SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1194 (Misses' Dress)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1282 times 
Reviewed by:Gemaki
photo

 
 
About Gemakistar
GREECE
Member since: 6/23/10
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/10 8:03 AM
Last Updated:11/7/10 1:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said...
beautiful dress! I saw your version on facebook and it made me buy the pattern! Nice job.
12/4/10 9:41 PM
HauteStuff said...
Hi. Just saw that Vogue Patterns facebook page posted photos of this dress. Looks great!
11/30/10 2:18 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I love this on you - it looks fantastic. It does look very comfy, but classy. I've added this pattern to my list!
11/8/10 7:54 PM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Yours looks better than the pattern envelope. Fantastic!
11/7/10 10:55 PM
dragon10 said...
Wow, what a beautiful dress. I'm off to get this pattern. Thanks for the helpful review.
11/7/10 3:15 AM
Gemaki said...
Thanks for all your lovely comments! MarianS, I'm a bit of a newbie to knits so not sure what effect the one way stretch would have but I think AuntieShel is right - the dress really benefits from a drapey knit. The rayon I chose falls beautifully and really shows off the pleats and subtle details. Hope that helps!
11/7/10 1:38 AM
AuntieShel said...
You look stunning in your dress!!! If I may address MarianS to say that I made this dress out of 100% cotton jersey (stretches only across) in my normal size and it came out fine. However, I do think the dresses reviewed here made with a drapier fabric (i.e. rayon or blend) seem to fall better.
11/6/10 8:37 PM
Lili123 said...
super nice dress, it looks classy and comfy at the same time.
11/6/10 7:50 PM
Paris75008 said...
You got an absolutely perfect fit on that dress. Looks absolutely lovely on you. The color is just perfect. Looks really comfortable. I'm sure you'll wear it a lot.
11/6/10 7:33 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful dress, it's just perfect.
11/6/10 3:19 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful! Looks like the kind of dress you will wear a lot.
11/6/10 3:07 PM
carolynw said...
I love the colour and the fit of this dress on you - looks elegant but comfortable - great work
11/6/10 2:49 PM
jewelsew said...
Looks great! Don't be afraid of the hi-round back or forward shoulder alteration...Sandra Betzina's techniques are easy to follow and have made a difference in my fitting.
11/6/10 11:58 AM
Amanda S. said...
Really nice! Looks like a perfect fit to me!
11/6/10 10:54 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... looks so wonderful on you!
11/6/10 10:11 AM
MarianS said...
It's really gorgeous, and looks so comfy! I have some fabric that I want to try with this pattern, but it only stretches across. This pattern calls for 2-way stretch knits only. Do you think I should try it, or is the 2-way stretch essential in this pattern? Your advice would be greatly apprecitiated!
11/6/10 9:10 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
11/6/10 9:04 AM
Lisa p said...
I love your version , I bet you wear it to death !
11/6/10 8:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Jalie 2682

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now