SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2895 (Jean Style Jacket)

31 more reviews
Viewed 638 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/10 10:53 PM
Last Updated:11/10/10 9:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Well, I think it looks really nice and I love both fabrics. When I saw the view from the back though I flashed back to Gunsmoke (Matt Dillon, I guess) or Have Gun, Will Travel. So maybe there is something more manly/less feminine about it--but that's probably because a jean jacket is borrowed from the working world of men, i.e., cowboys. And anyway, manly's good. And I don't understand how it could have ended up short, except a jacket like this probably needs to clear the high hip, I would think. It'll be interesting to see how the Jalie compares! Great work! (And I think it looks great--find a way to wear it! )
11/8/10 11:04 PM
Christas said...
What a wonderful jacket. I was thinking how perfect it looked and then got to the part of your review where the jacket was too short. Total bummer. The lining and outer fabrics just compliment each other so well and showcase your very nice sewing. I really hope the Jalie jacket pattern is exactly what you were hoping for!
11/8/10 11:36 PM
marec said...
Oh how disappointing for you. I was stoked to see the jacket in the gallery and then to read it was too short-huh. You did an amazing job on it and someone will be happy to wear it. Maybe a petite, thin friend?
11/9/10 0:41 AM
JillyBe said...
I LOVE the fabric pairings! Do you have a dress that it would work with - something without a break at the waist? Maybe it's worth saving if you just style it in an "outside the box" sort of way; making it dressier rather than just with jeans? It's just so cute......
11/9/10 2:15 AM
lamstu said...
It's so disappointing to have a project come out this well and then not fit correctly. I love the fabric pairing. I have started doing tissue fittings and often problems like too short are apparent then, before the fabric is cut. I have a deliberately short jacket that works well with skirts and dresses, so it may be worth it to give JillyBe's styling suggestions a try.
11/9/10 2:50 AM
newmama said...
I'm sorry it didn't come out the way you wanted it to, the fabrics really are so nice together. I stink at styling, so I have no recommendations, but it sounds like you are getting good suggestions from others.
11/9/10 6:49 AM
Kayabunga said...
You did a super job on this jacket! I also think it will look great on you if you put it over a dress or skirt/top outfit with the top worn out but not in a highly contrasting color. IMHO the James Dean look is really encouraged by the outfit you are wearing with the jacket. Any classic jean jacket will have that effect on a slender female body. Pair it with something a little softer like a flowing skirt and you'll see how totally fab you really look in this jacket. Nice job!!!!
11/9/10 8:20 AM
MNBarb said...
I like the idea of less contrast and am hitting my closet to see what I have. Maybe black T-neck and black yoga pants for an all-in-one color under the jacket. Don't worry all of you "tights are not pants" folks, my yoga pants are of a substantial weight.
11/9/10 8:28 AM
susiestitcher said...
I really like your jacket and am saddened that it seems too short for your tastes. I am completely with you about the short part. I have been looking for something like this and puchased a Connie Crawford jacket pattern, only to later read revews warning about major fitting issues. I saw yours and thought how cute...but I would have to add a million inches probably. I agree with Renren in thinking the jeans jacket is best cut to hit right at the high hip. Maybe a quick tissue fit would help you decide if more length is needed, next time. As much as I want to believe that patterns are based on a standard of some kind, the reality seems to be that some patterns fall through the quality assurance crack! Pair this jacket with a dress or jumper and see what happens. It is too nice to give up on! Great sewing, by the way.
11/9/10 9:20 AM
mhk3boys said...
Your jacket looks so great!
11/9/10 10:55 AM
Annette1 said...
First of all, I'd say you'd better kick the ol' rating up at notch, because this jacket is PERFECT! It's BEAUTIFUL, especially with the coordinating lining. You've got such a good figure, you can easily pull off this shorter style -- although you may not WANT to -- ha! It's so pretty on you, I hope you'll find a way to wear it. :o)
11/9/10 11:38 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket is very cute! Sorry that it turned out shorter than what you wanted, but if you think of it as a cropped jean style, then it is in the ball park. It looks nice both ways you model it and I think it would also look cute worn open with longer shirt or knit top (like a shorter vest over longer top).
11/9/10 12:32 PM
jlsewsew said...
Could you cut and sew a wider band at the bottom to bring it down across the waist on your jeans? I just today picked up a P&P McCalls Jean Jacket pattern and I will learn from your experience to verify the length before I get too far. I am 5'9" with a long torso. I feel your pain...
11/9/10 6:15 PM
mssewcrazy said...
If you can't style it then sell it- lots of petites would kill for that jacket. I am 5'1 so need to put this pattern on my list. Since you are tall you might want to make a list of jacket lengths and always flat pattern measure if not making a muslin. My middle daughter was your height or a bit more and I always used to have to add length to everything. I see a lot of short things now layered over long so I would play with it some- maybe wear open over something fitted and longer? You did a fabulous job with this- very pretty.
11/10/10 7:41 AM
Christas said...
MnBarb, I found a really nice blog that has links on the side bar for figuring out your body type and what looks good on what shapes. You might see if you like their skirt suggestions for your shape. Here's the link: http://www.insideoutstyleblog.com/
11/10/10 9:19 PM
carolynw said...
I too am so sorry this did not turn out exactly as you had hoped - I am with others who suggest you wear this over a dress or skirt - I agree it is a bit boxy and a tad on the masculine side but that aside it looks really nice - definitely a jacket you can wear but perhaps not with jeans. Love the lining!! Hope the Jalie fits better - will look for another excellent review from you on that.
11/11/10 9:07 AM
Catbird said...
Barb, I think your jacket is superb and I'm glad to see that you found a way to wear it that calls attention away from the shortness that you're not happy with. It just needs to be properly balanced and it will look fantastic. It's a great jacket!
11/11/10 8:59 PM
Mushywear said...
I love this jacket! Green happens to be one of my favorite colors. I agree with many of the people who commented about wearing this with a flowing dress or as you have updated it by wearing it with a solid base color. The possibilities are endless and the jacket is so well constructed, it has to be shown off, and not as wall art! Ha ha, I loved reading your review. Take care and enjoy that jacket!
11/13/10 11:53 AM
Lexley said...
Fabulous jacket and one I am about to start. .....Which pattern did you like the best, this one or the Jalie jeans jacket?
7/16/12 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5649

photo
by: rdlamb

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now