SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6071 (Misses' Dresses In 2 Lengths)

1 more reviews
Viewed 342 times 
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo

 
 
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/10 1:21 PM
Last Updated:11/7/10 4:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Darling dress and clever use of fabric. I have spent some time browsing through your blog and am superimpressed with your re-using of fabrics in such clever way. Not only are you sewing with budget in mind, you're recycling in the best sort of way. I'm impressed!
11/6/10 4:22 PM
MNBarb said...
I love all of your dresses. Ooh, especially the blue maxi.
11/6/10 7:42 PM
crazygrad said...
So pretty and festive! I wish I had that fabric to make a blouse for my mother.
11/6/10 9:47 PM
marec said...
What a great dress! I love the retro feel of the black background and bamboo print. Here are my thoughts on your dress-it's lovely and I like the style on you. I would make the skirt a bit shorter to balance the halter top or take it all the way to right above the ankle (I know, kinda impossible now). I also have your fitting issue with bust size. I am between a B and C, depending on my fitness and health. I cut my patterns for a size or sometimes 2 in the shoulders and upper bust, then graduate to a size larger, then another size for my hips. I haven't needed an FBA but could probably benefit if making a very fitted woven blouse. Just my 2 cents.
11/7/10 0:47 AM
mm said...
I think this great dress would look even better if it was a bit shorter.
11/7/10 4:31 AM
Annette1 said...
How CUTE! It looks like a pretty darn good fit to me. ALL of your dresses are so pretty, and you really SHINE in that maxi dress, especially! I too have read the recommendations that you use the upper bust measurement, but I don't do it, to tell you the truth. I'm quite a "busty little number," as my mom would say (38FF), and what I usually do is I cut the neckline and shoulders a size smaller than everything else, AND I make an FBA. Of course, I realize you don't have a neckline or shoulders here, so I'm not of much help!
11/7/10 10:27 PM
cloudyhn said...
you did great job on the dress. I like it a lot
11/7/10 10:36 PM
Patti B said...
Congrats on transforming the skirt into this cute dress. It looks good from here but I do hear you on making changes in the future.
11/8/10 10:45 AM
JillyBe said...
LOVE that fabric, & love the dress too! I concur with everything marec said about fit adjustments (I have similar issues, & make similar adjustments for my body). I also think a bit shorter would have better proportions, but overall I think you did a great job!
11/8/10 3:56 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh wow! pretty everything you make is so super sexy
11/8/10 10:16 PM
KatC83 said...
Wow! You look stunning in that dress. All your fitting, cutting and altering has paid off!
11/9/10 2:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: colormefun

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6519

photo
by: saranoemi

Review