Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1194 (DKNY twisted front band dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 554 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:MarianS
photo
Friend of PR
About MarianSstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/7/09
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/10 11:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! The color is fabulous on you.
11/16/10 9:33 AM
Barbara R said...
Cute dress, great color. And pockets! I love dresses with pockets. Thanks for an excellent review.
11/16/10 10:39 AM
RLL said...
When you get compliments from the hubby, you know its a winner. The color is fabulous.
11/16/10 10:49 AM
cloudyhn said...
Love the color, also the style. it's cute...
11/16/10 12:10 PM
AuntieShel said...
Marian, your dress is beautiful, I am so happy to see your review!! The color you chose is very similar to the one I made but did not review. Re: the "ridge" that the twin needle makes on a hem, a helpful reviewer on this site (whose name I cannot recall, forgive me) helped me out a few years ago with a tip for this. Line up the edge of the hem allowance with the edge of a 1/2 to 3/4 inch strip of lightweight fusible web and stitch them together about a quarter inch from the edge with a straight stitch or use a serger. Then turn up your hem allowance and fuse it. You will now get a nice stitch with no wobbling or ridge with either a single or twin needle. The fusible web adds just enough weight to prevent this. Hope this helps those without a cover stitch.
11/16/10 7:35 PM
MarianS said...
AuntieShel, thanks for the great tip on eliminating the "ridge" . I will definitetly use it. That's what I love about PR members. Such great collaboration! You learn something new all the time.
11/16/10 9:40 PM
Christas said...
Terrific dress in such a pretty color ...... looks so nice on you!
11/16/10 10:33 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great dress and colour on you! This seems to be the hit dress from Vogues latest patterns and seems to look good on everyone, I think I will have to get it too!
11/17/10 4:18 AM
SisterBelle said...
I just bought Vogue 1194 yesteday. Your lovely dress inspires me to get started!
11/20/10 9:54 AM
Robin Denning said...
very pretty dress on you- great color & drape. nice!
12/4/10 9:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us