SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1213 (Misses' Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1703 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 91 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/10 5:22 PM
Last Updated:10/21/10 5:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VirginiasDghter said...
You didn't.....you didn't! I saw this pattern, looked at it for a SPLIT second and kept flippin' pages - lol. It just looked complicated. Love the fact that you made it in a denim blend! I'm impressed! Nice work!
10/21/10 5:31 PM
EleanorSews said...
Yes!!! You did such a wonderful interpretation of this pattern. It is a fun design. Thank you!!
10/21/10 5:43 PM
michellep74 said...
I LOVE what you did with this pattern to make it your own! I was one of those who thought it was too arty in the catalogue, but I really love your version. So cute!
10/21/10 5:59 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
What a gorgeous coat! I love it, especially the buttonhole treatment and the serpentine vertical stitching. Wow!
10/21/10 6:08 PM
sewing addict said...
Your's is so much better looking than the pattern envelope. I saw it when it first appeared and didn't give it a second thought. You did a wonderful imaginative version.
10/21/10 6:13 PM
kkkkaty said...
wow, good for you! Others more fainthearted have run from this pattern, but after they see your wonderful version, they"ll be eating crow.... great work!
10/21/10 6:17 PM
ggf2005 said...
your interpretation of this coat is so much better than what's on the pattern envelope. there's just too much going on with the scallops and different fabrics that just seems like overkill...but you have made the overdone into something fabulous
10/21/10 6:26 PM
DorothyK said...
OMG. You sewed this so fast! It's fantastic. This has got to me the most fun pattern I've seen in a long time. I love your version of the pattern and am looking forward to seeing what else you come up with. I can't wait to make it myself.
10/21/10 6:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
Sensational! I love what you did with this pattern.
10/21/10 6:45 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your version of this coat is outstanding!
10/21/10 6:56 PM
Renren said...
Oh, my gosh, this is so beautiful and artistic! I want to sew one but I know I can't yet!!! I love it and that scarf you are wearing is perfect for the denim. Wow, wow, wow!!! (After selecting "Very Helpful," I noticed you are Advanced. Of course you are Advanced!!! I'll never be able to make this--oh, well, I'll enjoy yours.)
10/21/10 7:13 PM
moushka said...
Superb, stunning, fantastic! Your version of this pattern rocks! You are so creative. Love it :)
10/21/10 7:32 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!!!! You TOTALLY rocked this coat. You are my idol!
10/21/10 7:55 PM
Lilibet said...
Brilliant interpretation. I like Vogues version too but it's too distinctive to wear often. Yours is more casual but still special.
10/21/10 8:09 PM
Mermie said...
Gorgeous!
10/21/10 8:35 PM
MNBarb said...
You made the funky coat! Good for you. I like the way you tamed the fins. I love to topstitch and am drooling over all of your lovely stitching. You took a fun pattern and made it better!
10/21/10 9:10 PM
Kathelaine said...
This is fabulous!!
10/21/10 9:43 PM
marec said...
You are the stegosaurus queen! I cannot believe you did this and didn't let on at all. The coat is beautiful, the style fits you perfectly (you look great with that length...keep doing it) and the topstitching without the scallops is just right. You are my sewing hero.
10/21/10 9:50 PM
Kayseri said...
Terrific coat
10/21/10 10:23 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - very special - a for sure head turner because of all the special touches you added. Am sure you could not buy this in RTW unless you had $$$$++!I love it!!
10/21/10 11:10 PM
Terri A said...
I love it and am so happy you made this coat! It looks very complex- you did a great job! I think stitching the scallops is the perfect solution if you don't want the dramatic flair. This coat looks really intriguing!
10/21/10 11:52 PM
dingyadi said...
Fantastic! It looks fabulous. The Vogue version was a bit offputting but you obviously saw past that to great lines and details - the buttonholes are just wonderful!
10/22/10 0:04 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT coat! I loved this pattern the MINUTE I saw it, and sat here like a HAWK waiting for the next Vogue sale so I could add it to my collection. Your coat is an INSPIRATION! :o)
10/22/10 0:44 AM
lesliez said...
Fantastic! I love all the changes you made. It looks great in a single fabric. Can't wait to see what you do with it for coat number 2.
10/22/10 1:45 AM
joanico said...
OMG!!! I love it! What a wonderful coat!
10/22/10 3:52 AM
lamstu said...
I liked this coat in the catalogue (although maybe not to wear) and I like your version too. Really inspired use of pattern, fabric, and workmanship combine for a wearable, one-of-a-kind piece. Thanks for explaining your FBA process - starting to get my head around this myself and I think you've added another part of the puzzle!
10/22/10 4:53 AM
Tarrbaby said...
WOW-this coat pattern was on my must buy list and wasn't sure I would do anything with it other than collect it, but now it's on my must sew list. Fantastic Job.
10/22/10 7:22 AM
Tarrbaby said...

10/22/10 7:22 AM
betty bushwacker said...
speechless! Love it! Should I.....??
10/22/10 8:34 AM
Morisot said...
Fabulous interpretation. Looks great.
10/22/10 8:47 AM
Erica B. said...
I didn't think it could be done. But you really made that coat look fabulous! Beautiful job!
10/22/10 9:01 AM
Erica B. said...
I didn't think it could be done. But you really made that coat look fabulous! Beautiful job!
10/22/10 9:01 AM
Andreahg said...
Your coat is BEAUTIFUL!!!!
10/22/10 9:03 AM
Catbird said...
You've done an amazing job on this, transforming an almost too distinctive coat into something so wearable and cool I'll bet you don't want to take it off! You must be flooded with compliments when you wear this. I love it and also love your enthusiasm for it. What a great review!
10/22/10 9:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! This is simply amazing!
10/22/10 12:30 PM
Kathy in NM said...
What a great coat! When I saw this pattern I thought of dinosaur ridges.... I love how you folded them down and topstitched!!!
10/22/10 4:23 PM
Susee said...
You did what Koos van den Akker should have done to begin with. You made it both beautiful and wearable. I love the stegasaurus stuff topstitched down and your choice of denim. It looks fabulous on you!
10/22/10 7:57 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks fabulous, original and a lot of work, especially the scallops. Congrats!
10/23/10 6:54 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, wow, wow! I love your version. It looks fabulous and fits you perfectly. Well done!
10/23/10 6:01 PM
Karendee said...
You are just amazing in every way. This coat is so trendy and well thought out.
10/23/10 7:46 PM
spiritualfashionista said...
Great job! I love the way it turned out and that you used only one fabric. I can't wait to see your version with the multiple fabrics. This will have to be on my to do list, because this is a coat that one could love for a long time.
10/23/10 9:29 PM
Restart06 said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I loved this pattern when I saw it, but haven't been anywhere to purchase it. Thanks and enjoy!
10/24/10 3:51 PM
noodlesew said...
Love the denim take... and the flat scallops. I fell in love with the pattern at first sight! Now I see this review, I can't wait to start sewing.
10/28/10 10:02 PM
Hilary said...
What a fantastic coat! It looks great on you and you do amazing work :o)
11/4/10 9:14 AM
PattyU said...
Wow! I love this on you. You did a great job.
11/5/10 10:56 AM
cgHipp said...
I just saw this review, and since I'm the one who dubbed it the "Stegosaurus Coat," I have to chime in and eat my words (as I knew I eventually would have to) and say you did a fabulous job interpreting this pattern! Your version is just the way I would like to make it, using the pattern for its texture and making the scallops flat. Because you mentioned you're going to do another version with contrast fabrics, I'm wondering what it would look like to have tiny contract piping along the scalloped edge, or to make that edge two-layered with a contrast border showing. But I adore the one-color version you made and it most definitely does NOT look like a craft project - it looks fabulous!
11/6/10 8:44 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Love love LOVE it! Off to check out your blog!
11/6/10 10:35 AM
JillyBe said...
I'm one of the weird few who has been intrigued by this pattern since first look (although I wouldn't make or wear it as is either) - thank you for taking the leap & sewing your version; it looks fabulous!
11/6/10 6:23 PM
Ecrulace said...
I actually prefer this look to the one shown on the pattern envelope... but then the pic on the pattern might be fun to make too!
2/15/11 8:14 AM
Monabel said...
Your modifications inspired me to make this, all in a dark green wool, fully lined, and without the buttonholes. I just love the result, and thank you for showing the way!
3/20/11 10:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Simplicity 3628

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now