SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8449 (Bias Cut Couture Dress)

Viewed 914 times 
Reviewed by:cdmilliner
photo

 
 
About cdmillinerstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/10 0:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lenarciak said...
Gorgeous! It is very feminine and suits you perfect!
2/4/14 7:38 AM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful and so inspirational! It was so worth all of your time and effort.
3/6/13 11:18 PM
Scheri said...
Absolutely beautiful inside and out!
1/18/13 2:27 PM
ceejayem said...
Genius! The choice of fabric and your obvious couture technique have lifted this dress into a class of its own. Inspiring!
4/7/12 10:53 PM
becca a said...
This dress is gorgeous! I love your fabric, and it fits you to perfection!
8/3/11 2:18 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is divine!! Thank you for writing a review on this pattern.
7/28/11 11:12 PM
Timmithea said...
I love this dress too. I purchased a silk burnout from a fabric store that went out of business last summer. Now, I found the pattern too! Your dress is gorgeous. I hope mine will turn out as successfully as yours.
6/5/11 12:49 PM
cececo said...
I'm making this dress right now. I am in the middle of setting the zipper and am taking a little break. So far, so good, but it would be nice if the directions were a little more clear. I am making it for my daughter for prom. She wanted a dress like Nora Charles (from The Thin Man movies). If it turns out--I might make one for me!
4/9/11 10:00 PM
eclectickim said...
Your photo is inspiring and your blog post is fantastic.
4/8/11 5:00 PM
JustineSewcountrychick said...
I love this dress. It looks like something Nicole Kidman once wore. Can you wear a bra with it?
1/29/11 1:07 PM
France said...
Absolutely beautiful. I made that dress too. It did not have as much success. I chose a solid red viscose fabric that showed every little hand stiching finish techniques the instructions were showing. Therefore I had to work hard to finish the edges of the cleaverage. Plus finding a braid for the shoulder strap that would match the one color in my dress was quite a challenge. My dress ended up nice but yours is stunning, and makes me want to try making it again. Congratulations!
11/21/10 10:08 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Gorgeous dress! I love your fabric choice. You look so great that I'm going to have to give this pattern a try.
10/23/10 6:41 PM
waltzqueen said...
Vavavoom! Beautiful dress from gorgeous fabric and appears to fit like a glove! Fantastic!
10/22/10 1:55 PM
janet said...
Your work is incredible--and your knowledge of fitting is superior. You are one very intelligent lady in a beautiful dress--the TOTAL PACKAGE!
10/21/10 2:59 PM
Diane333 said...
You look fantastic in your beautifully sewn dress.
10/21/10 9:25 AM
tess said...
Wow! Your dress looks stunning on you and well worth your hard work!
10/21/10 5:25 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
What an amazing dress! The fit is just perfect! Nice work!
10/20/10 1:30 PM
Leora said...
This dress is absolutely stunning on you!
10/20/10 1:03 PM
RLL said...
You certainly DID achieve the head-turning effect you were looking for. It is a big WOW!
10/20/10 11:23 AM
SewSho said...
I love the green underneath! This is a stunning dress! I wish I had the patience for hand sewing, well done you:)
10/20/10 10:52 AM
Kat B. said...
Beautiful!! Great fabric and fabulous dress!
10/20/10 9:48 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Lovely and sexy dress! Very nice work.
10/20/10 9:36 AM
cdi9c said...
Holy moly that is one hot dress. I can't get over the fabric. Love it!
10/20/10 9:31 AM
Paris75008 said...
Lovely dress. You wear it really well
10/20/10 9:23 AM
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/20/10 9:19 AM
Kim12469 said...
It's gorgeous! I think to need to find reasons to wear it!
10/20/10 8:31 AM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful!
10/20/10 8:23 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gasp!! That is gorgeous!! Where did you find that amazing velvet?
10/20/10 8:17 AM
no7262 said...
It's just beautiful!
10/20/10 7:50 AM
jonnie664 said...
Simply Stunning! Your work to create the FBA (and overall excellence along the way) is inspirational!
10/20/10 7:29 AM
moushka said...
Absolutely stunning, you look beautiful in your dress. What very unusual construction with the single pattern piece. I really enjoyed reading the details on your blog. Thanks for an inspiring and educational review.
10/20/10 6:49 AM
twinkle72 said...
You look fantatic! What a great fabric choice.
10/20/10 4:36 AM
Mazzygirl said...
WOW! gorgeous dress, fabulous result, any wonder you love it!
10/20/10 3:59 AM
valerie sews said...
A beautiful beautiful dress and you really have the figure to carry it off.
10/20/10 3:56 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh my, what a stunning dress! And your fine work is quite awesome. --Lily
10/20/10 1:56 AM
Lisa p said...
Beautiful I love that fabric its gorgeous !!!
10/20/10 1:50 AM
marec said...
It's a very beautiful dress on you-I am in awe of the time and effort in constructing a dress of this caliber.
10/20/10 1:18 AM
goosegreen said...
Gorgeous!
10/20/10 1:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6457

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Butterick 5455

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review