SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1023 (MISSES' COAT)

4 more reviews
Viewed 441 times 
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/10 7:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lenarciak said...
It's beautiful! thanks for all comments - they will help me in making my own jacket.
10/29/12 5:15 AM
gabc said...
This is absolutely stunning. I'm looking through jacket and coat patterns in my stash to try to decide what to make - and I want YOURS :-)
8/11/12 9:32 AM
lesliez said...
Beautiful! You did a wonderful job.
11/21/10 0:38 AM
Annette1 said...
As soon as I saw the thumbnail, I knew EXACTLY what pattern this was! Peggy L and I were just JUST talking about it, in fact. Your coat has turned out just BEAUITUFLLY. I know you'll enjoy wearing this little beauty for years to come. Great review, too!
11/20/10 7:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket! Great job on bound buttonholes.
11/19/10 11:13 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat!
11/19/10 7:32 PM
JETrinity said...
Donna, I say yikes to handsewing, also. I missed this at the November meeting. Please wear it.
11/19/10 5:44 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
These reviews are so helpful! I am just now putting the lining into Vogue 1023. It is a great pattern, but as a previous reviewer said, it takes for ever! I think I will sew the lining in by machine, too. Just to make it sturdier. I live in Scotland and think this wool jacket will be very useful. I don't think my buttonholes are as tidy as Donnas, however. I added inches to the pattern, as it wasn't going to fit. 2.5 to lengths and some to sides. But, I am 5'8" and not that slim. This jacket hangs beautifully, and would be well worth having a snazzy lining.
11/19/10 12:53 PM
AnitaJJ said...
What a beautiful jacket and a very helpful review. Your photo is excellent too... looks like a professional model photoshoot....
11/19/10 11:19 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments ladies. You truly bring tears to my eyes! It's so nice to have a place to communicate with people who love sewing as much as I do. Thanks again!
11/19/10 10:51 AM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
11/19/10 10:23 AM
nicegirl said...
Fantastic coat! Sounds like quite the sewing journey but the end result is attractive and sounds very warm.
11/19/10 10:06 AM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful coat! Love your bound buttonholes.
11/19/10 9:53 AM
RLL said...
What a great coat! What a great review too! Thanks.
11/19/10 9:34 AM
MNBarb said...
Your coat is beautiful with all of it's details. Great problem solving on the buttonholes for a perfect result. Everything about the coat is just-right. I had a coat similar in style when the loose-fitting clothing of the 80's was the rage and it was so versatile because you could layer any number of items under it and it still fit. You completed it just in time, the snow makes the photo.
11/19/10 7:42 AM
Rebecca D said...
Amazing. I saw this in person and I can tell you that Donna's work is flawless.
11/19/10 6:41 AM
Tarrbaby said...
great job on the buttonholes, problem solving the buttonholes is one of the perks of sewing. You are keeping your brain exercised. The coat looks wonderful on you. Down state Michigan hasn't had snow yet, but can't wait.
11/19/10 6:40 AM
marec said...
Well, you must have ordered snow for your photo shoot! Your coat is so stylish and looks warm. I loved reading all the details of construction. Beautiful coat!
11/19/10 1:48 AM
Kemish said...
Great coat. I like the method you used to add warmth. Looks like it fits well too. Congratulations on a sewing project well done. Nothing beats having a beauitful coat to wear in snowy weather.
11/18/10 10:03 PM
sew2little said...
Snow!! Cute jacket too!
11/18/10 9:59 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Very helpful review!! wow. You look just fabulous and I can't believe it's snowing wow.
11/18/10 9:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 4222

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now