SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Sausalito (Sausalito Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 358 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 145
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/10 11:35 PM
Last Updated:10/20/10 11:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnitaJJ said...
Another very cute top!!! I love how oversized it is. Very fashionable AND comfortable. And good for your trying a pattern you were unsure of with a non-recommended fabric... your result is very nice!
10/21/10 0:46 AM
Aroura said...
Really love this top, so very original and attractive. Will make a great great quick outdoor clothing.
10/21/10 1:18 AM
JEF said...
I think you were very clever to see the potential of that fabric and that pattern. It looks like a super bed jacket/walk the dog throw on. Fantastic.
10/21/10 8:29 AM
marthamyers said...
I like it on you. It's so good to read that others have less-than-fabulous results from time to time, though I actually think it's cute. Must be the great attitude!
10/21/10 9:14 AM
Puppy said...
Cute and different. For sure, brown is GREAT color for you!
10/21/10 11:25 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE your choice of fabric. I'm not one for oversized jackets normally, but this one looks so elegant and chic on you. I bet you'll wear it LOTS!
10/21/10 2:50 PM
MNBarb said...
I like your idea of a button on the front. You could use one of those great single buttons you have in your stash (come on I know you have one). When I sewed in the 80's everything fit like this. I like it on you. If ever you have a really cold evening your husband could crawl in this jacket with you!
10/21/10 4:48 PM
sfshaza said...
Very cute, Mary! This is a pattern I have wanted to make, but I have to be careful of where that drape hits on my bust. But it works for you!
10/21/10 7:49 PM
Renren said...
Brown is a good color for you. This will be perfect for layering this winter. Or as a bedjacket. Nice to have options like that.
10/21/10 10:02 PM
maryfrana said...
I think I am in love with the quilted fabric. This is a really great looking piece. I have not had the best of luck with Sewing Workshop patterns and am glad to see this one made up. I too am drawn toward Boho styles. I think this is much more stylish than a dog walking/bedjacket piece. Worn with a long skirt and small fitted top....could look great.
10/23/10 12:29 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Marec, What I did with my oversized Sausalito was cut it down the middle and turned the cut edges and hemmed them. It made a very cute jacket that was much more wearable than the top.
10/24/10 11:22 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. I don't think I have ever seen this pattern before. I love the quilted fabric. Whatever you use it for, it looks great on you. I'm curious about the double overcasting stitch. Was is done on your sewing machine or serger. I don't have a serger, so I'm always interested in other ways to finish seams.
11/4/10 12:44 PM
cloudyhn said...
I Love the loose style for quilted fabric. You make me feel warm and cozy just by looking at your photo :)
11/6/10 9:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-114

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
McCall's 6271

photo
by: Crys0904

Review