Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3028 (Sweatshirt) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 323 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/10 11:32 AM
Last Updated:11/29/10 5:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Mens - Jackets    Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Nice looking hoodie. I just made a hoodie from a Burda magazine a while back and think I may pick up this pattern instead as I could use clearer instructions. The polarfleece lining and twill tape on hood seam are nice touches.
11/10/10 12:34 PM
marec said...
Love the twill tape use-that is a tip I will keep in mind. This is a great sweatshirt and beautiful work!
11/10/10 1:33 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks. I couldn't find any ready-made twill tape that was the right color (white, cream, brown and black were the only available colors). So I bought about 4" of navy blue cotton twill and made my own. If I were doing it again, I'd buy enough so that I could cut it on the bias
11/10/10 1:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Wonderful review, and your hoodie looks so cozy and inviting, especially with that contrasting lining. :o) BEAUTIFUL WORK!
11/10/10 4:50 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks Annette. It was one of the most complicated things I've ever sewn. Not because lining a sweatshirt is at all complicated (it's not, really), but because I had to figure it out myself, with no instructions, something that doesn't come naturally to me. I still can't believe I couldn't find a single lined sweatshirt pattern, given how popular they are in RTW.
11/10/10 4:59 PM
ButtonFaith said...
You did a wonderful job on this sweatshirt! What a great idea to line it..I never would have thought of that but I may implement that in the future! Great job and great review!
11/10/10 5:43 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very professional! I can't see any mistakes, even though you note that you weren't as careful as needed....Very nice review, too, exactly the information needed for someone coming after you.
11/11/10 4:14 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, your hoodie turned out beautifully! I love the color and the lining, and your stitching is perfect. Well done :o)
11/16/10 8:05 PM
goosegreen said...
Great job..love the lining! I've been looking for a hoodie pattern for my DH & this looks like it. Thanks.
11/29/10 7:01 PM
MNBarb said...
Perfect fit and your stitching looks perfect also.
11/29/10 7:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 2532
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/5/11
Read Review

McCalls 5248 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5248 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1607 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1607 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5669 Unlined jacket
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 9/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us