SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1058 (MISSES' CARDIGAN AND TANK TOP)

14 more reviews
Viewed 628 times 
Reviewed by:iSewQuiltArt
photo

 
 
About iSewQuiltArtstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/10 4:26 AM
Last Updated:10/29/10 5:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca D said...
The fit is fantastic on this. I never gave this pattern a second look, but am pondering it now. Thanks for the review.
10/29/10 6:49 AM
MNBarb said...
This is just great. I love the fit of the tank. So many tops are REALLY low which isn't the best look for all of us. You made the right choice for fabric, the thinness of it causes a nice drape. Knits are so tricky and this has no homemade look.
10/29/10 7:00 AM
Annette Wright said...
Awesome, I'm always looking for a well fitting tank pattern and the jacket is adorable. The fabric was definitely a good find. Nice outfit you have there and very much something I would wear.
10/29/10 7:29 AM
Paris75008 said...
This is absolutely lovely. The tank is a perfect fit and I love the way you made a twinset with the cardi. Both reviews are very helpful. I'm going out to get this pattern. I've been looking for a good tank / cardi pattern for a while.
10/29/10 12:05 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your tank is wonderful! Lovely fit and thanks for the review describing it. What a nicely different sweater set you now have. Maybe I need to reconsider this pattern because your version is definitely something I would wear. And, it's on sale at JoAnn's this week-end...
10/29/10 4:06 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Well I'd say we can thank Sandra Betzina for the fit of this tank top, all I did was lengthen it by 2 inches. Thanks so much for the nice comments, I really enjoyed making this tank and DH is still commenting this morning how nice it is and he predicts more of these in different colours in my wardrobe soon! I'm always amazed when I set something from a pattern that more or less fits, but perhaps that is the wonder of knit. The more I sew with knits the more I love them, particularly natural fibre based ones such as this.
10/29/10 5:33 PM
Elona said...
It looks as though Ms. Betzina has come up with a winner here! Thanks for all the info about the tank's binding and fit.
10/29/10 8:19 PM
lyndle said...
Great top! I've never had a tank top that fitted without showing all sorts of things but this looks so great on you I might just try this pattern! I like the twinset idea, it's great.
10/30/10 6:19 AM
Sharonspils said...
You have made a great fitting tank and now have a wonderful twinset.
10/30/10 6:20 AM
Renren said...
I've pulled this one several times, just on the verge of sewing it, but the problems others have mentioned with the ties on the cardigan made me put it back awaiting the development of more skills. Yet, you seem not to have had any problems. Wonderful twinset you have achieved here--and I love gray, too, so I am quite smitten with your results!
10/30/10 6:21 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Renren, I was determined not to be beaten with those ties on the cardi, depending on fabric they can be bulky and to be honest the joining section to the top and bottom bodice wasn't very easy and is abit botched in my top I think but you can't really see as the knot pulls the uneveness of the ties out of sight. I think I would make View A not View B next time and not make the double ties next time. They have two outside and two inside pieces, which are reversed for each side and must be mirrored so you do have to pay attention and mark the wrong side or right side of the ties and check you are sewing the right one in place. There are also markings and notches to add so its not too bad, but I did find the joining and dealing with seam allowances tricky where the band extends off the edge of the cardi. However, its still worth the effort I think, and I did find the tank very easy to sew.
10/30/10 7:00 PM
Renren said...
Oh, yay, I see I commented on 10/30/10 and here it is 04/18/14 and I am ready to sew the tank!!! Thanks for a thorough review. I know I will have to lengthen the torso, as you have done, and I'll have to check the dart positioning and I might want to lower that neckline just a wee bit. But I'll cut as is and then make any necessary mods. Thanks again for such a good review to light the way of those who follow.
4/18/14 3:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5147

photo
by: cmarie12

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Stretch & Sew 744

photo
by: Miss Fairc...

Review