SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> LJ Designs> 717 (Ultimate broomstick skirt)

Viewed 1391 times 
Reviewed by:CindyK
photo

 
 
About CindyKstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/04 6:21 PM
Last Updated:6/13/04 6:22 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MomMom said... (10/15/06 8:28 PM) Reply
I found this posting to be very helpful...but I've never heard of the pattern company (LJ Designs). It's put me on a new mission...to find LJ Designs!
SewTabby said... (6/14/04 5:38 PM) Reply
Your fabric is gorgeous. I like the shape of this skirt much better than that of the usual RTW broomsticks that you see. Thanks for the review!
sewywabbit said... (6/13/04 10:05 PM) Reply
Very cool fabric. I used to make Broomstick skirts all the time, but not on a broomstick. I used to scrunch it up while wet and tie it with rag strips at 2-3"intervals, throwing it in the dryer with almost every load for a few days or so.Most of my skirts were cotton. I have seen people do it by pulling the skirt through a cut off pantyhose leg, but it doesnt really get crinkly enough that way.
drsue said... (6/13/04 9:08 PM) Reply
So that's why they're called broomstick skirts! I thought it was because the pleats looked kind of like the straw in a broomstick.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6204

photo
by: janelouise

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 331888-1001

photo
by: sassykat

Review
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details