SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8449 (Bias Cut Couture Dress)

Viewed 906 times 
Reviewed by:cdmilliner
photo

 
 
About cdmillinerstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/10 0:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goosegreen said...
Gorgeous!
10/20/10 1:17 AM
marec said...
It's a very beautiful dress on you-I am in awe of the time and effort in constructing a dress of this caliber.
10/20/10 1:18 AM
Lisa p said...
Beautiful I love that fabric its gorgeous !!!
10/20/10 1:50 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh my, what a stunning dress! And your fine work is quite awesome. --Lily
10/20/10 1:56 AM
valerie sews said...
A beautiful beautiful dress and you really have the figure to carry it off.
10/20/10 3:56 AM
Mazzygirl said...
WOW! gorgeous dress, fabulous result, any wonder you love it!
10/20/10 3:59 AM
twinkle72 said...
You look fantatic! What a great fabric choice.
10/20/10 4:36 AM
moushka said...
Absolutely stunning, you look beautiful in your dress. What very unusual construction with the single pattern piece. I really enjoyed reading the details on your blog. Thanks for an inspiring and educational review.
10/20/10 6:49 AM
jonnie664 said...
Simply Stunning! Your work to create the FBA (and overall excellence along the way) is inspirational!
10/20/10 7:29 AM
no7262 said...
It's just beautiful!
10/20/10 7:50 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gasp!! That is gorgeous!! Where did you find that amazing velvet?
10/20/10 8:17 AM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful!
10/20/10 8:23 AM
Kim12469 said...
It's gorgeous! I think to need to find reasons to wear it!
10/20/10 8:31 AM
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/20/10 9:19 AM
Paris75008 said...
Lovely dress. You wear it really well
10/20/10 9:23 AM
cdi9c said...
Holy moly that is one hot dress. I can't get over the fabric. Love it!
10/20/10 9:31 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Lovely and sexy dress! Very nice work.
10/20/10 9:36 AM
Kat B. said...
Beautiful!! Great fabric and fabulous dress!
10/20/10 9:48 AM
SewSho said...
I love the green underneath! This is a stunning dress! I wish I had the patience for hand sewing, well done you:)
10/20/10 10:52 AM
RLL said...
You certainly DID achieve the head-turning effect you were looking for. It is a big WOW!
10/20/10 11:23 AM
Leora said...
This dress is absolutely stunning on you!
10/20/10 1:03 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
What an amazing dress! The fit is just perfect! Nice work!
10/20/10 1:30 PM
tess said...
Wow! Your dress looks stunning on you and well worth your hard work!
10/21/10 5:25 AM
Diane333 said...
You look fantastic in your beautifully sewn dress.
10/21/10 9:25 AM
janet said...
Your work is incredible--and your knowledge of fitting is superior. You are one very intelligent lady in a beautiful dress--the TOTAL PACKAGE!
10/21/10 2:59 PM
waltzqueen said...
Vavavoom! Beautiful dress from gorgeous fabric and appears to fit like a glove! Fantastic!
10/22/10 1:55 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Gorgeous dress! I love your fabric choice. You look so great that I'm going to have to give this pattern a try.
10/23/10 6:41 PM
France said...
Absolutely beautiful. I made that dress too. It did not have as much success. I chose a solid red viscose fabric that showed every little hand stiching finish techniques the instructions were showing. Therefore I had to work hard to finish the edges of the cleaverage. Plus finding a braid for the shoulder strap that would match the one color in my dress was quite a challenge. My dress ended up nice but yours is stunning, and makes me want to try making it again. Congratulations!
11/21/10 10:08 PM
JustineSewcountrychick said...
I love this dress. It looks like something Nicole Kidman once wore. Can you wear a bra with it?
1/29/11 1:07 PM
eclectickim said...
Your photo is inspiring and your blog post is fantastic.
4/8/11 5:00 PM
cececo said...
I'm making this dress right now. I am in the middle of setting the zipper and am taking a little break. So far, so good, but it would be nice if the directions were a little more clear. I am making it for my daughter for prom. She wanted a dress like Nora Charles (from The Thin Man movies). If it turns out--I might make one for me!
4/9/11 10:00 PM
Timmithea said...
I love this dress too. I purchased a silk burnout from a fabric store that went out of business last summer. Now, I found the pattern too! Your dress is gorgeous. I hope mine will turn out as successfully as yours.
6/5/11 12:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is divine!! Thank you for writing a review on this pattern.
7/28/11 11:12 PM
becca a said...
This dress is gorgeous! I love your fabric, and it fits you to perfection!
8/3/11 2:18 PM
ceejayem said...
Genius! The choice of fabric and your obvious couture technique have lifted this dress into a class of its own. Inspiring!
4/7/12 10:53 PM
Scheri said...
Absolutely beautiful inside and out!
1/18/13 2:27 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful and so inspirational! It was so worth all of your time and effort.
3/6/13 11:18 PM
Lenarciak said...
Gorgeous! It is very feminine and suits you perfect!
2/4/14 7:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5548

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now