SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 226 (Travel Trio Three)

8 more reviews
Viewed 594 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 453
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 420
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 1:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
I do my elastic waists the same way but I was referring to what looked like a very narrow piece of elastic - lingerie elastic? Should have been more specific ;-)
11/15/10 10:34 AM
JETrinity said...
Thanks for showing this pattern line. I have never looked at them but I will now.
11/13/10 8:42 PM
JETrinity said...
Nice job with the tricot. I agree with the bulk concern at the waist. Great job of sewing.
11/13/10 8:42 PM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks! I've got this pattern but haven't sewn it yet. Your skirt looks great!
11/13/10 12:27 PM
SueV said...
How I applied the elastic: I measured my waist and subtracted about 3" (because the elastic will stretch when sewn and this is kinda heavy with the weight of both fabrics so I wanted it tighter). I sewed my elastic ends together (making a circle) and marked, with a pin, the elastic into equal fourths. I marked the waist also into fourths and lined up the markings. I put WS of elastic onto RS of waist and sewed with a zig zag (about med width and med/long length - if not sure, go wider and longer). Then, I flipped the elastic into the inside of the skirt waist and sewed the waist again using a longer and wider zig zag. I've seen this on several RTW. CJ's instructions are a bit different, but also very nice. The ones included with the pattern hide the elastic completely, but I didn't want 4 layers of bulk (because of the lining).
11/13/10 10:58 AM
Renren said...
This CJ pattern has a lot of options including this marvelous little skirt you have sewn, the two tops, and the ruana (a word I had not heard before). And what delicate teensy weensy elastic you have used. Hmm. I always use 1" or 1.25" elastic for my waistlines. How can you use such delicate little elastic and it still holds things in place? Beautiful! I think you have sold me on these new CJ patterns. (That ruana would keep me warm on my dog walks.) Hmm.
11/13/10 9:50 AM
Jo-Anne said...
Looks great! I like your slip lining method. How did you attach the elastic? Is it described in the directions? I tried this skirt on at CJ's Open House last year and loved it! I think it's about time I break down and make it. Thanks for the inspiration.
11/13/10 9:15 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow, really turned out great. Nice work, love the fabric.
11/12/10 10:54 PM
lamstu said...
I've been looking at this pattern even though I'm not a big fan of knit skirts. Yours looks really nice and thanks so much for explaining your lining method.
11/12/10 8:17 PM
Rhoda K said...
I really like your skirt. I've never seen an elastic waist done like yours though - very neat and no bulk. Guess I need to get that pattern, too (sigh) ;-)
11/12/10 3:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Storm Mountain Designs 14

photo
by: Seamingly ...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 80575-1002

photo
by: colormefun

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now