SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 (Retro '47 Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 637 times 
Reviewed by:JennifeRose7
photo

 
 
About JennifeRose7star
NY USA
Member since: 1/15/10
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/10 4:14 PM
Last Updated:11/15/10 1:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
3HoursPast said...
It looks really, really nice, how does it look on you? I've had my eye on this pattern for a while, thanks for the honest review. Is it possible your fabric choice had something to do with the difficulty, as the pattern is intended for a woven? Anyway, really lovely little dress, well done.
11/13/10 4:51 PM
cloudyhn said...
very cute. You must be very pretty in this dress. I love it...
11/13/10 6:06 PM
Paris75008 said...
Very, very pretty dress. When I made this dress, I found that the bodice pattern needed a LOT of tweaking to get a good fit. Yours came out great.
11/14/10 8:49 AM
bakerk said...
it's beautiful! I'll try it next time in a smaller size. The patterns does seem to be more roomy than desirable
11/14/10 6:56 PM
JennifeRose7 said...
I lucked out. I didn't have to make any adjustments. The fit is really fantastic. Bellelass, I thin my fabric may have made it harder on me because it did have some thickness to it that I didn't perceive when I bought it. It's a headache where all the seams meet under the arms. There are lots of seam allowances piling up in that area and that drove me crazy.
11/15/10 1:56 PM
Terri A said...
It looks gorgeous! That fabric is to die for.
11/15/10 11:48 PM
EMSB said...
Thanks for the great review! I'm still deciding if I will take it on and your experience is very helpful. My last go at a retro pattern still has me reeling, so I will probably wait until I have forgotten that pain :-) Your dress is beautiful and makes me want to try even after being forewarned.
2/1/11 11:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: DorothyK

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-16

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now