Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 226 (Travel Trio Three) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 571 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 1:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
I really like your skirt. I've never seen an elastic waist done like yours though - very neat and no bulk. Guess I need to get that pattern, too (sigh) ;-)
11/12/10 3:12 PM
lamstu said...
I've been looking at this pattern even though I'm not a big fan of knit skirts. Yours looks really nice and thanks so much for explaining your lining method.
11/12/10 8:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, really turned out great. Nice work, love the fabric.
11/12/10 10:54 PM
Jo-Anne said...
Looks great! I like your slip lining method. How did you attach the elastic? Is it described in the directions? I tried this skirt on at CJ's Open House last year and loved it! I think it's about time I break down and make it. Thanks for the inspiration.
11/13/10 9:15 AM
Renren said...
This CJ pattern has a lot of options including this marvelous little skirt you have sewn, the two tops, and the ruana (a word I had not heard before). And what delicate teensy weensy elastic you have used. Hmm. I always use 1" or 1.25" elastic for my waistlines. How can you use such delicate little elastic and it still holds things in place? Beautiful! I think you have sold me on these new CJ patterns. (That ruana would keep me warm on my dog walks.) Hmm.
11/13/10 9:50 AM
SueV said...
How I applied the elastic: I measured my waist and subtracted about 3" (because the elastic will stretch when sewn and this is kinda heavy with the weight of both fabrics so I wanted it tighter). I sewed my elastic ends together (making a circle) and marked, with a pin, the elastic into equal fourths. I marked the waist also into fourths and lined up the markings. I put WS of elastic onto RS of waist and sewed with a zig zag (about med width and med/long length - if not sure, go wider and longer). Then, I flipped the elastic into the inside of the skirt waist and sewed the waist again using a longer and wider zig zag. I've seen this on several RTW. CJ's instructions are a bit different, but also very nice. The ones included with the pattern hide the elastic completely, but I didn't want 4 layers of bulk (because of the lining).
11/13/10 10:58 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks! I've got this pattern but haven't sewn it yet. Your skirt looks great!
11/13/10 12:27 PM
JETrinity said...
Nice job with the tricot. I agree with the bulk concern at the waist. Great job of sewing.
11/13/10 8:42 PM
JETrinity said...
Thanks for showing this pattern line. I have never looked at them but I will now.
11/13/10 8:42 PM
Rhoda K said...
I do my elastic waists the same way but I was referring to what looked like a very narrow piece of elastic - lingerie elastic? Should have been more specific ;-)
11/15/10 10:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 3774 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 4/6/10
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6365 Apron
photo
Review by sewinfranc... on 2/5/13
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6566 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6566 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8903 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8903 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us