SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1023 (MISSES' COAT)

4 more reviews
Viewed 438 times 
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/10 7:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Very helpful review!! wow. You look just fabulous and I can't believe it's snowing wow.
11/18/10 9:42 PM
sew2little said...
Snow!! Cute jacket too!
11/18/10 9:59 PM
Kemish said...
Great coat. I like the method you used to add warmth. Looks like it fits well too. Congratulations on a sewing project well done. Nothing beats having a beauitful coat to wear in snowy weather.
11/18/10 10:03 PM
marec said...
Well, you must have ordered snow for your photo shoot! Your coat is so stylish and looks warm. I loved reading all the details of construction. Beautiful coat!
11/19/10 1:48 AM
Tarrbaby said...
great job on the buttonholes, problem solving the buttonholes is one of the perks of sewing. You are keeping your brain exercised. The coat looks wonderful on you. Down state Michigan hasn't had snow yet, but can't wait.
11/19/10 6:40 AM
Rebecca D said...
Amazing. I saw this in person and I can tell you that Donna's work is flawless.
11/19/10 6:41 AM
MNBarb said...
Your coat is beautiful with all of it's details. Great problem solving on the buttonholes for a perfect result. Everything about the coat is just-right. I had a coat similar in style when the loose-fitting clothing of the 80's was the rage and it was so versatile because you could layer any number of items under it and it still fit. You completed it just in time, the snow makes the photo.
11/19/10 7:42 AM
RLL said...
What a great coat! What a great review too! Thanks.
11/19/10 9:34 AM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful coat! Love your bound buttonholes.
11/19/10 9:53 AM
nicegirl said...
Fantastic coat! Sounds like quite the sewing journey but the end result is attractive and sounds very warm.
11/19/10 10:06 AM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
11/19/10 10:23 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments ladies. You truly bring tears to my eyes! It's so nice to have a place to communicate with people who love sewing as much as I do. Thanks again!
11/19/10 10:51 AM
AnitaJJ said...
What a beautiful jacket and a very helpful review. Your photo is excellent too... looks like a professional model photoshoot....
11/19/10 11:19 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
These reviews are so helpful! I am just now putting the lining into Vogue 1023. It is a great pattern, but as a previous reviewer said, it takes for ever! I think I will sew the lining in by machine, too. Just to make it sturdier. I live in Scotland and think this wool jacket will be very useful. I don't think my buttonholes are as tidy as Donnas, however. I added inches to the pattern, as it wasn't going to fit. 2.5 to lengths and some to sides. But, I am 5'8" and not that slim. This jacket hangs beautifully, and would be well worth having a snazzy lining.
11/19/10 12:53 PM
JETrinity said...
Donna, I say yikes to handsewing, also. I missed this at the November meeting. Please wear it.
11/19/10 5:44 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat!
11/19/10 7:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket! Great job on bound buttonholes.
11/19/10 11:13 PM
Annette1 said...
As soon as I saw the thumbnail, I knew EXACTLY what pattern this was! Peggy L and I were just JUST talking about it, in fact. Your coat has turned out just BEAUITUFLLY. I know you'll enjoy wearing this little beauty for years to come. Great review, too!
11/20/10 7:39 PM
lesliez said...
Beautiful! You did a wonderful job.
11/21/10 0:38 AM
gabc said...
This is absolutely stunning. I'm looking through jacket and coat patterns in my stash to try to decide what to make - and I want YOURS :-)
8/11/12 9:32 AM
Lenarciak said...
It's beautiful! thanks for all comments - they will help me in making my own jacket.
10/29/12 5:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 9682

photo
by: amandolin

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now