SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (MISSES' TOP)

30 more reviews
Viewed 529 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 6:54 AM
Last Updated:11/12/10 10:47 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
travellersyarn said...
It's a great top - I also love the Liberty knits. I also love the way your reviews are written.
2/29/12 5:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your version is fresh, feminine, and fun! It seems from looking at the envelope that Marcy Tilton patterns are simple to sew, but in fact are tricky. Thanks for your very, very, very... helpful review that provides in-depth details of your experience with this pattern.
11/14/10 11:50 PM
marthamyers said...
I've been tempted to make this one for all the reasons you state. I've made one of the other views and liked it fine. Thanks for all the tips.
11/14/10 5:16 PM
JETrinity said...
I love your fabric because it looks like an Amoeba Proteus. And I am a great fan of Marcy Tilton and have looked at this pattern many a time. What a great job of explaining what you did. Thanks.
11/13/10 8:28 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you for this very thorough review. I plan to make this top and your tips will save me some angst!
11/13/10 3:11 PM
cloudyhn said...
Fit you well... I love the fabric choice too.
11/13/10 11:07 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Your top looks perfect on you. The fit is great. And I love the collar and fabric print.
11/13/10 7:00 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great print too. I have this pattern and was thinking of sewing it, so thank you for the very informative review.
11/13/10 3:50 AM
marec said...
What a beautiful print-I had no idea there were Liberty knits. This is a very pretty tee on you, and I appreciate the efforts you put into a thorough review. I have this pattern and NEVER noticed this view. Go figure...
11/13/10 1:12 AM
Annette1 said...
Another great review, and your top has turned out beautifully. I especially like that neckline. :o)
11/12/10 11:46 PM
MNBarb said...
I don't know what happened with the neckline but wouldn't worry about it since it looks really good on you. It's a fun T.
11/12/10 10:29 PM
lamstu said...
So pretty in this fabric! It looks like a perfect top when you just want to wear a t-shirt, but you have to look polished. Very useful review of the pattern.
11/12/10 8:14 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the closeup on the Liberty--it's a beautiful fabric. Had no idea Liberty was available as a knit. I have this pattern and will perhaps give it a try this winter. Nice top. That business of the sides extending below the back and front does seem rather odd, indeed. Hmm. I'll probably end up doing what you did and evening everything up.
11/12/10 7:57 PM
jannw said...
I like your neckline. Very attractive on you. I'll have to try this version as I've done the zigzag. Thanx for the reminder.
11/12/10 3:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Very nice top. I have been interested in making this top and appreciate your review and information.
11/12/10 11:48 AM
21wale said...
Very pretty top! I do like the neckline as it turned out on your version.
11/12/10 10:03 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for this very helpful review. I have had this pattern for some time now and even have fabric to make the "zig-zag" view, but the view you made is my favorite. In all the times I have looked at this, I have never noticed the longer side pieces! thanks for pointing that out. Even though your fabric is somewhat "stiff" I'm still not sure why it is standing up at the neck. I will definitely have to look at that when I pull out the pattern pieces. Who knew Liberty had knits? Nice job on this top, Freya.
11/12/10 9:53 AM
BHarmony said...
Excellent work, as usual, Freya. Your fabric choice is so right for this design. It really perks it up!
11/12/10 9:39 AM
Christas said...
Ooooh, pretty! What a great fabric find. Your top definitely looks worth all the effort you have put into sewing it! It looks like you make the perfect size choice also. Thanks for such a thorough review!
11/12/10 8:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2312

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Butterick 6967

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review