SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5520 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 805 times 
Reviewed by:eugenia123
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About eugenia123starstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/6/08
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/10 7:19 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Wonderful work on this dress! I am thinking about making it up and came across your review. You have shown very inspiring sewing and tailoring skills in this lovely llittle sophistocated dress.
1/28/14 2:25 PM
Scheri said...
I lobe this pattern and I love what you did with the sleeves and your inside finish is beautiful. Excellent!
3/3/11 1:22 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very, very nice!!
10/25/10 7:56 PM
becca a said...
What fabulous details! I love the lace sleeves and careful, invisible stitching.
10/25/10 7:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful dress!
10/25/10 5:34 AM
persevering said...
Eugenia, Thank you for completely answering my question. Perhaps that is also why your sewing keeps impressing us as you make your beautiful clothes - your attention to detail.
10/24/10 11:14 PM
dingyadi said...
Wow that is stunning! It is indeed glamorous and luxurious and looks superb on you. I love the fabrics you have used.
10/24/10 10:32 PM
sewmytime said...
Thank you soooo much for clearing up that underlining question for me!
10/24/10 9:53 PM
Christas said...
Euegenia, your dress looks as nice on the inside as it does on the outside! Your sewing is lovely. Beautiful dress!
10/24/10 8:55 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love, love, love it! Simple, elegant, charming....Fantastic job!
10/24/10 6:15 PM
Miss33 said...
Beautiful dress!
10/24/10 5:14 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful!
10/24/10 4:13 PM
eugenia123 said...
Thanks to everyone for the nice comments! To cbowden06 - underlining the lace sleeves was very simple - as you say, I just basted the two layers together by hand just inside the seam allowance then treated them as one. To Persevering - I raised the armholes because I tend to do this on pretty much every pattern I make - I don't like to have armholes that are too low because it restricts my arm movement and I don't like them to gape. I didn't add the shoulder pads because when the dress was finished I just decided that it didn't need them - the shoulders sat fine without pads.
10/24/10 2:50 PM
RLL said...
You certainly achieved 'glamorous'. As well as a few other words.....gorgeous, elegant, beautiful......
10/24/10 1:57 PM
rozzybabe said...
Your version looks better than the pic on the pattern site! Great finishing on the inside is the difference between a so-so sewer & a very particular one! Thanks for all of your reviews.
10/24/10 12:54 PM
Paris75008 said...
Very glamorous! Great fit and superb use of the contrasting fabrics
10/24/10 10:51 AM
persevering said...
Your dress is sophisticated, glamorous, and fits elegantly - quite an achievement! Please explain a bit more regarding eliminating the shoulder pads.... I noticed that you raised the armholes - Is this part the shoulder pad elimination? And do you have to do something with the shoulder itself too?
10/24/10 10:50 AM
marec said...
My goodness, you look so sophisticated and ready for anything in this dress. Wonderful!! I admire the amount of detail you accomplished in the construction of this lovely dinner dress.
10/24/10 10:42 AM
Catbird said...
Well, you're just zooming down the glamour highway and leaving the rest of us in the dust! Peter was right about you and your "casually sophisticated glamour." This is really beautiful inside and out and I love being able to follow your creative progress -- each project seems to bring a new challenge and a new triumph. I love it!
10/24/10 10:19 AM
Lili123 said...
what a nice dress!!!very elegant.
10/24/10 9:23 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your dress is beautiful.
10/24/10 9:04 AM
MNBarb said...
Your work on this dress is superb!
10/24/10 8:55 AM
sewmytime said...
I love this dress! Wonderful work about the underlining as I've never done this before is simply just basting the two layers together and treating as one..Is it that simple?
10/24/10 8:45 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Absolutely beautiful!
10/24/10 8:41 AM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice job!
10/24/10 8:29 AM
cloudyhn said...
So cute, fit you so well and I love it.
10/24/10 7:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6020

photo
by: tiffandrea

Review
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

More Info
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 229046-1002

photo
by: vchan38

Review