SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 3197 (T-Shirt)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1315 times 
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo

 
 
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 66 (patterns: 53)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/04 1:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sonovice said... (9/14/04 11:03 PM) Reply
Tessa: i understand your disappointment with this top, for one thing, the shoulders run on the large side, you would have to take it off. Excess near the arms may need "scooping" leading to alteration for the enlarged armscyce -- may need to use larger sleeve size to accomodate for all these changes. At the end of the day - love the top, but feel my trial and errors were not worth it. KS2740 or Jalie 2005 are better bet for beginners.
cynthia w said... (6/11/04 9:42 PM) Reply
You are right--easing a sleeve on a knit fabric doesn't sound necessary. Thanks for reviewing even with the bad result. :(
AnneM said... (6/11/04 3:47 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review! It is good to hear about different people's experience with the same pattern. I haven't gotten this one; I do have KS2740, though! That is going to be one of my next projects.
Annika said... (6/11/04 2:02 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review, Tessa. I almost got this pattern the other day, but the store didn't have my size in stock. Now I'm glad I didn't try to track it down elsewhere. I'd love to see a picture of your t-shirt though, so I can see what went wrong.
Hilary said... (6/11/04 1:48 PM) Reply
Tessa, sorry it didn't work out for you! My first time sewing this i put the sleeves in backwards (ugh!) and was too lazy to fix it, lol. The second time I managed to get it to fit (and I did not use facings, but bound the neck w/ self fabric). I had trouble w/ the sleeves also, and Gigi suggested trimming the sleeve/shoulder seam allowances to 1/4" and that made a huge difference. It was much easier to put together after that. That being said, if you already have another tee you like I wouldn't bother trying to fix it either! Thanks for reviewing!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5450

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Pattern Details
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Pattern Details