanks to all of you. I hope my review brought to you something about Vietnam, about what I'm proud of, and that you are getting to know through my review or self- educated something more about a small part of the world - Vietnam, my country....
10/22/10 7:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

StyleArc Peta Peta pants
photo
Review by newsewer20... on 3/9/12
Read Review

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1015 Violet
photo
Review by spankachut... on 9/11/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us