SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8777 

3 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo

 
 
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/10 10:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
What a great tee for kicking around. I love it on you and really, don't see the fit issues you see. Maybe cut a size smaller for the back? Anyway, nice color and cute tee.
11/11/10 11:52 AM
cloudyhn said...
Perfect fit on you. Great work Anita. I saw in one photo you had bamboo trees on the ground , didn't you? Tell me I'm right cause I missed those so much, I loved walking barefeet under bamboo trees' shade, around my dad's hometown village .. crying... :(
11/11/10 12:43 PM
rivergum said...
That colour really suits you, as do all the things you have reviewed lately. You are my icon of an attractive older woman with style! Re the wrinkle above the bust, I have the same problem. I have tried to do a 'bubble' FBA, to no avail. I's love one of the expert sewers to weigh in on that one.
11/11/10 2:41 PM
JuanitaVA said...
You're probably your own worst critic on the fit issues. I think it looks fine, and the color is great on you. Now, I am looking at this on my Droid, so maybe I'm missing something... but I donít think so. ;)
11/11/10 3:29 PM
no7262 said...
It looks really nice on you! Don't be so hard on yourself! If you post your pictures in the Fitting issue section, I'm sure some one will tell you have to fix your issues. Nora :)
11/11/10 3:37 PM
Aroura said...
Great looking top! I think the fit looks great, too. I think a dart in the CB is a fine design element. I've done something similar once, and it looked good.
11/11/10 4:36 PM
Christas said...
Looks great on you! I think you might be being too hard on yourself. I have plenty of RTW tops that the fit is not as nice as the one you have sewn for yourself.
11/11/10 5:00 PM
Kayseri said...
I love the colour and the shape of this Tee. I reduce those back wrinkles by scooping the waist curve deeper on the back peice only, about 1/4".
11/12/10 1:49 AM
MNBarb said...
I don't see the fit issues. This T looks great on you.
11/12/10 10:46 PM
Renren said...
Hmm, well, if it is true that the Big 4 draft with a B-cup in mind, I would say that any excessive length issues that might occur in the front/bodice piece will be used to cover the bustline in your case. As for the back, I think that horizontal wrinkle is saying, hey, there's a surplus of fabric back here and I think I'll just handle it by creating this delightful little roll of fabric. It seems to me you might want to shorten the back piece a little between the high hip and the . . . mid-rib cage? Just fold out 1/4 inch or so on the pattern piece horizonzally across the back. Now the length of the front and back pieces will be different. Do what New Look 6735 does with the longer front piece. From about an inch under the arm over maybe a 3-inch length along the seam, gather that excess length and it will provide more room for the bustline. I made this pattern and loved this feature and someone the other day said she routinely lengthens the front piece so she can do this gathering technique. I'm sure this probably isn't making sense. I have an idea for over the bustline, too, but I'm not as sure about that one. Anyway, believe me, if I ever looked this good in a top, or if it fit me this well I would feel I had achieved sewing/fitting nirvana.
11/13/10 5:30 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Thanks so much to everyone for the nice comments and for the fitting tips. A lot of ideas I hadn't considered: Marec: cutting the BACK a size smaller, franticFashion: a bubble FBA (I have to look that one up), Aroura: a dart in the CB, Kayseri: scooping the back curve deeper, Renren: fold out excess on back and gather on front. What a lot of great ideas to try. Thanks so much to all of you.
11/13/10 7:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Past Patterns 002

photo
by: KiwiWendy

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now