Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2272 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/04 6:57 PM
Last Updated:6/12/04 8:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tinka said...
I enjoyed reading your review and I am interested in seeing the photo of your final result! Thank you for sharing your project with us.
6/11/04 8:19 PM
PVA said...
Londa, thank you so much for this very informative review! I've read some of what you've written here and on the SW site, and was looking forward to your comments on this 'experience'! I love the picture on the pattern envelope and have the feeling that I WANT it!
6/11/04 11:11 PM
jlg said...
Londa, I am so sorry that this was such a problem pattern because I so wanted to make this jacket. Am looking forward to seeing your picture.
6/12/04 5:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
It is a shame that this pattern was so difficult. It looks good from the drawing and I almost ordered it the other day. But I am petite and SW patterns seem to run huge on me. I did not want to try to figure how to adjust the pattern for all the changes I knew I would have to make.
6/12/04 6:37 AM
kathi s said...
Thanks Londa, for such a complete and informative review! I am looking forward to your photo. The picture on the pattern looks so cute and tempting- I won't attempt it now because if *you* had problems, it would be a disaster for me!
6/12/04 9:01 AM
Meredith P said...
Thanks for detailed review, Londa. It's very helpful. I'll be interested to see your photo!
6/12/04 10:43 AM
sewywabbit said...
Congrats Londa! You made it to the finish line! I have been following your thread on this project on your very fun email list. Can't wait to see the photo!
6/12/04 11:14 AM
Georgene said...
Sewing Workshop patterns all seem so oversized and kinda 80's. It's interesting that even the newer patterns are like that. I'm looking forward to your photo to see how you whipped this one into shape.
6/12/04 12:34 PM
xela said...
Very informative review. I too am looking forward to seeing the photo. Thanks for all the information
6/12/04 1:28 PM
Elona said...
What a terrific-looking finished jacket, Londa--and what a huge job to make it work. I can see why you were intrigued: All that unusual dart shaping! But how nice for us that someone as adventurous and creative as yourself was willing to tackle it and tell us what to watch out for.
6/13/04 0:11 AM
sewywabbit said...
Wow I That is gorgeous and a job well done. I love what you've done with the shirt/jacket, but this seems too much work for me.
6/13/04 0:32 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Londa, what a beautiful result! I'm really hesitant to try this pattern, but am totally taken with the photo on the pattern jacket! What a dilema! I couldn't possibly work that thru the way you did. That I know, without a doubt. I do thank you for sharing it all with us. Maybe I'll put it on the back burner for awhile. (Waaaay baaaaack burner 8^D)
6/13/04 2:31 AM
valerie sews said...
For a pattern that didn't work you still ended up with a stunning garment. I am in awe of your talent.
6/13/04 6:40 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Personally, I think your version is much more attractive than the pattern illustration. I really love your use of fabric.
6/13/04 10:37 AM
neveshalom said...
Blessings, Londa. I was almost tempted to buy this pattern, but when I saw your review I decided against it. I think I saw a new Vogue Pattern with the same neckline, so I will try to find that and sew it instead. I do like the lines of the jacket, but am not interested in remaking the pattern to make it work for me.
6/15/04 1:50 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very lovely results. You have a great sense of style.
6/16/04 2:53 PM
Claudia Resch said...
Great review. One SW pattern I'll pass upo. But you always seem to be able to rescue less than perfect patterns AND make them look good! Very nice.
6/19/04 4:03 PM
KarmenG said...
Londa - I am attending a 3 day sewing camp and chose this pattern to work on. Thanks for your lengthy review. I will take your comments into consideration as I prepare my pattern ahead of time. I'll let you know how it works out.
8/9/04 8:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 3852
photo
Review by DesignsByD... on 5/25/10
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2165
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/6/12
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6739 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6739 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us