Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1208 (Misses' /Misses' Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1022 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:PetitePear
photo
About PetitePear
Member since: 6/10/10
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/10 4:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bettimon said...
What a cute dress! It sounds like it gave you considerable trouble, but it really is CUTE! Love the way the bias cut makes it look on you. Very flattering.
11/6/10 6:33 PM
Mel.J said...
You did a great salvage job, it's definitely both cute & wearable. You've achieved a flattering shape (which sounds like it took a lot of effort for a simple dress). You could make it again without the bow, just make both sides the same by cutting the front pattern piece on the fold. I think that would make a lovely wardrobe basic.
11/6/10 7:58 PM
crazygrad said...
Really pretty, and those shoes are gorgeous!
11/6/10 8:28 PM
NC Carol said...
Cute! I just bought this pattern today and was wondering if it ran big/small or what. It looks like a good, quick dress for the holidays. Thanks for the info!
11/6/10 10:09 PM
Elona said...
It really is a cute dress with a beautiful hang! If, as Mel.J says, you were to omit the bow, you would have the all time classy little T-shirt dress, the kind people would look at and think, "Why the heck does that simple dress look so terrific on her??"
11/7/10 3:05 AM
Christas said...
I tried to buy this pattern at the Hancock's sale today and they were OUT. Your dress looks beautiful and I really like your fabric choices a lot!
11/7/10 11:07 PM
PetitePear said...
Thank you so much for all the kind comments. I really appreciate it. I have been thinking about making the dress symmetrical like the right side (extended shoulder w/o bow and gather) but, looking at the pattern piece, I don't think it's possible to do that on the fold. The line that indicates center-front at the neckline is not the same as the line that bisects the waist/hip/hemline. I think it's because the gather from the left side extends all the way to the right and acts like a dart there. So I'd have to do fancy dart rotation and end up with a dart or gather or pleat somewhere on the right side. That's beyond my ability at this point but maybe one day!
11/8/10 2:09 PM
JETrinity said...
Congratulations on your first review. You did a great job.
11/11/10 9:42 AM
smwknits said...
Beautiful dress! I've been thinking of doing this as a top in red silk charmeuse to wear with black pants.
12/19/10 1:23 PM
Fictionfan said...
Pretty dress! 1) One suggestion for the future when petite-ing a pattern: When you size the pattern down, for the pieces like the bow that are the same for all sizes, the feature may look too large for the smaller size you are making, so it may be a good idea to size those pieces down just a bit as well. The same advice goes for when a pattern is enlarged a lot. The extras look best when in proportion to the size of the garment and the person. Actually, I've done this for patterns that I've shortened a lot, even when the size around isn't changed much. One size fits all doesn't always look fantastic even when it works for the construction. It's worth experimenting to get the right proportions. 2) In answer to your question about the jersey and lengthwise or bias: knits can be very interesting when cut on bias, and all jerseys are not stretchy in one or both directions, nor do they all have good recoverability back to the original state when stretched. I've worked with some jerseys that are quite stable, and are best to be cut as if they are wovens. 3) Your rolled hems look just fine. No hemmer foot goes over seams well. I always stop just before and restart just after the seams rather than try to get the foot to accept the seam. 4) Great job on this dress, especially for a beginner! Bias cuts can be tricky, but they drape so nicely!
12/19/10 3:43 PM
ShelBr said...
This dress looks fab on you. Side seams - don't stand still too long for anyone to notice. I believe that a little stretch when sewing bias side seams is necessary. Maybe you will have to make a jacket with an adjusted neckline! Would a knit bolero style (can't think of proper name) work? Or a thin skivvy/sweater worn underneath. Belted would make another look. Hmm, I should have bought size 12 instead of size 14. I wish Vogue would overlap their sizings. As I live in a hot climate I was thinking of making it unlined in cotton fabric with bias binding armholes, neckline and hemline.
12/29/10 11:42 PM
JennyAnne said...
Thanks for the great review! I bought this pattern and am debating making it up in a pretty, printed charmeuse. I think I'll make the lining first, as a kind of muslin, to see if I like the shape.
1/10/11 9:30 PM
carolbee said...
Thanks so much for this review--I,too, basted the lining and found that it's too tight in bust and much to large in waist and hips. Strange shape!
4/5/11 0:11 AM
NJcowgirl said...
I just bought this pattern and then read your thorough review. Your comments are excellent and well thought-out. The dress is beautiful and looks great on you. I'll be making it also--but not in a size 2 ;>)
7/2/11 7:10 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Very Cute! Nice job.
9/16/11 9:27 AM
snicks70 said...
So cute! Sounds like a lot of effort re sizing and alterations but it looks worth it. This will be my next project thanx to your inspiration
10/20/11 8:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 1/25/10
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-7
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 3/31/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8998 Pattern
Burda 8998 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us