Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-118 (Armani knockoff coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 460 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/10 9:36 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kremmer said...
Thank you for the warning! I had been looking at this pattern but now I will stay well clear of it.
11/8/10 10:33 AM
persevering said...
How kind of you to post about this! Thank you.
11/8/10 11:11 AM
michellep74 said...
It's really nice and helpful to post warnings like these! I'm glad you saved your Burbury coating--hopefully you'll save someone else's coating, too!
11/8/10 11:14 AM
annie11 said...
Thank you so much for the warning! I was eyeing this one, but no more.
11/8/10 12:02 PM
MNBarb said...
I wish everyone photographed their wadders and posted them. It would make the review gallery even more wonderful.
11/8/10 12:24 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
I loved this too when I got the Burda issue - but I can see now it would be a disaster for me (I'm only 5'4"). Thank you for saving the hours of just tracing out the pattern pieces alone. As somebody else has already said - we should put in our fails too - I will definitely start doing this
11/8/10 12:46 PM
carolynw said...
I bet you are thanking your lucky stars you made a muslin - the picture in the magazine looks great but I can see from your experience this is one more time when a pattern just does not live up to expectations. I made a top from a Vogue pattern the other day and am too embarrassed to show the photos - I should to prevent someone else getting into this situation - just will say my pattern ended up in the garbage - the muslin is still around somethere so may follow your lead s it is good to know when a pattern is going to be a complete wadder
11/8/10 2:49 PM
BillieJean said...
I hope #117 is better because I've really been wanting to make it. Will you review your muslin once you've changed it?
11/8/10 3:22 PM
Kayseri said...
This coat didn't apeal to me but I wouldn't expect it to look so awful made up. Thanks for the review.
11/8/10 3:49 PM
squirrellypoo said...
BillyJean - yeah for jacket #117 I'll either review the muslin (if it's bad) or the final garment (if it's good)
11/8/10 4:31 PM
dingyadi said...
That is such a pity! Gosh, where does the Burda patternmaker think women's shoulders are? Your review is very helpful, will be avoiding this one but looking forward to your review of the jacket.
11/9/10 3:55 AM
Karine said...
I loved this coat when I saw it in the magazine, too. So sorry it turned out to be a dud, but glad you didn't start with that beautiful coating!
11/9/10 5:55 AM
animaldream said...
I am really astonished about this failed project! First of all, I appologize for my bad English and many faults in my writing. But this matter is too interesting that I mus write some words about it. First of all, I am not very big (168cm) and normally I am wearing size 36. So I made this pattern in the smallest size and alterated in one size smaller again. (Burda starts with 76 and so I made it in 72) I didnīt take the original fabric, I want to make this coat out of, but i took a chequered woolen fabric for trying. The original fabric I want to take for this coat is an uni one. My coat looks so different from your muslin and beside the chequered fabric which I never would use for this pattern, it doesnīt look so bad. If you want I can put some pictures in but I donīt know where I can do it in this moment. I didnīt put the zippers in. This I will do when I sew the original. But for the pockets I will take plastic zippers and even for the big front zipper I have bought a plastic zipper with big plastic teeth which you can open from two sides (two way zipper). I am astonishes that the back is so different to your one. I love how it looks. It is more or less a straight form, lightly o-form. The sleeves are too long, yes, but I have just a seem of some centimeters. For me the collar was too short! I alterated it and made it a little bit too high. But in the original I defenately will give a little bit more high than the pattern shows. I didnīt put in the pockets because it is not necessary for this sample coat. In the front the sides are more closed. The open edge is smaller, just like the Burda foto shows. I think you have made it one or one and a half size too big and out of the wrong sample fabric. The muslin is too thin for this pattern and I am quite sure you will be very astonished how the coat will look, cutting it smaller and out of a different fabric. I still love this pattern but only for one colour fabrics. You will never get the corners so well done that they are exactly equal. With greetings from Germany
11/9/10 6:50 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Thanks for sharing that even seasoned seamstresses find wadders every now and then.
11/9/10 6:56 AM
petro said...
I liked the muslin on you because of the high collar, and diagonal down the front, the sleeves and drop shoulder looked as though they were oversized for you - I'm kind of sorry you didn't hack the muslin around to get it to work for you. Not explaining this very well, I mean the good parts looked worth saving. Anyway, thanks for an interesting review.
11/9/10 4:45 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and thanks for the heads-up! This reminds me of an Issey Miyake coat I made one time. Whenever my mom wants a good laugh, she just finds the picture I sent of her with me wearing it, arms extended, disgusted look on my face. :o)
11/9/10 11:00 PM
fuzzygalore said...
No wonder you're having so much trouble. I'm 5'8" and that's precisely the height for ordinary Burda patterns. You should only make a tall if you're hovering around 6 feet. So don't be surprised if the dropped sleeves hang to your elbows and the sleeves down to your knees :-). Not to mention any shaping would be grossly misplaced, whether bust, waist or hip. If you insist on making tall Burda patterns, you should first take out all the extra length in the right places, like this http://www.burdastyle.com/techniques/burda-pattern-alteration-for-petites as if you were short :-).
11/10/10 8:39 AM
ChristineX said...
Great review. I like all the comments other users are making, also.
11/24/10 4:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6405
photo
Review by slanden99 on 1/24/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
photo
Review by Trinity. on 10/24/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us