Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1023 (MISSES' COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 434 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/10 7:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Very helpful review!! wow. You look just fabulous and I can't believe it's snowing wow.
11/18/10 9:42 PM
sew2little said...
Snow!! Cute jacket too!
11/18/10 9:59 PM
Kemish said...
Great coat. I like the method you used to add warmth. Looks like it fits well too. Congratulations on a sewing project well done. Nothing beats having a beauitful coat to wear in snowy weather.
11/18/10 10:03 PM
marec said...
Well, you must have ordered snow for your photo shoot! Your coat is so stylish and looks warm. I loved reading all the details of construction. Beautiful coat!
11/19/10 1:48 AM
Tarrbaby said...
great job on the buttonholes, problem solving the buttonholes is one of the perks of sewing. You are keeping your brain exercised. The coat looks wonderful on you. Down state Michigan hasn't had snow yet, but can't wait.
11/19/10 6:40 AM
Rebecca D said...
Amazing. I saw this in person and I can tell you that Donna's work is flawless.
11/19/10 6:41 AM
MNBarb said...
Your coat is beautiful with all of it's details. Great problem solving on the buttonholes for a perfect result. Everything about the coat is just-right. I had a coat similar in style when the loose-fitting clothing of the 80's was the rage and it was so versatile because you could layer any number of items under it and it still fit. You completed it just in time, the snow makes the photo.
11/19/10 7:42 AM
RLL said...
What a great coat! What a great review too! Thanks.
11/19/10 9:34 AM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful coat! Love your bound buttonholes.
11/19/10 9:53 AM
nicegirl said...
Fantastic coat! Sounds like quite the sewing journey but the end result is attractive and sounds very warm.
11/19/10 10:06 AM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
11/19/10 10:23 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments ladies. You truly bring tears to my eyes! It's so nice to have a place to communicate with people who love sewing as much as I do. Thanks again!
11/19/10 10:51 AM
AnitaJJ said...
What a beautiful jacket and a very helpful review. Your photo is excellent too... looks like a professional model photoshoot....
11/19/10 11:19 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
These reviews are so helpful! I am just now putting the lining into Vogue 1023. It is a great pattern, but as a previous reviewer said, it takes for ever! I think I will sew the lining in by machine, too. Just to make it sturdier. I live in Scotland and think this wool jacket will be very useful. I don't think my buttonholes are as tidy as Donnas, however. I added inches to the pattern, as it wasn't going to fit. 2.5 to lengths and some to sides. But, I am 5'8" and not that slim. This jacket hangs beautifully, and would be well worth having a snazzy lining.
11/19/10 12:53 PM
JETrinity said...
Donna, I say yikes to handsewing, also. I missed this at the November meeting. Please wear it.
11/19/10 5:44 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat!
11/19/10 7:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket! Great job on bound buttonholes.
11/19/10 11:13 PM
Annette1 said...
As soon as I saw the thumbnail, I knew EXACTLY what pattern this was! Peggy L and I were just JUST talking about it, in fact. Your coat has turned out just BEAUITUFLLY. I know you'll enjoy wearing this little beauty for years to come. Great review, too!
11/20/10 7:39 PM
lesliez said...
Beautiful! You did a wonderful job.
11/21/10 0:38 AM
gabc said...
This is absolutely stunning. I'm looking through jacket and coat patterns in my stash to try to decide what to make - and I want YOURS :-)
8/11/12 9:32 AM
Lenarciak said...
It's beautiful! thanks for all comments - they will help me in making my own jacket.
10/29/12 5:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3698
photo
Review by Saint Nolt... on 1/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2007-102 Dress
photo
Review by samiroquai on 6/3/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1547 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1547 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6203 Pattern
New Look 6203 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us