SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (MISSES' TOP)

30 more reviews
Viewed 526 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 6:54 AM
Last Updated:11/12/10 10:47 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Ooooh, pretty! What a great fabric find. Your top definitely looks worth all the effort you have put into sewing it! It looks like you make the perfect size choice also. Thanks for such a thorough review!
11/12/10 8:16 AM
BHarmony said...
Excellent work, as usual, Freya. Your fabric choice is so right for this design. It really perks it up!
11/12/10 9:39 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for this very helpful review. I have had this pattern for some time now and even have fabric to make the "zig-zag" view, but the view you made is my favorite. In all the times I have looked at this, I have never noticed the longer side pieces! thanks for pointing that out. Even though your fabric is somewhat "stiff" I'm still not sure why it is standing up at the neck. I will definitely have to look at that when I pull out the pattern pieces. Who knew Liberty had knits? Nice job on this top, Freya.
11/12/10 9:53 AM
21wale said...
Very pretty top! I do like the neckline as it turned out on your version.
11/12/10 10:03 AM
Barbara V said...
Very nice top. I have been interested in making this top and appreciate your review and information.
11/12/10 11:48 AM
jannw said...
I like your neckline. Very attractive on you. I'll have to try this version as I've done the zigzag. Thanx for the reminder.
11/12/10 3:19 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the closeup on the Liberty--it's a beautiful fabric. Had no idea Liberty was available as a knit. I have this pattern and will perhaps give it a try this winter. Nice top. That business of the sides extending below the back and front does seem rather odd, indeed. Hmm. I'll probably end up doing what you did and evening everything up.
11/12/10 7:57 PM
lamstu said...
So pretty in this fabric! It looks like a perfect top when you just want to wear a t-shirt, but you have to look polished. Very useful review of the pattern.
11/12/10 8:14 PM
MNBarb said...
I don't know what happened with the neckline but wouldn't worry about it since it looks really good on you. It's a fun T.
11/12/10 10:29 PM
Annette1 said...
Another great review, and your top has turned out beautifully. I especially like that neckline. :o)
11/12/10 11:46 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful print-I had no idea there were Liberty knits. This is a very pretty tee on you, and I appreciate the efforts you put into a thorough review. I have this pattern and NEVER noticed this view. Go figure...
11/13/10 1:12 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great print too. I have this pattern and was thinking of sewing it, so thank you for the very informative review.
11/13/10 3:50 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Your top looks perfect on you. The fit is great. And I love the collar and fabric print.
11/13/10 7:00 AM
cloudyhn said...
Fit you well... I love the fabric choice too.
11/13/10 11:07 AM
grey ann said...
Thank you for this very thorough review. I plan to make this top and your tips will save me some angst!
11/13/10 3:11 PM
JETrinity said...
I love your fabric because it looks like an Amoeba Proteus. And I am a great fan of Marcy Tilton and have looked at this pattern many a time. What a great job of explaining what you did. Thanks.
11/13/10 8:28 PM
marthamyers said...
I've been tempted to make this one for all the reasons you state. I've made one of the other views and liked it fine. Thanks for all the tips.
11/14/10 5:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your version is fresh, feminine, and fun! It seems from looking at the envelope that Marcy Tilton patterns are simple to sew, but in fact are tricky. Thanks for your very, very, very... helpful review that provides in-depth details of your experience with this pattern.
11/14/10 11:50 PM
travellersyarn said...
It's a great top - I also love the Liberty knits. I also love the way your reviews are written.
2/29/12 5:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5613

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
McCall's 5882

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now