Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3397 (Skirt, shorts and Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1128 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:TanyaMT
photo
Friend of PR
About TanyaMTstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/04
Reviews written: 250
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 241
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/04 4:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
These are cute, and we really appreciate you posting a pic of yourself (btw, you look good! I know how you feel, lol, I hate posting pics of myself, but it really is for the greater good :oP ) Thanks for the review, I have debated getting this pattern myself, its such a good basic style. Now I may have to get it, sigh...
6/10/04 5:41 PM
Sew it seams said...
Yes, thankyou for posting a picture Tanya. Your shorts look nice and it looks like you did a great job on the zipper application. I missed this pattern last time I looked at the Butterick's. It looks like a good one. Thanks for your review.
6/10/04 8:04 PM
Levone said...
Your shorts turned out nice. I've had this pattern for a while now but haven't used it. Thanks for your review.
6/10/04 9:41 PM
TanyaMT said...
Thanks, that is nice of you all. Definitely try this pattern if you are considering it. It is easy and fast, though I didn't think so when I had never tried this type of zipper before (mock fly). By the second time using the method from the Pants book though it was a breeze. The trick was ignoring the pattern directions. LOL.
6/10/04 11:23 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Your shorts look terrific! I agree, it is hard to find nice shorts "out there" for us real people.
6/11/04 8:18 AM
New2Oki said...
You did a good job on these shorts! That curved hip seam sounds like something I could use. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
6/11/04 2:49 PM
mag said...
Shorts are fun to sew. You did a great job. I hope you enjoy them. I have one or two pairs of RTW, so perhaps I should get going and sew up some.
6/11/04 3:14 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, we appreciate the picture. Reviews always seem more meaningful when there is one. You did a great job; just a litlte snug, which is exactly what you were looking for! Congratulations. And that pattern certainly does fit the "wardrobe builder" category.
6/11/04 4:00 PM
cynthia w said...
Sounds like the book Pants for Real People helped out. I'll have to check it out. Thanks for this good review.
6/11/04 9:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Studio Kat Designs 02100
photo
Review by RenaeA on 3/14/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5666
photo
Review by racehorse on 2/14/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us