SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3028 (Sweatshirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 323 times 
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo

 
 
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/10 11:32 AM
Last Updated:11/29/10 5:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Mens - Jackets    Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Nice looking hoodie. I just made a hoodie from a Burda magazine a while back and think I may pick up this pattern instead as I could use clearer instructions. The polarfleece lining and twill tape on hood seam are nice touches.
11/10/10 12:34 PM
marec said...
Love the twill tape use-that is a tip I will keep in mind. This is a great sweatshirt and beautiful work!
11/10/10 1:33 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks. I couldn't find any ready-made twill tape that was the right color (white, cream, brown and black were the only available colors). So I bought about 4" of navy blue cotton twill and made my own. If I were doing it again, I'd buy enough so that I could cut it on the bias
11/10/10 1:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Wonderful review, and your hoodie looks so cozy and inviting, especially with that contrasting lining. :o) BEAUTIFUL WORK!
11/10/10 4:50 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks Annette. It was one of the most complicated things I've ever sewn. Not because lining a sweatshirt is at all complicated (it's not, really), but because I had to figure it out myself, with no instructions, something that doesn't come naturally to me. I still can't believe I couldn't find a single lined sweatshirt pattern, given how popular they are in RTW.
11/10/10 4:59 PM
ButtonFaith said...
You did a wonderful job on this sweatshirt! What a great idea to line it..I never would have thought of that but I may implement that in the future! Great job and great review!
11/10/10 5:43 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very professional! I can't see any mistakes, even though you note that you weren't as careful as needed....Very nice review, too, exactly the information needed for someone coming after you.
11/11/10 4:14 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, your hoodie turned out beautifully! I love the color and the lining, and your stitching is perfect. Well done :o)
11/16/10 8:05 PM
goosegreen said...
Great job..love the lining! I've been looking for a hoodie pattern for my DH & this looks like it. Thanks.
11/29/10 7:01 PM
MNBarb said...
Perfect fit and your stitching looks perfect also.
11/29/10 7:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now