SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1194 (Misses' Dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1271 times 
Reviewed by:Gemaki
photo

 
 
About Gemakistar
GREECE
Member since: 6/23/10
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/10 8:03 AM
Last Updated:11/7/10 1:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa p said...
I love your version , I bet you wear it to death !
11/6/10 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
11/6/10 9:04 AM
MarianS said...
It's really gorgeous, and looks so comfy! I have some fabric that I want to try with this pattern, but it only stretches across. This pattern calls for 2-way stretch knits only. Do you think I should try it, or is the 2-way stretch essential in this pattern? Your advice would be greatly apprecitiated!
11/6/10 9:10 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... looks so wonderful on you!
11/6/10 10:11 AM
Amanda S. said...
Really nice! Looks like a perfect fit to me!
11/6/10 10:54 AM
jewelsew said...
Looks great! Don't be afraid of the hi-round back or forward shoulder alteration...Sandra Betzina's techniques are easy to follow and have made a difference in my fitting.
11/6/10 11:58 AM
carolynw said...
I love the colour and the fit of this dress on you - looks elegant but comfortable - great work
11/6/10 2:49 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful! Looks like the kind of dress you will wear a lot.
11/6/10 3:07 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful dress, it's just perfect.
11/6/10 3:19 PM
Paris75008 said...
You got an absolutely perfect fit on that dress. Looks absolutely lovely on you. The color is just perfect. Looks really comfortable. I'm sure you'll wear it a lot.
11/6/10 7:33 PM
Lili123 said...
super nice dress, it looks classy and comfy at the same time.
11/6/10 7:50 PM
AuntieShel said...
You look stunning in your dress!!! If I may address MarianS to say that I made this dress out of 100% cotton jersey (stretches only across) in my normal size and it came out fine. However, I do think the dresses reviewed here made with a drapier fabric (i.e. rayon or blend) seem to fall better.
11/6/10 8:37 PM
Gemaki said...
Thanks for all your lovely comments! MarianS, I'm a bit of a newbie to knits so not sure what effect the one way stretch would have but I think AuntieShel is right - the dress really benefits from a drapey knit. The rayon I chose falls beautifully and really shows off the pleats and subtle details. Hope that helps!
11/7/10 1:38 AM
dragon10 said...
Wow, what a beautiful dress. I'm off to get this pattern. Thanks for the helpful review.
11/7/10 3:15 AM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Yours looks better than the pattern envelope. Fantastic!
11/7/10 10:55 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I love this on you - it looks fantastic. It does look very comfy, but classy. I've added this pattern to my list!
11/8/10 7:54 PM
HauteStuff said...
Hi. Just saw that Vogue Patterns facebook page posted photos of this dress. Looks great!
11/30/10 2:18 PM
Robin Denning said...
beautiful dress! I saw your version on facebook and it made me buy the pattern! Nice job.
12/4/10 9:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6599

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Marfy 2280

photo
by: Re Becca

Review