Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2460 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 235 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/10 2:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Totally cute Anita. I love it-let's trade patterns when we are done in November!! :-) Let's see, details...love the neckline and I think you got very close to the Lydia. Love the fabric you used. Love the length on your long, lean frame. The belt issue is always a cunundrum, isn't it? I like option 1 or 3. Option 2 looks too predictable to me. This is fun, but aren't you running out of closet space? I'm taking a break!
10/21/10 3:59 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a great dress! I like the belt low and at the empire line. The empire line is youthful, and the low belt is a casual evening look. Love that fabric choice too!
10/21/10 4:05 PM
MNBarb said...
I really like the way this dress fits you, especially in the neck, arm and shoulder area. I just don't know about the belt. I'm not sure the low belt is as flattering but they all look good.
10/21/10 4:33 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! I love tropical prints. It works best without a belt, in my opinion.
10/21/10 6:38 PM
Renren said...
Option 3 on the belt is the best, IMO. Option1, uh uh. Option 2, maybe. But 3 is, hands down, the best. But no belt might work, too? I love the fabric and the flow of the pattern and a belt tends to make the eye stop. Lovely--wish I could wear something like that!
10/21/10 8:34 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Your dress looks fabulous on you!
10/22/10 1:15 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I like all three options - and you look like a slip of a girl to me so can carry off all of them.
10/22/10 7:57 AM
JEF said...
I think your dress is very pretty and looks great on you. You're getting plenty of variety of opinions about the belt so here's mine: options 1 and 3 are very nice looking, no belt is just fine, option 2 is my least favorite but it's not bad just not my favorite.
10/22/10 10:03 AM
waltzqueen said...
A sweet dress on your fabulous figure! I like the fabric and all of your alterations, the dress looks very good on you. I vote for the below waist belt 1st for casual glamour, and just above waist for a slightly more business like look. You are do lucky to have the figure to wear this style!
10/22/10 11:14 AM
cloudyhn said...
You look lovely in this dress, fit nice on you...
10/22/10 11:46 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Thanks everyone for all the nice comments and for the helpful opinions about the waist belt. From the general consensus, I will rule out the "at the waist" option, and probably stick with a casual tie belt at the hip.
10/22/10 8:51 PM
maryfrana said...
Ah, the perfect dress. Love the belt below the waist. Knits can make you feel like you are in pajamas for the comfort factor, but this is so dressed up! Love the fabric.
10/23/10 12:21 PM
Hilary said...
This dress looks so great on you!! I love it, without the belt-but I agree with the consensus, below the waist looks the best of the 3 belt options. I really think it looks great without the belt, to, though! Anyway it really turned out beautifully!
11/4/10 9:12 AM
Angelavenger said...
Very pretty dress. I think the empire look is very flattering for you. Loved the review.
12/7/10 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Butterick 5435 APRONS
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 1/11/11
Read Review

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2817
photo
Review by engk916 on 10/26/13
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us