Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6716 OOP - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 214 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/10 8:38 PM
Last Updated:11/21/10 0:56 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Very nice! The first thing I noticed was that neckline. It's flattering, and not fussy at all. I always think of MR. HUMPHREYS when I hear, "Don't worry, the sleeves will ride up with wear." :o))
11/20/10 9:01 PM
Christas said...
Looks to me like you really should make MORE of these pretty blouses! All of your changes have made a very pretty timeless classic. Hope the fabric grows on you, as I think it makes the blouse so feminine and nice!
11/20/10 9:16 PM
lyndle said...
I like the neckline too. Well found pattern!
11/20/10 9:25 PM
Renren said...
Hmm, I used to have a top kind of like that and wore it threadbare--I loved it so much. Oh, no, these ladies are not unnaturally tall--they are freakishly tall and slender. Head to body ratio is usually 1:7 or 1:8 and these ladies are like 1:11 which would make them over 9 feet tall. And they probably weigh in at an anorexic 90 pounds. Let us not even compare ourselves to such unfortunate creatures. (Is this talk of the desert going to involve more camel riding, or perhaps it's a walkabout?) Oh, yes, and a big congratz on that 2nd star!!!
11/20/10 10:00 PM
mm said...
It looks great for travelling: light to pack, good for sun protection and stylish.
11/20/10 10:53 PM
Mufffet said...
I like that style. Very light looking. Nice.
11/20/10 11:08 PM
jannw said...
very nice and attractive. I do like your fabric choice
11/21/10 1:34 AM
Margaret said...
I love the neckline... very nice pattern and great fabric choice as well. Thanks for the "ride up with wear" comment -- makes me think of Mr. Humphreys too!
11/21/10 4:42 AM
Jane S said...
I usually cringe at the 70s patterns that I previously owned but this one is a winner!! That neckline is feminine without being so ruffly and silly. The fabric is perfect for this style. Great find and great tunic. So many possibilities now that you've made it work for you.
11/21/10 8:48 AM
MNBarb said...
You really get the star for your lovely blouses. This neckline is very good on you and not too risque, it's flattering. I enjoy seeing your LOL fabrics, they're so beautiful. You are lucky this top isn't HUGE. I remember that era and when they said "loose fitting" they usually meant tent-like. Your top looks so much better than any of the pattern envelope versions.
11/21/10 8:54 AM
KSC said...
Very nice! I made the same top back in the 70's and it was always a favorite. I love your choice of lawn for the fabric.
11/21/10 9:56 AM
RadarRadiance said...
You nailed the fit, looks great! Great basic pattern and perfect fit.
11/21/10 10:16 AM
mastdenman said...
I always liked the poofy sleeves from the '70's. This is a really nice blouse.
11/21/10 10:51 AM
AnitaJJ said...
This is so pretty, especially the neckline, very flattering.
11/21/10 3:31 PM
marec said...
This blouse is just lovely on you-I like the neckline, the sleeves, the narrow cuffs and the print. It's all so very nice. I picked up a whole batch of 70s blouse patterns...this spring we will be trading reviews!
11/22/10 1:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-37 Frilly Blouse
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/2/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5804
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/4/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us