Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8522 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 352 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/10 4:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitz said...
How disappointing, because the fabric is lovely. Sometimes it's all about the proportions.
11/15/10 5:01 PM
crazygrad said...
You can disagree, but I think it looks fine. Just not with that Cynthia Rowley dress. I think if you wore it with a sleek black (or brown, or whatever) ensemble with no gathers, it would balance the volume in the jacket. Even that shape in a sleek, gatherless shape would be good.I remember that review- that color is fab on you. I think you think you have a great jacket that looks great on you, but the jacket requires sleek, streamlined and minimal to work on your body type. I think you should wear it happily with a basic black straight skirt and slim black grew neck. HAWT! (especially with your blond hair!)
11/15/10 8:13 PM
Terri A said...
Ohhhh I was so EYEING this fabric - I wondered how it would make up. I love it.
11/15/10 11:53 PM
annie11 said...
Crazygrad, you might be right! I will see if I can find something like you describe to try it on with and give it another shot.
11/16/10 8:48 AM
MNBarb said...
I agree that you could try pairing this with something more fitted in the torso area (maybe all one color underneath) and it will look great.
11/16/10 1:11 PM
lesliez said...
I agree with crazygrad. It's a lovely piece and there's no reason you can't wear it with the right outfit. This jacket will work better with something sleek, either one piece or a fitted top and bottom in the same color, no belt. Don't give up on it yet.
11/16/10 1:18 PM
crazygrad said...
Finally! Confirmation for my students that I am always right.
11/16/10 3:45 PM
ktr2567 said...
Wow, it's a good thing you told me you don't have the perfect hourglass shape or I might of thought that was a beautiful jacket on a gorgeous women.
10/17/12 10:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4568
photo
Review by Lori V on 3/2/06
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354
photo
Review by Gelbean on 6/3/10
Read Review

McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )
McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us