SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8565 (MISSES' TOP, TUNIC AND PANTS)

20 more reviews
Viewed 416 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 228
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/10 2:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donna mel said...
Cute top, but hard to really see, with the altered photo.
10/20/10 8:47 AM
Renren said...
Well, treefrog, I think it's redeemable as a kick-about the house and riding mowers in the field top, don't you? I've sewn some of those c'est la vie garments myself but nothing keeps Renren from wearing her magnificent (cough, cough) creations! Seriously, I think it's cute and I love that very interesting fabric in all those luscious shades of blue.
10/20/10 9:47 AM
marec said...
treefrog, I have made this top up twice using jersey and it falls in a less maternity way. Faint praise, huh? I love the pleating at the top and the ease of wearing but this is a top I saved for kick around and chores in the house. Your fabric is pretty-wear the dang top anyway! :-) oh, I also cut the cap sleeves MUCH shorter on one and turned the second into a sleeveless. That helps the balance of the top.
10/20/10 10:02 AM
AnitaJJ said...
It looks very pretty, casual and comfortable. And the fabric is very pretty. Nice job.
10/20/10 8:30 PM
katlew03 said...
I agree with Marec. Shortening the sleeves might make you like it better. I usually shorten cut-on sleeves to a more flattering length because they tend to end at the wrong place on my upper arm.
10/20/10 9:10 PM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the comments on the sleeves. I'll let you know how it goes.
10/20/10 9:15 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It's very easy for me to bloop into maternity wear too. In fact we may be body twins separated at birth, so thanks for all those good pictures that show what works well or less :-). But you really can't ever be too drapey with these pleaty patterns. I've made a few of a Japanese version and really love them, in both very light cotton voile and drapey rayon knit.

I'd try the sleeve cutting too, if you think you aren't going to wear it you can't go too wrong and an experiment is worth while. I can usually get away with pinning one sleeve away, just to take a look. But I think the worst problem may be the strong horizontal feeling of the print. I like the print mind you, and it has very nice colors, but... I think it's just wrong for that design.
10/21/10 6:04 AM

maryfrana said...
The fabric is very nice. Even if this top doesn't feel completely successful, you could still wear it and see how people react. Sometimes it's better than you think!
10/22/10 8:38 PM
Kayseri said...
Like you I'm not sold on the top but the fabric is lovely. Have you thought about using the stripes vertically on a garment?
10/22/10 11:59 PM
jannw said...
I'm sorry you don't like it..I made it a while back and loved it..those figure differences again! I used an interlock, so maybe it needs a heavier fabric to hang correctly. I do like the fabric and wear it anyway..It looks comfortable for hot days and maybe you'll come to like it better.
10/24/10 3:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1313

photo
by: annie11

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now