SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2274 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/04 6:57 PM
Last Updated:6/12/04 8:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tinka said...
I enjoyed reading your review and I am interested in seeing the photo of your final result! Thank you for sharing your project with us.
6/11/04 8:19 PM
PVA said...
Londa, thank you so much for this very informative review! I've read some of what you've written here and on the SW site, and was looking forward to your comments on this 'experience'! I love the picture on the pattern envelope and have the feeling that I WANT it!
6/11/04 11:11 PM
jlg said...
Londa, I am so sorry that this was such a problem pattern because I so wanted to make this jacket. Am looking forward to seeing your picture.
6/12/04 5:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
It is a shame that this pattern was so difficult. It looks good from the drawing and I almost ordered it the other day. But I am petite and SW patterns seem to run huge on me. I did not want to try to figure how to adjust the pattern for all the changes I knew I would have to make.
6/12/04 6:37 AM
kathi s said...
Thanks Londa, for such a complete and informative review! I am looking forward to your photo. The picture on the pattern looks so cute and tempting- I won't attempt it now because if *you* had problems, it would be a disaster for me!
6/12/04 9:01 AM
Meredith P said...
Thanks for detailed review, Londa. It's very helpful. I'll be interested to see your photo!
6/12/04 10:43 AM
sewywabbit said...
Congrats Londa! You made it to the finish line! I have been following your thread on this project on your very fun email list. Can't wait to see the photo!
6/12/04 11:14 AM
Georgene said...
Sewing Workshop patterns all seem so oversized and kinda 80's. It's interesting that even the newer patterns are like that. I'm looking forward to your photo to see how you whipped this one into shape.
6/12/04 12:34 PM
xela said...
Very informative review. I too am looking forward to seeing the photo. Thanks for all the information
6/12/04 1:28 PM
Elona said...
What a terrific-looking finished jacket, Londa--and what a huge job to make it work. I can see why you were intrigued: All that unusual dart shaping! But how nice for us that someone as adventurous and creative as yourself was willing to tackle it and tell us what to watch out for.
6/13/04 0:11 AM
sewywabbit said...
Wow I That is gorgeous and a job well done. I love what you've done with the shirt/jacket, but this seems too much work for me.
6/13/04 0:32 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Londa, what a beautiful result! I'm really hesitant to try this pattern, but am totally taken with the photo on the pattern jacket! What a dilema! I couldn't possibly work that thru the way you did. That I know, without a doubt. I do thank you for sharing it all with us. Maybe I'll put it on the back burner for awhile. (Waaaay baaaaack burner 8^D)
6/13/04 2:31 AM
valerie sews said...
For a pattern that didn't work you still ended up with a stunning garment. I am in awe of your talent.
6/13/04 6:40 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Personally, I think your version is much more attractive than the pattern illustration. I really love your use of fabric.
6/13/04 10:37 AM
neveshalom said...
Blessings, Londa. I was almost tempted to buy this pattern, but when I saw your review I decided against it. I think I saw a new Vogue Pattern with the same neckline, so I will try to find that and sew it instead. I do like the lines of the jacket, but am not interested in remaking the pattern to make it work for me.
6/15/04 1:50 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very lovely results. You have a great sense of style.
6/16/04 2:53 PM
Claudia Resch said...
Great review. One SW pattern I'll pass upo. But you always seem to be able to rescue less than perfect patterns AND make them look good! Very nice.
6/19/04 4:03 PM
KarmenG said...
Londa - I am attending a 3 day sewing camp and chose this pattern to work on. Thanks for your lengthy review. I will take your comments into consideration as I prepare my pattern ahead of time. I'll let you know how it works out.
8/9/04 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6026

photo
by: Sister F

Review
McCall's 8358

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now