Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1213 (Misses' Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1698 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/10 5:22 PM
Last Updated:10/21/10 5:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GodsgirlT said...
You didn't.....you didn't! I saw this pattern, looked at it for a SPLIT second and kept flippin' pages - lol. It just looked complicated. Love the fact that you made it in a denim blend! I'm impressed! Nice work!
10/21/10 5:31 PM
EleanorSews said...
Yes!!! You did such a wonderful interpretation of this pattern. It is a fun design. Thank you!!
10/21/10 5:43 PM
michellep74 said...
I LOVE what you did with this pattern to make it your own! I was one of those who thought it was too arty in the catalogue, but I really love your version. So cute!
10/21/10 5:59 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
What a gorgeous coat! I love it, especially the buttonhole treatment and the serpentine vertical stitching. Wow!
10/21/10 6:08 PM
sewing addict said...
Your's is so much better looking than the pattern envelope. I saw it when it first appeared and didn't give it a second thought. You did a wonderful imaginative version.
10/21/10 6:13 PM
kkkkaty said...
wow, good for you! Others more fainthearted have run from this pattern, but after they see your wonderful version, they"ll be eating crow.... great work!
10/21/10 6:17 PM
ggf2005 said...
your interpretation of this coat is so much better than what's on the pattern envelope. there's just too much going on with the scallops and different fabrics that just seems like overkill...but you have made the overdone into something fabulous
10/21/10 6:26 PM
DorothyK said...
OMG. You sewed this so fast! It's fantastic. This has got to me the most fun pattern I've seen in a long time. I love your version of the pattern and am looking forward to seeing what else you come up with. I can't wait to make it myself.
10/21/10 6:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
Sensational! I love what you did with this pattern.
10/21/10 6:45 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your version of this coat is outstanding!
10/21/10 6:56 PM
Renren said...
Oh, my gosh, this is so beautiful and artistic! I want to sew one but I know I can't yet!!! I love it and that scarf you are wearing is perfect for the denim. Wow, wow, wow!!! (After selecting "Very Helpful," I noticed you are Advanced. Of course you are Advanced!!! I'll never be able to make this--oh, well, I'll enjoy yours.)
10/21/10 7:13 PM
moushka said...
Superb, stunning, fantastic! Your version of this pattern rocks! You are so creative. Love it :)
10/21/10 7:32 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!!!! You TOTALLY rocked this coat. You are my idol!
10/21/10 7:55 PM
Lilibet said...
Brilliant interpretation. I like Vogues version too but it's too distinctive to wear often. Yours is more casual but still special.
10/21/10 8:09 PM
Mermie said...
Gorgeous!
10/21/10 8:35 PM
MNBarb said...
You made the funky coat! Good for you. I like the way you tamed the fins. I love to topstitch and am drooling over all of your lovely stitching. You took a fun pattern and made it better!
10/21/10 9:10 PM
Kathelaine said...
This is fabulous!!
10/21/10 9:43 PM
marec said...
You are the stegosaurus queen! I cannot believe you did this and didn't let on at all. The coat is beautiful, the style fits you perfectly (you look great with that length...keep doing it) and the topstitching without the scallops is just right. You are my sewing hero.
10/21/10 9:50 PM
Kayseri said...
Terrific coat
10/21/10 10:23 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - very special - a for sure head turner because of all the special touches you added. Am sure you could not buy this in RTW unless you had $$$$++!I love it!!
10/21/10 11:10 PM
Terri A said...
I love it and am so happy you made this coat! It looks very complex- you did a great job! I think stitching the scallops is the perfect solution if you don't want the dramatic flair. This coat looks really intriguing!
10/21/10 11:52 PM
dingyadi said...
Fantastic! It looks fabulous. The Vogue version was a bit offputting but you obviously saw past that to great lines and details - the buttonholes are just wonderful!
10/22/10 0:04 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT coat! I loved this pattern the MINUTE I saw it, and sat here like a HAWK waiting for the next Vogue sale so I could add it to my collection. Your coat is an INSPIRATION! :o)
10/22/10 0:44 AM
lesliez said...
Fantastic! I love all the changes you made. It looks great in a single fabric. Can't wait to see what you do with it for coat number 2.
10/22/10 1:45 AM
joanico said...
OMG!!! I love it! What a wonderful coat!
10/22/10 3:52 AM
lamstu said...
I liked this coat in the catalogue (although maybe not to wear) and I like your version too. Really inspired use of pattern, fabric, and workmanship combine for a wearable, one-of-a-kind piece. Thanks for explaining your FBA process - starting to get my head around this myself and I think you've added another part of the puzzle!
10/22/10 4:53 AM
Tarrbaby said...
WOW-this coat pattern was on my must buy list and wasn't sure I would do anything with it other than collect it, but now it's on my must sew list. Fantastic Job.
10/22/10 7:22 AM
Tarrbaby said...

10/22/10 7:22 AM
betty bushwacker said...
speechless! Love it! Should I.....??
10/22/10 8:34 AM
Morisot said...
Fabulous interpretation. Looks great.
10/22/10 8:47 AM
Erica B. said...
I didn't think it could be done. But you really made that coat look fabulous! Beautiful job!
10/22/10 9:01 AM
Erica B. said...
I didn't think it could be done. But you really made that coat look fabulous! Beautiful job!
10/22/10 9:01 AM
Andreahg said...
Your coat is BEAUTIFUL!!!!
10/22/10 9:03 AM
Catbird said...
You've done an amazing job on this, transforming an almost too distinctive coat into something so wearable and cool I'll bet you don't want to take it off! You must be flooded with compliments when you wear this. I love it and also love your enthusiasm for it. What a great review!
10/22/10 9:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! This is simply amazing!
10/22/10 12:30 PM
Kathy in NM said...
What a great coat! When I saw this pattern I thought of dinosaur ridges.... I love how you folded them down and topstitched!!!
10/22/10 4:23 PM
Susee said...
You did what Koos van den Akker should have done to begin with. You made it both beautiful and wearable. I love the stegasaurus stuff topstitched down and your choice of denim. It looks fabulous on you!
10/22/10 7:57 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks fabulous, original and a lot of work, especially the scallops. Congrats!
10/23/10 6:54 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, wow, wow! I love your version. It looks fabulous and fits you perfectly. Well done!
10/23/10 6:01 PM
Karendee said...
You are just amazing in every way. This coat is so trendy and well thought out.
10/23/10 7:46 PM
spiritualfashionista said...
Great job! I love the way it turned out and that you used only one fabric. I can't wait to see your version with the multiple fabrics. This will have to be on my to do list, because this is a coat that one could love for a long time.
10/23/10 9:29 PM
Restart06 said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I loved this pattern when I saw it, but haven't been anywhere to purchase it. Thanks and enjoy!
10/24/10 3:51 PM
noodlesew said...
Love the denim take... and the flat scallops. I fell in love with the pattern at first sight! Now I see this review, I can't wait to start sewing.
10/28/10 10:02 PM
Hilary said...
What a fantastic coat! It looks great on you and you do amazing work :o)
11/4/10 9:14 AM
PattyU said...
Wow! I love this on you. You did a great job.
11/5/10 10:56 AM
cgHipp said...
I just saw this review, and since I'm the one who dubbed it the "Stegosaurus Coat," I have to chime in and eat my words (as I knew I eventually would have to) and say you did a fabulous job interpreting this pattern! Your version is just the way I would like to make it, using the pattern for its texture and making the scallops flat. Because you mentioned you're going to do another version with contrast fabrics, I'm wondering what it would look like to have tiny contract piping along the scalloped edge, or to make that edge two-layered with a contrast border showing. But I adore the one-color version you made and it most definitely does NOT look like a craft project - it looks fabulous!
11/6/10 8:44 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Love love LOVE it! Off to check out your blog!
11/6/10 10:35 AM
JillyBe said...
I'm one of the weird few who has been intrigued by this pattern since first look (although I wouldn't make or wear it as is either) - thank you for taking the leap & sewing your version; it looks fabulous!
11/6/10 6:23 PM
Ecrulace said...
I actually prefer this look to the one shown on the pattern envelope... but then the pic on the pattern might be fun to make too!
2/15/11 8:14 AM
Monabel said...
Your modifications inspired me to make this, all in a dark green wool, fully lined, and without the buttonholes. I just love the result, and thank you for showing the way!
3/20/11 10:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6463 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by Riversmock... on 10/13/13
Read Review

Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 2003 Cooper
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/15/14
Read Review

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us