Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5520 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 787 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:eugenia123
photo
Friend of PR
About eugenia123starstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/6/08
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/10 7:19 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cloudyhn said...
So cute, fit you so well and I love it.
10/24/10 7:54 AM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice job!
10/24/10 8:29 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Absolutely beautiful!
10/24/10 8:41 AM
sewmytime said...
I love this dress! Wonderful work about the underlining as I've never done this before is simply just basting the two layers together and treating as one..Is it that simple?
10/24/10 8:45 AM
MNBarb said...
Your work on this dress is superb!
10/24/10 8:55 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your dress is beautiful.
10/24/10 9:04 AM
Lili123 said...
what a nice dress!!!very elegant.
10/24/10 9:23 AM
Catbird said...
Well, you're just zooming down the glamour highway and leaving the rest of us in the dust! Peter was right about you and your "casually sophisticated glamour." This is really beautiful inside and out and I love being able to follow your creative progress -- each project seems to bring a new challenge and a new triumph. I love it!
10/24/10 10:19 AM
marec said...
My goodness, you look so sophisticated and ready for anything in this dress. Wonderful!! I admire the amount of detail you accomplished in the construction of this lovely dinner dress.
10/24/10 10:42 AM
persevering said...
Your dress is sophisticated, glamorous, and fits elegantly - quite an achievement! Please explain a bit more regarding eliminating the shoulder pads.... I noticed that you raised the armholes - Is this part the shoulder pad elimination? And do you have to do something with the shoulder itself too?
10/24/10 10:50 AM
Paris75008 said...
Very glamorous! Great fit and superb use of the contrasting fabrics
10/24/10 10:51 AM
rozzybabe said...
Your version looks better than the pic on the pattern site! Great finishing on the inside is the difference between a so-so sewer & a very particular one! Thanks for all of your reviews.
10/24/10 12:54 PM
RLL said...
You certainly achieved 'glamorous'. As well as a few other words.....gorgeous, elegant, beautiful......
10/24/10 1:57 PM
eugenia123 said...
Thanks to everyone for the nice comments! To cbowden06 - underlining the lace sleeves was very simple - as you say, I just basted the two layers together by hand just inside the seam allowance then treated them as one. To Persevering - I raised the armholes because I tend to do this on pretty much every pattern I make - I don't like to have armholes that are too low because it restricts my arm movement and I don't like them to gape. I didn't add the shoulder pads because when the dress was finished I just decided that it didn't need them - the shoulders sat fine without pads.
10/24/10 2:50 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful!
10/24/10 4:13 PM
Miss33 said...
Beautiful dress!
10/24/10 5:14 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Love, love, love it! Simple, elegant, charming....Fantastic job!
10/24/10 6:15 PM
Christas said...
Euegenia, your dress looks as nice on the inside as it does on the outside! Your sewing is lovely. Beautiful dress!
10/24/10 8:55 PM
sewmytime said...
Thank you soooo much for clearing up that underlining question for me!
10/24/10 9:53 PM
dingyadi said...
Wow that is stunning! It is indeed glamorous and luxurious and looks superb on you. I love the fabrics you have used.
10/24/10 10:32 PM
persevering said...
Eugenia, Thank you for completely answering my question. Perhaps that is also why your sewing keeps impressing us as you make your beautiful clothes - your attention to detail.
10/24/10 11:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful dress!
10/25/10 5:34 AM
becca a said...
What fabulous details! I love the lace sleeves and careful, invisible stitching.
10/25/10 7:25 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very, very nice!!
10/25/10 7:56 PM
Scheri said...
I lobe this pattern and I love what you did with the sleeves and your inside finish is beautiful. Excellent!
3/3/11 1:22 AM
slmstyle said...
Wonderful work on this dress! I am thinking about making it up and came across your review. You have shown very inspiring sewing and tailoring skills in this lovely llittle sophistocated dress.
1/28/14 2:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8776 Misses Cape
photo
Review by valkyrie01 on 11/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7834 Blouse
photo
Review by yoshimi on 4/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us