SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-118 (Armani knockoff coat)

Viewed 462 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/10 9:36 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kremmer said...
Thank you for the warning! I had been looking at this pattern but now I will stay well clear of it.
11/8/10 10:33 AM
persevering said...
How kind of you to post about this! Thank you.
11/8/10 11:11 AM
michellep74 said...
It's really nice and helpful to post warnings like these! I'm glad you saved your Burbury coating--hopefully you'll save someone else's coating, too!
11/8/10 11:14 AM
annie11 said...
Thank you so much for the warning! I was eyeing this one, but no more.
11/8/10 12:02 PM
MNBarb said...
I wish everyone photographed their wadders and posted them. It would make the review gallery even more wonderful.
11/8/10 12:24 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
I loved this too when I got the Burda issue - but I can see now it would be a disaster for me (I'm only 5'4"). Thank you for saving the hours of just tracing out the pattern pieces alone. As somebody else has already said - we should put in our fails too - I will definitely start doing this
11/8/10 12:46 PM
carolynw said...
I bet you are thanking your lucky stars you made a muslin - the picture in the magazine looks great but I can see from your experience this is one more time when a pattern just does not live up to expectations. I made a top from a Vogue pattern the other day and am too embarrassed to show the photos - I should to prevent someone else getting into this situation - just will say my pattern ended up in the garbage - the muslin is still around somethere so may follow your lead s it is good to know when a pattern is going to be a complete wadder
11/8/10 2:49 PM
BillieJean said...
I hope #117 is better because I've really been wanting to make it. Will you review your muslin once you've changed it?
11/8/10 3:22 PM
Kayseri said...
This coat didn't apeal to me but I wouldn't expect it to look so awful made up. Thanks for the review.
11/8/10 3:49 PM
squirrellypoo said...
BillyJean - yeah for jacket #117 I'll either review the muslin (if it's bad) or the final garment (if it's good)
11/8/10 4:31 PM
dingyadi said...
That is such a pity! Gosh, where does the Burda patternmaker think women's shoulders are? Your review is very helpful, will be avoiding this one but looking forward to your review of the jacket.
11/9/10 3:55 AM
Karine said...
I loved this coat when I saw it in the magazine, too. So sorry it turned out to be a dud, but glad you didn't start with that beautiful coating!
11/9/10 5:55 AM
animaldream said...
I am really astonished about this failed project! First of all, I appologize for my bad English and many faults in my writing. But this matter is too interesting that I mus write some words about it. First of all, I am not very big (168cm) and normally I am wearing size 36. So I made this pattern in the smallest size and alterated in one size smaller again. (Burda starts with 76 and so I made it in 72) I didnīt take the original fabric, I want to make this coat out of, but i took a chequered woolen fabric for trying. The original fabric I want to take for this coat is an uni one. My coat looks so different from your muslin and beside the chequered fabric which I never would use for this pattern, it doesnīt look so bad. If you want I can put some pictures in but I donīt know where I can do it in this moment. I didnīt put the zippers in. This I will do when I sew the original. But for the pockets I will take plastic zippers and even for the big front zipper I have bought a plastic zipper with big plastic teeth which you can open from two sides (two way zipper). I am astonishes that the back is so different to your one. I love how it looks. It is more or less a straight form, lightly o-form. The sleeves are too long, yes, but I have just a seem of some centimeters. For me the collar was too short! I alterated it and made it a little bit too high. But in the original I defenately will give a little bit more high than the pattern shows. I didnīt put in the pockets because it is not necessary for this sample coat. In the front the sides are more closed. The open edge is smaller, just like the Burda foto shows. I think you have made it one or one and a half size too big and out of the wrong sample fabric. The muslin is too thin for this pattern and I am quite sure you will be very astonished how the coat will look, cutting it smaller and out of a different fabric. I still love this pattern but only for one colour fabrics. You will never get the corners so well done that they are exactly equal. With greetings from Germany
11/9/10 6:50 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Thanks for sharing that even seasoned seamstresses find wadders every now and then.
11/9/10 6:56 AM
petro said...
I liked the muslin on you because of the high collar, and diagonal down the front, the sleeves and drop shoulder looked as though they were oversized for you - I'm kind of sorry you didn't hack the muslin around to get it to work for you. Not explaining this very well, I mean the good parts looked worth saving. Anyway, thanks for an interesting review.
11/9/10 4:45 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and thanks for the heads-up! This reminds me of an Issey Miyake coat I made one time. Whenever my mom wants a good laugh, she just finds the picture I sent of her with me wearing it, arms extended, disgusted look on my face. :o)
11/9/10 11:00 PM
fuzzygalore said...
No wonder you're having so much trouble. I'm 5'8" and that's precisely the height for ordinary Burda patterns. You should only make a tall if you're hovering around 6 feet. So don't be surprised if the dropped sleeves hang to your elbows and the sleeves down to your knees :-). Not to mention any shaping would be grossly misplaced, whether bust, waist or hip. If you insist on making tall Burda patterns, you should first take out all the extra length in the right places, like this http://www.burdastyle.com/techniques/burda-pattern-alteration-for-petites as if you were short :-).
11/10/10 8:39 AM
ChristineX said...
Great review. I like all the comments other users are making, also.
11/24/10 4:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6025

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
Green Pepper F700

photo
by: thegreenvi...

Review
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now