Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Sausalito (Sausalito Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 357 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/10 11:35 PM
Last Updated:10/20/10 11:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnitaJJ said...
Another very cute top!!! I love how oversized it is. Very fashionable AND comfortable. And good for your trying a pattern you were unsure of with a non-recommended fabric... your result is very nice!
10/21/10 0:46 AM
Aroura said...
Really love this top, so very original and attractive. Will make a great great quick outdoor clothing.
10/21/10 1:18 AM
JEF said...
I think you were very clever to see the potential of that fabric and that pattern. It looks like a super bed jacket/walk the dog throw on. Fantastic.
10/21/10 8:29 AM
marthamyers said...
I like it on you. It's so good to read that others have less-than-fabulous results from time to time, though I actually think it's cute. Must be the great attitude!
10/21/10 9:14 AM
Puppy said...
Cute and different. For sure, brown is GREAT color for you!
10/21/10 11:25 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE your choice of fabric. I'm not one for oversized jackets normally, but this one looks so elegant and chic on you. I bet you'll wear it LOTS!
10/21/10 2:50 PM
MNBarb said...
I like your idea of a button on the front. You could use one of those great single buttons you have in your stash (come on I know you have one). When I sewed in the 80's everything fit like this. I like it on you. If ever you have a really cold evening your husband could crawl in this jacket with you!
10/21/10 4:48 PM
sfshaza said...
Very cute, Mary! This is a pattern I have wanted to make, but I have to be careful of where that drape hits on my bust. But it works for you!
10/21/10 7:49 PM
Renren said...
Brown is a good color for you. This will be perfect for layering this winter. Or as a bedjacket. Nice to have options like that.
10/21/10 10:02 PM
maryfrana said...
I think I am in love with the quilted fabric. This is a really great looking piece. I have not had the best of luck with Sewing Workshop patterns and am glad to see this one made up. I too am drawn toward Boho styles. I think this is much more stylish than a dog walking/bedjacket piece. Worn with a long skirt and small fitted top....could look great.
10/23/10 12:29 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Marec, What I did with my oversized Sausalito was cut it down the middle and turned the cut edges and hemmed them. It made a very cute jacket that was much more wearable than the top.
10/24/10 11:22 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. I don't think I have ever seen this pattern before. I love the quilted fabric. Whatever you use it for, it looks great on you. I'm curious about the double overcasting stitch. Was is done on your sewing machine or serger. I don't have a serger, so I'm always interested in other ways to finish seams.
11/4/10 12:44 PM
cloudyhn said...
I Love the loose style for quilted fabric. You make me feel warm and cozy just by looking at your photo :)
11/6/10 9:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2006-115 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 6/28/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2934
photo
Review by Deepika on 1/25/02
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us