SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1215 (Misses' Shirt And Pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 569 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 451
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 116 people
patterns reviewed: 418
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/10 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
I have bought this pattern so I am delighted to see your review. Great sewing and great fabric. I am impressed.
11/1/10 3:19 AM
FreyaStark said...
A stylish and distinctive shirt.
11/1/10 4:12 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, you did an awesome job on this blouse. It looks perfect!! Thanks for pointing out this pattern.
11/1/10 10:20 AM
lamstu said...
So interesting and in such a great color! I'm still trying to decide about this pattern - would love to see a photo of you wearing it, especially the back views.
11/1/10 10:27 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous shirt, those tucks are wonderful and it's a beautiful colour. Can't believe you did bound buttonholes in a hidden placket, but I can see what great practice it would be. Excellent review.
11/1/10 7:42 PM
JETrinity said...
I have looked at this pattern and wondered about the difficulty. I really want to make this and thank you for your comments.
11/1/10 8:16 PM
WJean said...
Glad to see this pattern reviewed. The color is great and if you tell no one about your buttonhole issues, I am sure they will never know! I would like to know something about the fit of this shirt, particularly, through the shoulders. I look forward to your response.
11/28/10 10:15 PM
Marylu said...
Your shirt looks truly elegant. I have been thinking about this pattern (I must say I'm particularly attracted by the pants - they look simple but elegant and I like the idea of the lining instructions being included) but I like the look of the shirt too. It would be a learning curve for me - but maybe worth it. The thing is, I'm 6'1" tall and would have to lengthen the pattern. From your experience of the pattern - would that be feasible?
1/1/11 4:56 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really love this pattern. I just purchased it and can't wait to try it. I am a little intimated by the tucks on the top but will most likely use a muslin first to perfect a few things like the bound button holes, placket, and the tucks. Thanks for a great review!
9/10/11 10:07 PM
PattyE said...
I just made this top last month using an ivory silk crepe. I also thought that the placket instruction was a little confusing since I had just done another project with a similar placket and that one seemed much more straightforward in the instructions. Anyway your's looks great.
10/20/11 7:02 PM
stsimon said...
I agree that the fly-front placket directions are totally confusing. I did this sort of buttonhole application once before and swore I'd never do it again. I have a silk blouse with one and it makes sense for a thin fabric but it's absurd unless you use a plain fabric and want to keep the clean line that focuses on the tucks.
12/4/12 9:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 3503

photo
by: LakesideLa...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now