Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8626 (OUTERWEAR) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1080 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 12:56 PM
Last Updated:12/31/10 2:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PittyPat said...
I have used both flannel and Thinsulate as an underlining in coats. I did not quilt either one in - but attached it to outer fabric as an underlining. That seems to work well without adding too much bulk in the sleeve areas. As a trail run, put together one sleeve with the thinsulate as an underlining, slip lining fabric inside and have her slip her arm into it to make sure it isn't too bulky. You may need to narrow the seams slightly to get the right fit. Wonderful fabric selection.
11/8/10 11:53 AM
susiestitcher said...
Even if the Thinsulate seems not much heavier than flannel, I think I might use the flannel in the sleeves instead. With the small size and shape of a sleeve, every tiny bit makes a difference. Even quilting it to the lining will not totally change its loft. Or...you can plan for the extra size and cut the sleeves slightly wider. The fabric and lining are gorgeous. DD will look stunning in this coat.
11/10/10 8:00 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful coat and great color!
12/31/10 1:21 PM
Wino said...
Nice job! DD looks great in her coat. Re: drag lines-there are additional buttons above the bust-are the drag lines still there if those are buttoned? One other possibility is that your DD is short between the bust and shoulder or has narrow shoulders leading to excess fabric.
12/31/10 2:10 PM
Annette1 said...
This is one BEAUTIFUL coat for one BEAUTIFUL daughter. :o) You've done a superb job, and the color is wonderfully vivid.
12/31/10 3:29 PM
Christas said...
Your dear daughter looks great in her new coat. And WHAT a pretty coat it is. I love the color and lining fabric..... so nice!
12/31/10 4:05 PM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful! Simply beautiful! DD looks so happy and...beautiful in her new coat. You did a super job. It must be a toasty warm coat, too. As far as the drag lines -- could she be a bit hollow above her bust (or short between the shoulder and the bust)? If pulling up at the back neck gets rid of the drag line, maybe her shoulders and/or neck are more forward than you have accounted for. The coat is still gorgeous, but I know what you mean about wanting to perfect the fit. I think the high shoulder can be fixed with a thicker shoulder pad on the low shoulder. I have that, too, and sometimes do that. None of that is noticeable though.
12/31/10 5:31 PM
my horse said...
Just a beautiful combination, DD and coat. In spite of the creator's perceived flaws it looks very professional and I'm sure your DD is very pleased with it!
12/31/10 6:15 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
I'm so jealous--a coat in my favorite color. Lovely work!
12/31/10 6:55 PM
tess said...
Wow! What a feat of engineering! Beautifully tailored and a great colour - your daughter looks stunning in it!
1/1/11 6:22 AM
becca a said...
Your daughter is beautiful, and so is the coat. You did a lovely job on the coat. The back pleat is so crisp and neat. Your fabric choices are gorgeous.
1/1/11 8:34 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!!! Stunning coat and daughter!! Fabulous work!!
1/1/11 1:00 PM
yummymummy38 said...
This was a challenging project which achieved it's aims. Your daughter looks beautiful in her gorgeous coat, yet I understand as sewists we are always trying to improve. Well done!
1/2/11 7:39 PM
jewelsew said...
Just beautiful! Good work and problem-solving.
1/7/11 4:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4378
photo
Review by CypGrl on 7/18/08
Read Review

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Jenny Shirt Jenny Shirt
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 9/29/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6425 Pattern
New Look 6425 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us