Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6222 (Children's/Boys' Shirt, Vest a) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 193 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/10 9:18 AM
Last Updated:10/30/10 7:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.16  List Price: $13.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jent said...
He IS the cutest Marine ever! What a little soldier! And what a lot of work and detail in this costume. I'm really impressed!
10/27/10 11:02 AM
bluenines said...
very well done!. wow lots of details on this costume ,great work you are a good mom !
10/27/10 11:42 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Excellent job - lots of attention to detail. Good to know your son will get plenty of wear out of the pants.
10/27/10 12:37 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Great costume! Excellent spin off of the real thing. Nice work Gelbean and.....your handsome little son has a pretty impressive salute!
10/27/10 3:27 PM
MNBarb said...
I know your son isn't going for "cute" with his uniform but he sure is. I think you did a better job of sewing than the uniform manufacturers.
10/27/10 7:16 PM
Annette1 said...
Yes, he IS the cutest Marine ever. :o) I can't imagine that he'll be satisfied with wearing this only ONCE, you've executed it so beautifully. This reminds me of a picture I have of my brother when he was young, when he and his best friend got "GI Joe" outfits. His wasn't camo, though, AND he had a candy cane hanging out of his mouth in the picture (tough soldier)! As for me, I got my cowgirl outfit that year!
10/28/10 1:58 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This and the boy are the cutest ever. I have grandsons and at first glance at the thumbnail thought it was hunting gear. Having all grandsons I have this pattern stashed for a similar idea down the road. My oldest gs is also a size 10 rtw so the comparison was extremely helpful to me.I am most impressed with your set- very nice.
10/28/10 9:32 AM
WL said...
You really paid a lot of attention to the details. It looks amazing.
10/30/10 8:49 PM
marvelous said...
The attention to detail is outstanding. It looks so much like the real thing. I know your son will get lots of use out this beyond Halloween. Bravo!
10/30/10 11:14 PM
craftygamma said...
Wow, that is a great outfit, very well done. It does my heart good that young people now want to dress up as service men & women. Except for the boyish face, he looks like he is a real marine.
10/31/10 8:19 AM
BlossomKyle said...
Holy cow, Bonnie, I had no idea about all of the details! Awesome job and excellent review!
10/31/10 6:35 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, cutest Marine ever. What a great job on the uniform, and on the 'embroidered' name.
11/4/10 6:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns V8581 Vogue
photo
Review by Ruth Desig... on 6/12/11
Read Review

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 222502-1002
photo
Review by moonshae on 10/28/13
Read Review

Butterick 5685 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5685 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4654 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4654 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us