Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8241 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS A) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 642 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Cosso
photo
About Cossostar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/26/10
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/10 8:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Taarna said...
Great job!!!
10/22/10 2:43 PM
Renren said...
Hmm, I'm wondering if Vogue's odd way of doing the casing was to use the seam allowance as the channel for the elastic as on a Burda I sewed? Well, you obviously have the vision and skills to tackle any obstacle in your way as you have turned out a beautiful and alluring dress for your vivacious daughter in a wondrous, vibrant shade of blue.
10/22/10 2:49 PM
marec said...
Gorgeous dress on your daughter!!
10/23/10 0:21 AM
Cosso said...
Renren, yes they did instruct to use the seam for the casing, you're right...were you 'poking' fun at me lol? I thought it strange for a few reasons...firstly, I just thought it would've been easier to cut the dress in LONG pieces as front and back rather than bodice and skirt - mark the casing along a couple of lines at the waist and sew. The joins and seams in the middle added to what I thought was a bit of unnecessary bulk around the waist. Having the join there made the chiffon slip a bit and catch...not difficult to deal with but just had a few bits I had to unpick. Definitely makes sense to put the casing there with the seam, but yeah, a bit bulky in spots.
10/23/10 5:30 AM
Renren said...
Oh, not poking fun, oh, not at all, Cosso! I sewed a Burda tunic which used the seam allowance as the channel and I thought it was a pretty cheap and odd way of doing it, especially since I was sewing on a polyester chiffon and it was fraying itself into nothingness everytime I touched the fabric! I'm sure your way is better. Using the seam must be some "new" technique. If I ever encounter it again, I would definitely try to find another way of getting the job done! (And your daughter's dress is breathtakingly beautiful--I'll bet she received many compliments that evening!)
10/23/10 10:16 AM
Cosso said...
Then we concur Renren...the casing method was dodgy... big time.....hahahaha.
10/24/10 10:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

StyleArc Jacqui Coat Jacqui Coat
photo
Review by sfshaza on 9/7/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Runaround Bag
Runaround Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9025 Dress
photo
Review by lauramae on 6/18/13
Read Review

Butterick 3351 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3351 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us