SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8626 (OUTERWEAR)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1086 times 
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 12:56 PM
Last Updated:12/31/10 2:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jewelsew said...
Just beautiful! Good work and problem-solving.
1/7/11 4:49 PM
yummymummy38 said...
This was a challenging project which achieved it's aims. Your daughter looks beautiful in her gorgeous coat, yet I understand as sewists we are always trying to improve. Well done!
1/2/11 7:39 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!!! Stunning coat and daughter!! Fabulous work!!
1/1/11 1:00 PM
becca a said...
Your daughter is beautiful, and so is the coat. You did a lovely job on the coat. The back pleat is so crisp and neat. Your fabric choices are gorgeous.
1/1/11 8:34 AM
tess said...
Wow! What a feat of engineering! Beautifully tailored and a great colour - your daughter looks stunning in it!
1/1/11 6:22 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
I'm so jealous--a coat in my favorite color. Lovely work!
12/31/10 6:55 PM
my horse said...
Just a beautiful combination, DD and coat. In spite of the creator's perceived flaws it looks very professional and I'm sure your DD is very pleased with it!
12/31/10 6:15 PM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful! Simply beautiful! DD looks so happy and...beautiful in her new coat. You did a super job. It must be a toasty warm coat, too. As far as the drag lines -- could she be a bit hollow above her bust (or short between the shoulder and the bust)? If pulling up at the back neck gets rid of the drag line, maybe her shoulders and/or neck are more forward than you have accounted for. The coat is still gorgeous, but I know what you mean about wanting to perfect the fit. I think the high shoulder can be fixed with a thicker shoulder pad on the low shoulder. I have that, too, and sometimes do that. None of that is noticeable though.
12/31/10 5:31 PM
Christas said...
Your dear daughter looks great in her new coat. And WHAT a pretty coat it is. I love the color and lining fabric..... so nice!
12/31/10 4:05 PM
Annette1 said...
This is one BEAUTIFUL coat for one BEAUTIFUL daughter. :o) You've done a superb job, and the color is wonderfully vivid.
12/31/10 3:29 PM
Wino said...
Nice job! DD looks great in her coat. Re: drag lines-there are additional buttons above the bust-are the drag lines still there if those are buttoned? One other possibility is that your DD is short between the bust and shoulder or has narrow shoulders leading to excess fabric.
12/31/10 2:10 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful coat and great color!
12/31/10 1:21 PM
susiestitcher said...
Even if the Thinsulate seems not much heavier than flannel, I think I might use the flannel in the sleeves instead. With the small size and shape of a sleeve, every tiny bit makes a difference. Even quilting it to the lining will not totally change its loft. Or...you can plan for the extra size and cut the sleeves slightly wider. The fabric and lining are gorgeous. DD will look stunning in this coat.
11/10/10 8:00 AM
PittyPat said...
I have used both flannel and Thinsulate as an underlining in coats. I did not quilt either one in - but attached it to outer fabric as an underlining. That seems to work well without adding too much bulk in the sleeve areas. As a trail run, put together one sleeve with the thinsulate as an underlining, slip lining fabric inside and have her slip her arm into it to make sure it isn't too bulky. You may need to narrow the seams slightly to get the right fit. Wonderful fabric selection.
11/8/10 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now