Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2895 (Jean Style Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 632 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/10 10:53 PM
Last Updated:11/10/10 9:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Well, I think it looks really nice and I love both fabrics. When I saw the view from the back though I flashed back to Gunsmoke (Matt Dillon, I guess) or Have Gun, Will Travel. So maybe there is something more manly/less feminine about it--but that's probably because a jean jacket is borrowed from the working world of men, i.e., cowboys. And anyway, manly's good. And I don't understand how it could have ended up short, except a jacket like this probably needs to clear the high hip, I would think. It'll be interesting to see how the Jalie compares! Great work! (And I think it looks great--find a way to wear it! )
11/8/10 11:04 PM
Christas said...
What a wonderful jacket. I was thinking how perfect it looked and then got to the part of your review where the jacket was too short. Total bummer. The lining and outer fabrics just compliment each other so well and showcase your very nice sewing. I really hope the Jalie jacket pattern is exactly what you were hoping for!
11/8/10 11:36 PM
marec said...
Oh how disappointing for you. I was stoked to see the jacket in the gallery and then to read it was too short-huh. You did an amazing job on it and someone will be happy to wear it. Maybe a petite, thin friend?
11/9/10 0:41 AM
JillyBe said...
I LOVE the fabric pairings! Do you have a dress that it would work with - something without a break at the waist? Maybe it's worth saving if you just style it in an "outside the box" sort of way; making it dressier rather than just with jeans? It's just so cute......
11/9/10 2:15 AM
lamstu said...
It's so disappointing to have a project come out this well and then not fit correctly. I love the fabric pairing. I have started doing tissue fittings and often problems like too short are apparent then, before the fabric is cut. I have a deliberately short jacket that works well with skirts and dresses, so it may be worth it to give JillyBe's styling suggestions a try.
11/9/10 2:50 AM
newmama said...
I'm sorry it didn't come out the way you wanted it to, the fabrics really are so nice together. I stink at styling, so I have no recommendations, but it sounds like you are getting good suggestions from others.
11/9/10 6:49 AM
Kayabunga said...
You did a super job on this jacket! I also think it will look great on you if you put it over a dress or skirt/top outfit with the top worn out but not in a highly contrasting color. IMHO the James Dean look is really encouraged by the outfit you are wearing with the jacket. Any classic jean jacket will have that effect on a slender female body. Pair it with something a little softer like a flowing skirt and you'll see how totally fab you really look in this jacket. Nice job!!!!
11/9/10 8:20 AM
MNBarb said...
I like the idea of less contrast and am hitting my closet to see what I have. Maybe black T-neck and black yoga pants for an all-in-one color under the jacket. Don't worry all of you "tights are not pants" folks, my yoga pants are of a substantial weight.
11/9/10 8:28 AM
susiestitcher said...
I really like your jacket and am saddened that it seems too short for your tastes. I am completely with you about the short part. I have been looking for something like this and puchased a Connie Crawford jacket pattern, only to later read revews warning about major fitting issues. I saw yours and thought how cute...but I would have to add a million inches probably. I agree with Renren in thinking the jeans jacket is best cut to hit right at the high hip. Maybe a quick tissue fit would help you decide if more length is needed, next time. As much as I want to believe that patterns are based on a standard of some kind, the reality seems to be that some patterns fall through the quality assurance crack! Pair this jacket with a dress or jumper and see what happens. It is too nice to give up on! Great sewing, by the way.
11/9/10 9:20 AM
mhk3boys said...
Your jacket looks so great!
11/9/10 10:55 AM
Annette1 said...
First of all, I'd say you'd better kick the ol' rating up at notch, because this jacket is PERFECT! It's BEAUTIFUL, especially with the coordinating lining. You've got such a good figure, you can easily pull off this shorter style -- although you may not WANT to -- ha! It's so pretty on you, I hope you'll find a way to wear it. :o)
11/9/10 11:38 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket is very cute! Sorry that it turned out shorter than what you wanted, but if you think of it as a cropped jean style, then it is in the ball park. It looks nice both ways you model it and I think it would also look cute worn open with longer shirt or knit top (like a shorter vest over longer top).
11/9/10 12:32 PM
jlsewsew said...
Could you cut and sew a wider band at the bottom to bring it down across the waist on your jeans? I just today picked up a P&P McCalls Jean Jacket pattern and I will learn from your experience to verify the length before I get too far. I am 5'9" with a long torso. I feel your pain...
11/9/10 6:15 PM
mssewcrazy said...
If you can't style it then sell it- lots of petites would kill for that jacket. I am 5'1 so need to put this pattern on my list. Since you are tall you might want to make a list of jacket lengths and always flat pattern measure if not making a muslin. My middle daughter was your height or a bit more and I always used to have to add length to everything. I see a lot of short things now layered over long so I would play with it some- maybe wear open over something fitted and longer? You did a fabulous job with this- very pretty.
11/10/10 7:41 AM
Christas said...
MnBarb, I found a really nice blog that has links on the side bar for figuring out your body type and what looks good on what shapes. You might see if you like their skirt suggestions for your shape. Here's the link: http://www.insideoutstyleblog.com/
11/10/10 9:19 PM
carolynw said...
I too am so sorry this did not turn out exactly as you had hoped - I am with others who suggest you wear this over a dress or skirt - I agree it is a bit boxy and a tad on the masculine side but that aside it looks really nice - definitely a jacket you can wear but perhaps not with jeans. Love the lining!! Hope the Jalie fits better - will look for another excellent review from you on that.
11/11/10 9:07 AM
Catbird said...
Barb, I think your jacket is superb and I'm glad to see that you found a way to wear it that calls attention away from the shortness that you're not happy with. It just needs to be properly balanced and it will look fantastic. It's a great jacket!
11/11/10 8:59 PM
Mushywear said...
I love this jacket! Green happens to be one of my favorite colors. I agree with many of the people who commented about wearing this with a flowing dress or as you have updated it by wearing it with a solid base color. The possibilities are endless and the jacket is so well constructed, it has to be shown off, and not as wall art! Ha ha, I loved reading your review. Take care and enjoy that jacket!
11/13/10 11:53 AM
Lexley said...
Fabulous jacket and one I am about to start. .....Which pattern did you like the best, this one or the Jalie jeans jacket?
7/16/12 11:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1881
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3678
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 10/9/07
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7251 Pattern
Burda 7251 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us